We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Snapdragon B&B is the way to go...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cranford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cranford Inn
Ranked #3 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Snapdragon B&B is the way to go...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2007

We booked directly with the hostess of the Snapdragon Inn. Stayed here for 1 night with my parents on our travels of the East Coast. It was my parent's first experience at a B&B and now they are hooked!

We had very comfortable bed and cot for me in one of the upstairs bedrooms. THe Inn was bright and cheery and the hostess most pleasant. The balcony connected to our room gave a nice view of the garden. Bathroom was very clean and spacious. We were in close proximity to downtown Charlottetown. with ample parking on their front lot. Only complaint I would have is that as the house was full, there was a lot of noise from the gathering in the dining room during the evening until past 11 pm, so found it a little difficult to sleep after our long travels. However, I'm sure that this was due to the other guests and not the hostess.

Breakfast was small but beautifully presented. Overall a very pleasant stay. I would definitely stay here again if back in Charlotteotown, rather than any of the hotels I saw in the area.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
221
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2007

We stayed 2 nights at the Snapdragon and I highly recommend it. I was astounded at how clean the room was. It had good light, a great air conditioner with controls, a little veranda looking out onto a gorgeous yard, nice tub/bathroom, was spacious yet cozy.

My favorite thing about staying there was the breakfast. First they gave you a lovely parfait of fruit topped with fresh cream, then juice, then a tasty presentation of french toast. The next day the menu was different yet equally as yummy. There were 6 people sitting at a dining room table at a time. The conversation both days with other travelers was delightful.

Restaurants and a place to see shops and take a walk along the water were within walking distrance.

The innkeeper Nadell was warm, friendly and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, hospitality of the staff
  • Disliked — There was nothing I didn't like
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sharronboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick, NS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2006

We spent two nights at the Snapdragon and can positively recommend it to anyone visiting PEI and wanting to stay in Charlottetown.

Location - within easy walking distance to shops, historical sights, theatres, restaurants and pubs.

Accomodation - Scrupulously clean, bright, attractive, comfortable and just the right size.

Service - A1. The proprieters and staff obviously like what they do and are a wealth of friendly and helpful information without being "in your face!" They will join you after breakfast for conversation and suggestions on what to see on PEI. Really nice people!

Food - The breakfasts are delicious - not too liitle - not too much - just right. Well planned!

Overall I would say do not hesitate to book a stay at the Snapdragon.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — The internet is located by the dining table and so was unavailable during breakfast of other guests. Hey, thtat's a small point!
  • Tips/Secrets — book ahead as the place is popular
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2006

We booked the Snapdragon from the Tourists centre after seeing the dismal, 'you could be anywhere' Holiday Inn Express we had reserved which was so highly touted by your site. The HI is far out of the city on a motel, fast-food strip which may be ideal for families (there were lots of little kiddies running around the lobby) but we were hoping more for a local experience. Since our rooms weren't ready anyways, and there was no penalty for cancelling, we took a chance and it turned out to be wonderful. All the good things said in previous contributions could be trippled without exaggeration! No one has yet mentioned the gorgeous flowers everywhere. You really feel like you are in the home of your favorite friends who have excellent taste....terrific books to read, charming decor, lovely amenities and a scrumptious breakfast. The hospitality and quality spoiled us for the rest of the trip! We stayed at some pretty fancy places, too, but none held a candle to the Snapdragon, even the Inn at Bay Fortune and the Keltic! This is a keeper.

  • Liked — attractive and spotless
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TobiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western US
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2005

We have not stayed in many B&B's, so it is harder for us to rate it against others. However I do know that The Snapdragon was scrupulously clean, the bath was luxurious, and our room was a good size. I peeked in the smaller upstairs room, and I did not think I would have been comfortable in it. The setting is lovely and very convenient for walking to most of the rest of Charlottetown. The hosts were nice, but I wouldn't gush and say they "treated us like family". The breakfast was very good, with lovely presentation. Though the portions were fine for me, my husband left each breakfast hungry. I would have appreciated having the computer be more accessable, without having to ask for permission to use it first. One of the staff, Valerie, gave us great directions to many lovely and special places that only a local would know.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EmmaKnightlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2005

We stayed at the Snapdragon B & B on our way through Charlottetown PEI while on our one-week whirl-wind tour of the Atlantic Provinces. We were very impressed with this beautiful bed and breakfast. The house is gorgeous and the rooms are clean and very tastefully decorated. Ours had a balcony that looked out onto the street. The bathroom was spotless and very nice. The B & B is located in the heart of historic Charlottetown -- a short 10 min walk to pubs, fine dining, local seafood places, historic areas, and shopping. The breakfast was elegant, and delicious. The dining room looks out onto the pretty gardens of the property. The owners Steve and Laura, and their staff made our visit so pleasurable. We are recommending the Snapdragon to all my friends and family, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frannie_laa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2005

We were extremely pleased with the hospitality offered by our hosts Laura and Steve as they made us part of their home during our recent visit to Charlottetown. We were impressed with the attention to detail throughout the house and the breakfasts were outstanding! Thanks again!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Prince Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cranford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cranford Inn

Property: The Cranford Inn
Address: 177 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2013and 2014 TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Award. Inducted into the Trip Advisor Hall of Fame, for those who have had 5 years of the Certificate of Excellence in a row. Guests have reviewed us as the Number 9 Bed and Breakfast in Canada. "Contemporary elegance-perfect for business or pleasure." The Cranford Inn is an elegant accommodation, owner operated, located centrally in historic Charlottetown. The property is designed to provide the comfort of a first class hotel while maintaining the charm and personal touches you look for in a great Bed and Breakfast. The Cranford Inn is an excellent choice whether you are here for business or pleasure. Location is key and the Cranford Inn is walking distance to great restaurants, theatre, historic and cultural experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cranford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cranford Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing