We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Chips Are DOWN!”
Review of The Chip Shack

The Chip Shack
Ranked #2 of 247 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Seasonal Establishment. Open from first of May to End of Oct. See you in 2017 xoxo
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
“The Chips Are DOWN!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

By far best spot for excellent tasting fries and variety (apple fries ... could smell the cinnamon).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichTeeHee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    87
    21
    7
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
“Great Gluten Free Fish & Chips aren't easy to find!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

For the past 3 years since my son and I have known we are Celiac, we can't always find fish & chips. It must be a challenge to make a good batter because although we had a source, the batter just wasn't that nice brown that we wanted. Today I visited the Chip Shack and tried their batter and was delighted to finally have found crispy brown coated HADDOCK :) " Hallelujah and pass the biscuits!" The fish was lovely and now for the chips. We used to drive across town just for handcut fries....won't be doing that anymore - these FRIES are gorgeous and the business is located just 5 minutes from home :) Well Done CHIP SHACK :) When we want a delicious treat, we'll be coming to see you! Next time, it will be the apple fries <3

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 420Kathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our world wide search for the best fries has ended. Quite simply these are the best French fries we've found. No need to search any more

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenno3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascade, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The place for Chips”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stopped by on the way back to our cruise ship. Caron was awesome with her singing and hugs. Food is great!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Apple fries are awesome”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Love love those gluten free, made to order, sweet hot delicious apple fries! Can't wait to come back and get them again - Ava wants to too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chip Shack also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Rustico, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Chip Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing