We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”
Review of The Cranford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cranford Inn
Ranked #3 of 44 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Western US
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 12 October 2005

We have not stayed in many B&B's, so it is harder for us to rate it against others. However I do know that The Snapdragon was scrupulously clean, the bath was luxurious, and our room was a good size. I peeked in the smaller upstairs room, and I did not think I would have been comfortable in it. The setting is lovely and very convenient for walking to most of the rest of Charlottetown. The hosts were nice, but I wouldn't gush and say they "treated us like family". The breakfast was very good, with lovely presentation. Though the portions were fine for me, my husband left each breakfast hungry. I would have appreciated having the computer be more accessable, without having to ask for permission to use it first. One of the staff, Valerie, gave us great directions to many lovely and special places that only a local would know.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EmmaKnightlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
221
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2005

We stayed at the Snapdragon B & B on our way through Charlottetown PEI while on our one-week whirl-wind tour of the Atlantic Provinces. We were very impressed with this beautiful bed and breakfast. The house is gorgeous and the rooms are clean and very tastefully decorated. Ours had a balcony that looked out onto the street. The bathroom was spotless and very nice. The B & B is located in the heart of historic Charlottetown -- a short 10 min walk to pubs, fine dining, local seafood places, historic areas, and shopping. The breakfast was elegant, and delicious. The dining room looks out onto the pretty gardens of the property. The owners Steve and Laura, and their staff made our visit so pleasurable. We are recommending the Snapdragon to all my friends and family, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frannie_laa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 January 2005

We were extremely pleased with the hospitality offered by our hosts Laura and Steve as they made us part of their home during our recent visit to Charlottetown. We were impressed with the attention to detail throughout the house and the breakfasts were outstanding! Thanks again!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 September 2004

Our hosts at this B&B, Laura and Steve Armour, made our stay in PEI a lovely and thoroughly comfortable experience. In fact, they indulged us. Upon our arrival they assisted us in every way, and we sat down together with a map of immediate environs (after our long driving) so that we'd find a perfect meal within walking distance. The breakfast table was something to behold, with crystal, silver, lace tablecloth. Steve's breakfast was inventive and elegant too, with flower blossoms accenting here and there. And we saw that each guest was welcomed equally to our own experience. Norman and I rate the Snapdragon with five, six, seven stars if they are available. The guests we met there were practically family members.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 September 2004

I recently returned from my Summer vacation to the Maritimes. We had a wonderful vacation and just wanted to comment on our Favorite B&B of the trip.
We had the pleasure of staying at the Snapdragon B&B in downtown Charlottetown. Not only was the location excellent, walking distance to downtown and the bordwalk, but the actual property and proprietors were a rare pleasure. The property is nestled between two of Charlottetown's heritage homes and situated on a beautiful tree lined street. Gardens abound and every room has a deck from which you can enjoy the flowers and many, many lovely birds.
The rooms are spacous and beautifully decorated. Hand made quilts by local artizans give a lovely warm feeling to the rooms. We had an absolutely lovely suite with a double bath tub as well as a fireplace. The home is clean and bright and not overstuffed like so many B&B's we have stayed at, room to move, breath and enjoy.
Our breakfast was so yummy we are still talking about it. The very best omlettes we have ever eaten! Thanks Steve!!
Laura and Steve, our hosts, were freindly and informative about the area and attractions avaliable for our pleasure. We could not have felt any more at home than we did at the Snapdragon.
I look forward to returning in cooler weather and snuggling by the fire with my sweetie.
All I can say is "Try it, you will love it!"

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 September 2004

Wow, I just read the previous review and those folks must be accustomed to a VERY different lifestyle.

OK, I can see how the lack of Victoriana clutter in a heritage home can be percieved as sterile, but the fireplaces in the rooms, the wonderful bathtubs (you'll have to find out for yourselves!), the towels that were thicker and softer than those in any 4-star hotel MORE than make up for the absence of dust collectors as far as I'm concerned. And the charm of the wooden four-poster beds, the lovely quilts in each room? Nice touch. Very personal.

And once I sat in that dining room and experienced the delicious breakfasts they produced, I found it very hard to leave! Comfortable, attractive, peaceful and SO close to the downtown and the water walk. What a terrific place! I shall return and next time, I'll stay longer.

Thanks, Steve and Laura for a wonderful holiday experience!

;-)

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 September 2004

We had the pleasure of spending two nights at the Snapdragon Bed & Breakfast in early Sept 2004. Our room was the Blue Room and was very lovely. The breakfast was definitely 5 stars and the company of the owners, Laura and Steve was wonderful. They have us lots of great hints for sightseeing, restaurants and shopping. They were very helpful.

We had our own personal veranda to sit and enjoy a glass of wine and enjoy the outdoors.

I would definitely make a trip back here and would not hesitate to recommend this lovely B&B to anyone looking for a very nice place to stay.

Thanks Laura and Steve for looking after us.

Pam and Les Whiklo

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Prince Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cranford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cranford Inn

Property: The Cranford Inn
Address: 177 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2013and 2014 TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Award. Inducted into the Trip Advisor Hall of Fame, for those who have had 5 years of the Certificate of Excellence in a row. Guests have reviewed us as the Number 9 Bed and Breakfast in Canada. "Contemporary elegance-perfect for business or pleasure." The Cranford Inn is an elegant accommodation, owner operated, located centrally in historic Charlottetown. The property is designed to provide the comfort of a first class hotel while maintaining the charm and personal touches you look for in a great Bed and Breakfast. The Cranford Inn is an excellent choice whether you are here for business or pleasure. Location is key and the Cranford Inn is walking distance to great restaurants, theatre, historic and cultural experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cranford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cranford Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing