We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place From One Who Generally Does Not Care For B & B's”
Review of The Cranford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cranford Inn
Ranked #5 of 44 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We recently spent three nights at the Cranford Inn. We found it very welcoming and enjoyable. While my wife generally does like B & B's (primarily the specified time for community breakfasts) Martha & Vickie were welcoming hosts and breakfast which consisted of unique homemade breakfast items (not baked goods) was served at a series of individual table for those who desired a little privacy early in the morning. Now my wife did talk to everyone in the room anyway ...but that is a different story. The ladies provided towels and beach chairs if you wanted to go to the beach and a park pass if you were touring the national parks as we were. A small but thoughtful accommodation.

The location is within walking distance of everything you care to see in Charlottetown and while the ladies are happy to provide restaurant choices they did steer clear of strong recommendations for any particular place acknowledging everyone's taste is different and even the best restaurant can have an off night. Probably a good thing for all of us to remember.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor facing the year have access to a balcony which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkTChcago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were delighted to find this fantastic establishment when booking our stay on PEI. It did not disappoint! The room (we had the Topaz room) was comfortable and very well appointed. The facilities - including the ability to make tea and coffee at all hours accompanied by homemade cookies - were excellent, beach towels and chairs if you need them, sitting room, a beautiful garden with chairs to enjoy the sunshine.
Breakfast was enormous and very Canadian. It was also good to share our adventures at breakfast with other guests

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back. Noise from the road can be disturbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizatdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

If you're looking for a wonderful pampered stay while traveling through the Maritimes this is the place. Vicki and Martha are the MOST fabulous of hosts. They have the gift of letting you know they're right there if and when you need them, balanced with feeling absolutely private and able to rest and relax - and as travelers we value both very much. Everything positive written here by other TripAdvisor reviewers is so very, very true. While we did enjoy Charlottetown that included the boardwalk along the waterfront, great artisan studios, and the restaurant we had dinner at with a beautiful jazz singer on stage in front of the patio - what we enjoyed most was sitting on the private verandah outside our room - last thing at night and first thing in the morning. From the moment Vicki and Martha opened the door to us to the moment we said good-bye the experience of staying in this beautiful, bright and immaculate Inn was 5 Stars in a 5 Star Inn World.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgwToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Cranford Inn was everything we had hoped for and more! We loved the location and walked to the many wonderful restaurants just a short walk from the Cranford Inn. Our room was clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was lovely and spacious. We stayed in the Sapphire Room and so enjoyed our private porch. Breakfast everyday was filling and plentiful. We didn't have to eat lunch for a long time after breakfast. Martha and Vicki offered great suggestions and the lobby includes brochures about the many and varied entertainments available on PEI. We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and I had researched many bed and breakfasts so knew of the many choices there were and I was so glad we stayed at the Cranford Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were very pleased when we arrived at this very upscale B&B. The rooms are large, most have outside seating, and the grounds are filled with perennials. The location is great as you can walk downtown or to the docks which are close by. The inn keepers Vicki and Martha are full of local information and are wonderful to work with. They made excellant recommendations on were to go, were to eat, and best roads to travel. Early morning breakfast was a treat, and I really like the all night self service coffee/ tea station.

The B&B is the older victorian style but the inside has been completely updated with additions, large rooms, and plenty of off street parking if needed. Beds are firm and all decked out with pillows and comforters.

Our small group of four voted the Cranford Inn the BB of the Trip. We stayed at 6 locations this trip so that says something. A golf trip and stay at the Cranford is in the works for 2014.

I Highly recommend staying at this property! 10 out of 10 if you need a number.

Room Tip: First floor if you do not like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnapoli321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We could not have picked a better place to start our vacation. Vicki and Martha's recommendations of things to do and places to see were top notch! We stayed in the sapphire room with a front porch. The ambience and beautiful room was warm and inviting. It's a short walk to area restaurants and entertainment. The breakfast was fantastic! When we come back to visit charlottetown this is the only place we will stay, it's just perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridget K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I am so glad we chose this particular B&B. It could not have been more spacious and comfortable. We stayed in the Emerald Room which has a gas fireplace in the rooms sitting area and a balcony overlooking the beautiful garden. I loved the fact that this B&B is more contemporary in it's design and decoration. Our innkeepers could not have been more accommodating, from providing us with ice and glasses for our cocktails to recommending excellent restaurants and suggesting the best way to tour the island. In addition, our breakfasts were beautiful and delicious. It's one of the few B&B's where I looked forward to spending a couple of hours each day just relaxing by the fire or in the garden. The Cranford Inn is also walking distance to the waterfront and excellent restaurants.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on the back of the house that overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chatcher29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
765 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elmwood Heritage Inn
Elmwood Heritage Inn
#1 of 44 in Charlottetown
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shipwright Inn
Shipwright Inn
#3 of 44 in Charlottetown
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colonial Charm Inn
Colonial Charm Inn
#2 of 44 in Charlottetown
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Charlotte's Rose Inn
Charlotte's Rose Inn
#4 of 44 in Charlottetown
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cranford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cranford Inn

Address: 177 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1S3, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range: £64 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2013and 2014 TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Award. Inducted into the Trip Advisor Hall of Fame, for those who have had 5 years of the Certificate of Excellence in a row. Guests have reviewed us as the Number 9 Bed and Breakfast in Canada. "Contemporary elegance-perfect for business or pleasure." The Cranford Inn is an elegant accommodation, owner operated, located centrally in historic Charlottetown. The property is designed to provide the comfort of a first class hotel while maintaining the charm and personal touches you look for in a great Bed and Breakfast. The Cranford Inn is an excellent choice whether you are here for business or pleasure. Location is key and the Cranford Inn is walking distance to great restaurants, theatre, historic and cultural experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cranford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cranford Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing