We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hate to say this but too many french fries...”

The Factory Cookhouse & Dancehall
Ranked #41 of 247 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, American, Southwestern, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Factory Cookhouse & Dancehall (affectionately dubbed The Factory) is Prince Edward Island's only dedicated smokehouse and Country escape! The Factory is focused on offering a selection of premium Island meat, smoked for hours and hours in our authentic smokers. Don't be late getting here though, cause when we're out - we're out for the day. Focusing on the traditional smokehouse favorites - Chicken, Ribs, Brisket and Pulled Pork, The Factory also has signature menu items such as Mac n' Cheese, Shepherds Pie, Meatloaf and Steaks. After dinner the dance floor heats up with a mix of country and classic rock with local, regional and national acts cycling through so it's always fresh and exciting. The party keeps going into the late-night with local DJ's playing a unique balance of the music you want to hear. At the Factory we stand on three pillars - Food, Friends & Fun!
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Hate to say this but too many french fries...”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Ordered fish and chips, fish was good, fries were hand cut, but it seemed like they had been sitting under a warmer for way too long... Unfortunately, because hand cut fries are my favourite... Service was friendly. Location is good downtown, with outdoor terrace.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colleens941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glynn J, Public Relations Manager at The Factory Cookhouse & Dancehall, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy our fries with your meal! You will be sure to rectify that issue ASAP! Thank you for for taking the time to let us know about your experience - your comments are how we improve! However, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed our fish and your service at The Factory! Did you get a chance to sit on our patio? Thank you so much for taking the time to inform us about your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    31
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great eats”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

great food, huge servings and a great staff. everyone made you feel right at home. they were about half full when we came in and we were seated immediately and had our drinks and order taken in just a few minutes. they checked on us just enough to make sure we had everything we needed but not to the point of overkill. this is really where you need to stop for dinner if you want the best food for your money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Reacher13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glynn J, Public Relations Manager at The Factory Cookhouse & Dancehall, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We are so happy to hear about your positive experience at The Factory Cookhouse & Dancehall! Did you get a chance to stick around for our late night entertainment? It's always a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Taco Tuesday”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We drove in after exploring the Greenwich Dunes and this was the first place we found open for a meal at 8pm. The service was great and we were pleasantly surprised to discover Taco Tuesdays. We were offered a special sauce to try on our tacos and it really added a unique flavour that complemented the taste. We'll definitely be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank helen_edley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glynn J, Manager at The Factory Cookhouse & Dancehall, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We are so happy to hear that you had a chance to visit us on $2 Taco Tuesday at The Factory Cookhouse & Dancehall! The sauce that the girls gave you was our creamy sauce (I think it's great on everything)! We hope you had a great time at the Dunes - they're so beautiful aren't they? Can't wait until you come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The meals were fairly inexpensive and came in huge portions. I had a less than $9 breakfast and had to get a takeaway box full of stuff back to my hotel. Later I got an amazing order of southern fried chicken that came with two sides for only $16. I was expecting the sides to be small but each side was basically a meal in itself.

The staff was super friendly and the food was a classic country style and very good. Their menu has something for everyone and you will not leave disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glynn J, Manager at The Factory Cookhouse & Dancehall, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for coming to visit us at the Factory Cookhouse & Dancehall while you were in Charlottetown! Next time, be sure to come visit in the summer (I'm sure you must have heard that lots while you were here) we have a beautiful patio set up and entertainment every Saturday afternoon! Hope you enjoyed our beautiful community!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanhope, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicious and cheap country breakfast”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stopped in for breakfast this morning. We'd heard good things since they started serving breakfast a few months ago. They're definitely doing it right (and it runs til 3pm!). Big heaping mound of pan fried potatoes spiced right, two juicy breakfast sausages, two strips of thick bacon, two eggs, and four pieces of toast. All for $7.99. I don't know of a better breakfast in the Charlottetown area. We'll be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tommypei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Factory Cookhouse & Dancehall also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Factory Cookhouse & Dancehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing