We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Stay!”
Review of The Cranford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cranford Inn
Ranked #4 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Delightful Stay!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We chose the Cranford Inn for a quiet getaway to celebrate our anniversary based on a very favourable write-up in a well know travel magazine. It was an excellent choice. Our room, The Sandstone, was clean, well equiped and spacious. The decor was very classy with quality furnishings and fixtures.The electric fireplace on a stormy evening added to both the comfort level and the ambiance. Martha was kind enough to make us a dinner reservation at very nice restaurant within walking distance. Martha and Vicky were warm, friendly and gracious and served a healthy and delicious breakfast in the lovely diningroom. Too bad we didn't hear Vicky play the wonderful baby grand in their beautifully furnished sitting room. Maybe next time, as we would definitely stay here again and would be happy to recommend it to to those looking for more than just a hotel room.
H&M, Halifax, NS

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGreenie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
224
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Excellent location - ten minute drive from the airport in our hire car. Excellent travel base to drive West, North or East around each third of the island, each day of exploring.

Vicki and Martha were friendly and welcoming, and non-intrusive. They were both very relaxed and offered helpful advice, as well as having a ready stock of pamphlets and recommendations.

Our room was carefully appointed and warm. It was difficult to decide whether to go out, or just stay in at night.

We stayed two days, and breakfast was different each day. They offered two times to eat, so I suggested both, which was met with laughter. During the day and evening tea/coffee/hot chocolate was available as well as delicious home-baked biscuits.

They had a piano in the lounge, which my partner practised on.

If we go back to visit we'll be staying there again. Wish we had been able to stay a few more days.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures and descriptions and decide what suits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g13nl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were so fortunate to have stayed at the Cranford Inn in Charlottetown! Our room was in the front off the entry, and not only was it cozy, and spacious, but we had a full porch too. The breakfast was wonderful in their gorgeous dining room. Just a wonderful place. We will definitely stay here again when we're back in PEI!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JSmooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubley, Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My friend and I chose to stay at the Cranford Inn based upon the rave reviews we saw in Tripadvisor, and we now add our own enthusiastic review to those already made. The inn is furnished with elegant but comfortable and modern furniture, each room having a distinctive decor in sync with the jewel chosen for its name. I stayed in the Emerald Room, furnished in shades of green. The room is spacious and well appointed, with a comfortable sitting area and very comfy bed. My friend was in the Onyx Room, elegant in black and white and equally comfortable. We appreciated the inviting living room downstairs complete with baby grand piano, the availability of tea and coffee. The two innkeepers are paragons of discreet helpfulness. They somehow know when to appear to offer a suggestion (i.e. if you are going out for dinner, you might want to make a reservation now), and were friendly without being intrusive. Breakfast was generous and tasty. The location was excellent; after a day of driving, it was lovely to walk downtown for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatDeMeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I spent three lovely nights at the Inn...which is fabulous.but even more wonderful was the hospitality. When we travel we most enjoy eating where the locals eat..and seeing the authentic. Every recommendation that we were given by these two lovely ladies was spot on..every meal we ate at one of their recommended restaurant was fabulous. If we are ever back on PEI, we won't eve look at other accommodations.
Ken and Jan

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, N.C.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

October, 2013, my husband and our friends stayed two nights at this beautiful Inn. Located walking distance to town, and hosted by 2 lovely women, who not only are fantastic cooks, but have decorated this Inn immaculately.... Each room done in the jewel tone colors...roomy and with any amenity desired. Was one of the Highlights of our Canadian driving adventure......
Thanks, Vicki and Martha!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serendipity67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay at the Cranford Inn. We couldn't have been more pleased with our time there. Martha and Vicki welcomed us so warmly and made us very comfortable. They gave us many good ideas from drives to take to restaurants to eat at; complete with a call to reserve a table for us. Both evening restaurants we ate at were within walking distance. This was a welcome treat after a day of being in the car. We stayed in the Onyx room and loved its black and white contemporary style. The bed was the most comfortable and I had the best sleep since leaving home. Our breakfast was delicious and elegantly presented. Our stay could only have been more perfect if we could have stayed longer. Thank you Martha and Vicki!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cranford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cranford Inn

Property: The Cranford Inn
Address: 177 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2013and 2014 TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Award. Inducted into the Trip Advisor Hall of Fame, for those who have had 5 years of the Certificate of Excellence in a row. Guests have reviewed us as the Number 9 Bed and Breakfast in Canada. "Contemporary elegance-perfect for business or pleasure." The Cranford Inn is an elegant accommodation, owner operated, located centrally in historic Charlottetown. The property is designed to provide the comfort of a first class hotel while maintaining the charm and personal touches you look for in a great Bed and Breakfast. The Cranford Inn is an excellent choice whether you are here for business or pleasure. Location is key and the Cranford Inn is walking distance to great restaurants, theatre, historic and cultural experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cranford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cranford Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing