We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of The Cranford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cranford Inn
Ranked #4 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
St. John's, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Simply the best B&B I've ever stayed in. Martha and Vicki are extremely pleasant and courteous from the time you step in their beautifully kept house to the time you check-out already making plans for your next visit. The rooms are nicely decorated with an attention to details, the inn is extremely clean and provides you with a cozy and relaxing atmosphere, just steps away from restaurants, bars and the Charlottetown harbor. The breakfast is mouth-watering. We could smell the fresh bread from the time we walked in. There is also a lovely piano room and a well-maintained garden. Next time we are back in PEI we will definitely be staying at The Cranford Inn again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a shared balcony, so look at all the descriptions. In our case, we booked 2 rooms, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexCaldana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
224
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lowbanks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Cranford Inn was recommended by a relative who read in a newspaper article that their children's former teacher wan running an B&B. We called last minute and were pleasantly surprised they had 1 room left just for us! Martha and Vicki were superb hosts, with a welcoming, friendly atmosphere. You can tell they have poured their love and energy into this place of beauty. All the rooms were welcoming from the front entrance, dining room and "piano room". I have never had a better night sleep anywhere! Oh so melt-in comfortable bed in the Topaz room! The lawns are so well groomed like walking a park! We had no ordinary breakfast, but 3 courses of delectable goodness, one after another! All this is so close to all things to do in Charlottetown! Thank you Vicki and Martha.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I have stayed at B&Bs before and we had always enjoyed the experiences, but after staying at The Cranford Inn, the bar has certainly been raised.

Vicki and Martha are excellent innkeepers- both friendly and funny. They made us feel like The Cranford Inn was our home as soon as we stepped inside. They jumped to recommend and make reservations for a great lobster dinner at a nearby restaurant. We were thankful for this because the meal was unforgettable!

We had the pleasure to stay in The Opal Room- it was tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. The entire B&B is clean, bright, and cheery. The garden in the back was beautiful, cozy, and peaceful- we enjoyed an afternoon tea with homemade cookies there amongst the flowers and sunshine.

The location of The Cranford Inn is ideal for tourists as it is close to downtown. There was no need to use our car. We were in walking distance to all the shops, restaurants, and city activities.

Breakfast was a traditional Maritime meal with beans, fish cakes, and biscuits. Yum! We also enjoyed fruit cocktail and freshly baked rhubarb muffins. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and cold drinks are available in the lobby for your enjoyment at any time of day- such a great idea!

We were sad to have had such a short stay at The Cranford Inn- one night only. We are hoping to plan another trip to PEI in the near future and would love to visit Vicki and Martha again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chcago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We recently spent three nights at the Cranford Inn. We found it very welcoming and enjoyable. While my wife generally does like B & B's (primarily the specified time for community breakfasts) Martha & Vickie were welcoming hosts and breakfast which consisted of unique homemade breakfast items (not baked goods) was served at a series of individual table for those who desired a little privacy early in the morning. Now my wife did talk to everyone in the room anyway ...but that is a different story. The ladies provided towels and beach chairs if you wanted to go to the beach and a park pass if you were touring the national parks as we were. A small but thoughtful accommodation.

The location is within walking distance of everything you care to see in Charlottetown and while the ladies are happy to provide restaurant choices they did steer clear of strong recommendations for any particular place acknowledging everyone's taste is different and even the best restaurant can have an off night. Probably a good thing for all of us to remember.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor facing the year have access to a balcony which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkTChcago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were delighted to find this fantastic establishment when booking our stay on PEI. It did not disappoint! The room (we had the Topaz room) was comfortable and very well appointed. The facilities - including the ability to make tea and coffee at all hours accompanied by homemade cookies - were excellent, beach towels and chairs if you need them, sitting room, a beautiful garden with chairs to enjoy the sunshine.
Breakfast was enormous and very Canadian. It was also good to share our adventures at breakfast with other guests

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back. Noise from the road can be disturbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizatdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

If you're looking for a wonderful pampered stay while traveling through the Maritimes this is the place. Vicki and Martha are the MOST fabulous of hosts. They have the gift of letting you know they're right there if and when you need them, balanced with feeling absolutely private and able to rest and relax - and as travelers we value both very much. Everything positive written here by other TripAdvisor reviewers is so very, very true. While we did enjoy Charlottetown that included the boardwalk along the waterfront, great artisan studios, and the restaurant we had dinner at with a beautiful jazz singer on stage in front of the patio - what we enjoyed most was sitting on the private verandah outside our room - last thing at night and first thing in the morning. From the moment Vicki and Martha opened the door to us to the moment we said good-bye the experience of staying in this beautiful, bright and immaculate Inn was 5 Stars in a 5 Star Inn World.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgwToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Cranford Inn was everything we had hoped for and more! We loved the location and walked to the many wonderful restaurants just a short walk from the Cranford Inn. Our room was clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was lovely and spacious. We stayed in the Sapphire Room and so enjoyed our private porch. Breakfast everyday was filling and plentiful. We didn't have to eat lunch for a long time after breakfast. Martha and Vicki offered great suggestions and the lobby includes brochures about the many and varied entertainments available on PEI. We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and I had researched many bed and breakfasts so knew of the many choices there were and I was so glad we stayed at the Cranford Inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cranford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cranford Inn

Property: The Cranford Inn
Address: 177 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2013and 2014 TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Award. Inducted into the Trip Advisor Hall of Fame, for those who have had 5 years of the Certificate of Excellence in a row. Guests have reviewed us as the Number 9 Bed and Breakfast in Canada. "Contemporary elegance-perfect for business or pleasure." The Cranford Inn is an elegant accommodation, owner operated, located centrally in historic Charlottetown. The property is designed to provide the comfort of a first class hotel while maintaining the charm and personal touches you look for in a great Bed and Breakfast. The Cranford Inn is an excellent choice whether you are here for business or pleasure. Location is key and the Cranford Inn is walking distance to great restaurants, theatre, historic and cultural experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cranford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cranford Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing