We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch bread and breakfast”
Review of The Cranford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cranford Inn
Ranked #5 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Everything that you would want in a bread & breakfast: a charming old house, clean and nicely decorated rooms, two lovely innkeepers, a great location, and a fantastic breakfast.

The Inn: A nicely decorated house with a beautiful sitting room, a breakfast area with about four tables, and a beautiful garden in the back yard. There was adequate parking in the front of the inn for each guest.

The Rooms: While each room is different, ours was small, but quaint and large enough. It was nicely decorated and very clean. The bathroom was immaculate. We walked out of the bedroom to a small porch that overlooked the street. It was very pleasant in the evening shade to sit on and read. We had Wi-fi and an adequate size TV. The room was also air conditioned.

Innkeepers: Vicki and Martha were perfect hostesses - warm, personable, and helpful, but not intrusive. They had plenty of maps for touring every part of PEI; Vicki also compiled two lists of top things to do – one for Charlottetown and another for the Island. In addition to the attractions that we listed from Tripadvisor, it enabled us to enjoy some other sites that we would not have seen.

Location: Situated on the edge of downtown Charlottetown, the inn was in a perfect location to walk to everything in town, and to the waterfront. We did not have to even move our car.

Breakfast: Every morning, a wonderful treat. Orange or cranberry juice and coffee, fresh warm muffins, fresh fruit, fruit with yogurt or granola, followed by a main entree. A different type muffin along with a different main entree was served every day. Everything was delicious. In our five-day stay, we never had the same breakfast twice. There was definitely a lot to eat - I'm a big eater, but had a difficult time finishing everything. My wife and I always looked forward to see what the next day would bring.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeagleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Absolutely gorgeous property, and beautifully decorated. Beds were so comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. Wonderful treat to stay here, walking distance to everything. Vicki and Martha are the perfect hosts and very helpful. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Cranford Inn. It is ideally located to walk to everything in downtown Charlottetown, and there is a lovely garden and deck where you can relax after a day of sightseeing. Room was lovely as were the hostesses, they made us feel very welcome, the always available coffee and treats were also a nice touch.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden with the deck are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at this Guest House for 5 days in August. It was fantastic. Our room was big, bright, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast served by Vicki and Martha each morning was simply the best we've ever had. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting PEI.

Room Tip: Go for the Amethyst or Emerald Rooms; they overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We recently enjoyed a three night stay at this central Charottetown BandB.
We were warmly welcomed and felt that every effort was made to make guests feel at home. The public areas are lovely and the garden was in full bloom, making the view from our room very pleasant.
Breakfast was ample....so much so that it was difficult to finish. It was delicious! On the morning of our early departure a breakfast in a bag was awaiting us and we took it along after having a quick bit of cereal and coffee in the dining room while others were sleeping.
Our hosts were gracious and helpful throughout our stay and we would love to stay with them again..but in the meantime we would recommend this lovely spot to visitors to the Island as a great place to put their heads down for a night or two.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony facing the garden..we stayed in the Emerald Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EastCoastSailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We give a 4* rating because we were woken early by the sun as the room only had white blinds. We like to sleep in a dark room. Not complaining about the sun though! Otherwise everything including breakfast was perfect.

Room Tip: If possible a room with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wuxi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Cranford Inn provides a beautifully decorated, warm and inviting place to stay in Charlottetown. We easily walked to restaurants, coffee shops, the harbor, and performances ... the inn is ideally located. The hosts provided us with maps and suggestions for seeing much of this wonderful island. The breakfasts were varied and delicious, and we loved relaxing on the deck outside our room, overlooking the lovely garden. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dpierce5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 24 in Charlottetown
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shipwright Inn
Shipwright Inn
#3 of 43 in Charlottetown
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elmwood Heritage Inn
Elmwood Heritage Inn
#1 of 43 in Charlottetown
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Dawson House
The Dawson House
#6 of 43 in Charlottetown
137 reviews
0 mi away
Hillhurst Inn
Hillhurst Inn
#7 of 43 in Charlottetown
81 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cranford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cranford Inn

Address: 177 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1S3, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range: £62 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2013and 2014 TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Award. Inducted into the Trip Advisor Hall of Fame, for those who have had 5 years of the Certificate of Excellence in a row. Guests have reviewed us as the Number 9 Bed and Breakfast in Canada. "Contemporary elegance-perfect for business or pleasure." The Cranford Inn is an elegant accommodation, owner operated, located centrally in historic Charlottetown. The property is designed to provide the comfort of a first class hotel while maintaining the charm and personal touches you look for in a great Bed and Breakfast. The Cranford Inn is an excellent choice whether you are here for business or pleasure. Location is key and the Cranford Inn is walking distance to great restaurants, theatre, historic and cultural experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cranford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cranford Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing