We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cranford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cranford Inn
Ranked #3 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Can't really say anything more that hasn't already been said. The Cranford Inn is the number one B&B on Prince Edward Island for a number of reasons.The inn and rooms are immaculate. The breakfasts are out of this world. The location is convenient to everything. Innkeepers Martha and Vicki have set the bar high and I doubt that you will find another inn with the warm and friendly atmosphere that they have carefully created. My wife and I felt welcome and at home from the moment we walked through the door. If you want your stay on PEI to be extra special you will not find a finer B&B than the Cranford Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Emerald Room which has a walk out balcony overlooking Martha's lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
220
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Cranford Inn is great B&B. Rooms are comfortable; decor tasteful and coherent. Beds are very comfortable too. Breakfasts are wonderful, tasty and varied (we stayed 3 nights). Hosts Vicki and Martha are knowledgeable and helpful for tips on "stuff" to do on the Island and tips on where to eat in town. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We've stayed in both Emerald and Amethyst and both are great and share a common deck overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacarr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The Cranford Inn is hands down the best B&B experience that I have had in my many years of travelling. From the moment we walked in the doors, Vickie and Martha went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable and that we enjoyed our stay in Charlottetown. Our room was immaculate, tastefully decorated, comfortable, and clean. Vickie and Martha have provided nice amenities (beautiful sitting area, beautiful gardens, access to coffee/tea 24 hrs, toiletries in the room, and a wealth of information about what to do in Charlottetown). The location of the B&B is ideal - located on a street filled with historical houses, it's just a few minutes walk to many of the sights and restaurants/shopping in Charlottetown. Breakfast was absolutely scrumptious as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

From the moment we arrived at Cranford Inn I felt at home, and welcome. Martha and Vicky were happy to help us discover the city by giving lots of tips and ideas. We tried out two rooms. The sheets were ironed, the room had everything we needed, the balcony (shared by two rooms) was a lovely place to enjoy the outdoors when in between adventures. There were even little colour coded flashlights for when the power failed briefly! The breakfasts were varied and yummy, and the dining room was an invitation to get to know some other guests. It was a great stay and I left certain that I'd be back (and next time to stay longer).

Room Tip: We tried out two: the Emerald and the Amethyst. Loved the garden view and the sunshine. The beds wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Ontario
Level Contributor
118 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed one night in the Amethyst room.. The house was beautiful and clean. The room was perfect except watching tv the one bed post blocks ones view so cuddling was needed for both to see the tv. Fresh cookies on arrival and help yourself to tea and coffee. We enjoyed tea and cookies on our shared balcony which was facing gardens and had to ourselves. Slept well until about 7 am when other guests were very loud talking all the way downstairs how rude knowing others may want to sleep last 7. Lots of info available to visit Charlottetown and felt comfortable asking any questions. Parking was great right in the driveway. We were disappointed in breakfast main course. The fresh banana muffins and fruit cup and juice was great but after all that sweet stuff and not liking waffles slathered with preserves and syrup that they said was maple syrup too sweet and do not like waffles feel this is more a kids dream breakfast. Would have preferred a quiche or omelette or egg entree. We were not there long enough to get the overall experience as we felt we were never left alone while coming and going felt a little like having to be on our best behaviour and tip toe about a bit. So beautiful place just did not like the Breakfast entree and the rude neighbour in the am. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in back room facing garden and was quiet and was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CranfordInn, Owner at The Cranford Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to review our Inn. We appreciate the effort and thought this takes and find reviews very informative and helpful in our desire to provide excellence in service and accommodation.
We also appreciated hearing about the visual issue with the post and the TV. We had not tested this so will make some adjustments.

I do apologize though for the guest who woke you at 7am. We did have a loud and excitable guest on board that night and we are so sorry it disturbed you. Usually we hear from our guests regarding how quiet they find the Inn with 17 people in the house.

I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy our home-made Belgian waffles with fresh crushed strawberries and whip cream, served with bacon. However we were happy to hear that the fresh juice, fruit salad and homemade banana muffin was enjoyed. It has been a menu favorite of our guests. We wish you had stayed longer, as we serve a rotating seven entree menu and we do serve quiche, French toast, apple strata among other items. The next time you visit please ask and we will make sure your likes are accommodated.

We are glad you noted that you felt a little over welcomed. It is very challenging in a Bed and Breakfast to find that ideal mix of helpfulness and respect for privacy. There are many travelers to Bed and Breakfasts that expect a great deal of concierge service from planning their daily itinerary to having reservations set up for dinner, golf and theatre. We will try better to read our guests and try to respect their need for privacy.

Thanks again for your helpful and thoughtful review. Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We recently spent four nights at the Cranford Inn. Our stay was wonderful: great breakfasts, comfortable room, great location. Martha and Vicki were very helpful. We followed their top ten list of thing to do in PEI and we very happy. We look forward to staying with them again.

Steve and Lindsey McKee

Room Tip: Loved the Sapphire room
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Simply the best B&B I've ever stayed in. Martha and Vicki are extremely pleasant and courteous from the time you step in their beautifully kept house to the time you check-out already making plans for your next visit. The rooms are nicely decorated with an attention to details, the inn is extremely clean and provides you with a cozy and relaxing atmosphere, just steps away from restaurants, bars and the Charlottetown harbor. The breakfast is mouth-watering. We could smell the fresh bread from the time we walked in. There is also a lovely piano room and a well-maintained garden. Next time we are back in PEI we will definitely be staying at The Cranford Inn again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a shared balcony, so look at all the descriptions. In our case, we booked 2 rooms, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexCaldana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cranford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cranford Inn

Property: The Cranford Inn
Address: 177 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2013and 2014 TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Award. Inducted into the Trip Advisor Hall of Fame, for those who have had 5 years of the Certificate of Excellence in a row. Guests have reviewed us as the Number 9 Bed and Breakfast in Canada. "Contemporary elegance-perfect for business or pleasure." The Cranford Inn is an elegant accommodation, owner operated, located centrally in historic Charlottetown. The property is designed to provide the comfort of a first class hotel while maintaining the charm and personal touches you look for in a great Bed and Breakfast. The Cranford Inn is an excellent choice whether you are here for business or pleasure. Location is key and the Cranford Inn is walking distance to great restaurants, theatre, historic and cultural experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cranford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cranford Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing