We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Charlottetown!”
Review of The Cranford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cranford Inn
Ranked #4 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were so fortunate to have stayed at the Cranford Inn in Charlottetown! Our room was in the front off the entry, and not only was it cozy, and spacious, but we had a full porch too. The breakfast was wonderful in their gorgeous dining room. Just a wonderful place. We will definitely stay here again when we're back in PEI!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JSmooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

My friend and I chose to stay at the Cranford Inn based upon the rave reviews we saw in Tripadvisor, and we now add our own enthusiastic review to those already made. The inn is furnished with elegant but comfortable and modern furniture, each room having a distinctive decor in sync with the jewel chosen for its name. I stayed in the Emerald Room, furnished in shades of green. The room is spacious and well appointed, with a comfortable sitting area and very comfy bed. My friend was in the Onyx Room, elegant in black and white and equally comfortable. We appreciated the inviting living room downstairs complete with baby grand piano, the availability of tea and coffee. The two innkeepers are paragons of discreet helpfulness. They somehow know when to appear to offer a suggestion (i.e. if you are going out for dinner, you might want to make a reservation now), and were friendly without being intrusive. Breakfast was generous and tasty. The location was excellent; after a day of driving, it was lovely to walk downtown for dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatDeMeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I spent three lovely nights at the Inn...which is fabulous.but even more wonderful was the hospitality. When we travel we most enjoy eating where the locals eat..and seeing the authentic. Every recommendation that we were given by these two lovely ladies was spot on..every meal we ate at one of their recommended restaurant was fabulous. If we are ever back on PEI, we won't eve look at other accommodations.
Ken and Jan

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

October, 2013, my husband and our friends stayed two nights at this beautiful Inn. Located walking distance to town, and hosted by 2 lovely women, who not only are fantastic cooks, but have decorated this Inn immaculately.... Each room done in the jewel tone colors...roomy and with any amenity desired. Was one of the Highlights of our Canadian driving adventure......
Thanks, Vicki and Martha!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serendipity67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay at the Cranford Inn. We couldn't have been more pleased with our time there. Martha and Vicki welcomed us so warmly and made us very comfortable. They gave us many good ideas from drives to take to restaurants to eat at; complete with a call to reserve a table for us. Both evening restaurants we ate at were within walking distance. This was a welcome treat after a day of being in the car. We stayed in the Onyx room and loved its black and white contemporary style. The bed was the most comfortable and I had the best sleep since leaving home. Our breakfast was delicious and elegantly presented. Our stay could only have been more perfect if we could have stayed longer. Thank you Martha and Vicki!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I just returned from spending Thanksgiving Weekend on Prince Edward Island and must extol the virtues of the Cranford Inn. I chose the Onyx Room, which Innkeeper Vicki said was a "basic" room. If that was basic, I can't imagine the rest of the rooms since it was lovely - or - "contemporary elegance" as stated on the Cranford Inn's Website. Aside from the room having its own personal full bathroom, there was a comfortable queen bed, flat screen TV and a little deck off of the room overlooking the tree lined street.

No wonder this bed and breakfast won a Trip Advisor award in 2013! Our hosts, Vicki and Martha, were most accommodating, even leaving a lovely breakfast to go for my trip back early on the road Thanksgiving Monday. Speaking of food, the breakfasts were homemade and scrumptious, as well as custom made. I have a few allergies and Vicki was quick to read up on this and adjust my personal menu accordingly. Coffee, tea, etc were available 24/7, as well as delicious home-made cookies.

The dining room, living room and gardens are exquisite and very tastefully decorated. Surprisingly for a bed and breakfast, my room was also quite soundproof because even though the inn was full all weekend, you would never have known it.

The Cranford Inn is also well placed, very close to downtown for walking all of the sites as well as the beautiful waterfront. It also is close to main thoroughfares so on all counts, is in a wonderful area.

It was excellent value for in the off season, my room, including the wonderful breakfast, was all of $109 plus taxes. Why would I consider going anywhere else?

I will be back - hats off to you Vicki and Martha for creating such a wonderful B and B experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubafriendMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a wonderful two-night stay at the Cranford Inn. We were at the end of a two-week vacation, and a friend joined us in Charlottetown to celebrate her and my husband's birthdays on Oct. 10 and 11. Vicki and Martha are warm and gracious hosts, answered our many questions on things to do and places to see, and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We brought a bottle of champagne which they chilled for us and even provided stemmed flutes, so we could enjoy it in style in their lovely garden. Breakfast on both days was generous and delicious. At the first morning's breakfast, to our delight, they surprised the birthday duo with birthday candles in the (very fluffy) blueberry pancakes accompanied by a rendition of "Happy Birthday" on the piano. The rooms were lovely and the beds were very comfortable (including the pillows!). We would definitely stay again and would recommend this to anyone visiting Charlottetown.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Topaz Room, which had a balcony overlooking the street. It is a corner room with o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJ-JS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cranford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cranford Inn

Address: 177 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range: £66 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2013and 2014 TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Award. Inducted into the Trip Advisor Hall of Fame, for those who have had 5 years of the Certificate of Excellence in a row. Guests have reviewed us as the Number 9 Bed and Breakfast in Canada. "Contemporary elegance-perfect for business or pleasure." The Cranford Inn is an elegant accommodation, owner operated, located centrally in historic Charlottetown. The property is designed to provide the comfort of a first class hotel while maintaining the charm and personal touches you look for in a great Bed and Breakfast. The Cranford Inn is an excellent choice whether you are here for business or pleasure. Location is key and the Cranford Inn is walking distance to great restaurants, theatre, historic and cultural experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cranford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cranford Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing