We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just one more example of "you get what you pay for"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Holman Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just one more example of "you get what you pay for"”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

It was a beautiful day in Charlottetown, and it was our first visit to the town. I wanted a room with a view of the harbour, which was filled with sail boats, for the evening. I phoned around and the girl on the front desk of the Holman grand said, "do I have the room for you" lol. I went to check it out, she took me and my kids on a tour of the room just to make sure it would be what we were looking for. It was what we were looking for.It was one of their penthouse suites, yeah it's pricey but a beautiful evening in Charlottetown with a view like that was well worth it. The room was very clean and modern, we enjoyed it to the fullest. The staff were excellent and the Red Water grill , which is located in the hotel, exceeded my expectations (I had a steak). Overall we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mince160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you very much for your pleasant review. We are extremely pleased that you were able to enjoy our penthouse suite and find the view you wanted. It was also a pleasure to share with the in house restaurant that you found their meal exceeded expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    99
    33
    13
    4
See reviews for
84
176
11
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just stayed at this new centrally located hotel in the heart of Charlottetown just a block from all of great restaurants and across from the Confederation Center. We stayed in on of the 3 penthouse suites (room 1001). The room was incredible. With nearly 20 foot ceilings you felt like your were living in a loft. This room had 2 queen beds. The bathroom was delightful. From the jacuzzi tub you could see the amazing view of Charlottetown and the harbour. Another specular feature of the room was the fantastic deck with not only lounge chairs but also a dining table. We hated to leave the room! You must enjoy the sunsets each evening with a glass of wine. Of all of the hotels I have stayed in around the world, I have never stayed in one with such an incredible outdoor deck. This will definitely be our hangout when in Charlottetown.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank-you so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback regarding your stay. It is a pleasure to hear that you were able to enjoy the penthouse suite, its view and amenities. You really can't beat the view from the top! We are glad that you have decided to make us your Charlottetown hangout and hope to welcome you back soon. Have a Grand day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We recently booked a last minute 4-day stay in Charlottetown, PEI and found the Holman Grand Hotel online. The location is perfect, the hotel is modern, beautiful and the staff is fantastic, very helpful and friendly. Valet parking was a great option, not having to pay more for public parking and not having to look for a spot, it was worry free! We had no issues at all with the wi-fil internet connection. We did not dine at the restaurant during our stay but we did check it out and it is lovely and other guests raved about the food, service, etc. The rates are reasonable for the level of luxury that you get. There are safes in the rooms for your valuables. Keurig coffee machines with complementary coffee, tea, water. Aveda products replaced daily in the bathroom, soft robes hanging in the closet. Yes, the bathroom door lets you see what's going on inside (frosted glass with clear design), but since this was a vacation as a couple, that was a non-issue for us. It's very soundproof and peaceful as well. They have a lovely pool situated on the lower level. This is a top notch hotel with excellent staff. THE place to stay in Charlottetown!

If you want a nice breakfast for a low cost just down the street on a morning when you don't want to dine at the hotel, we highly recommend Linda's Coffee Shop and Restaurant. But there are SO MANY to choose from!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matamich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
It was an absolute pleasure to read your review and share it with the staff. Thank-you so much for taking the time to leave some wonderful comments. I am especially happy to read that you found our employees so friendly and helpful. It is also great to see that you heard nothing but positive comments in regards to the restaurant. Thank-you again and we hope to see you in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My mom, sisters, and I recently stayed at the Holman Grand on our one-night stopover in Charlottetown during our visit to PEI. There are a lot of great things about this hotel. First of all, the location can't be beat. It is right down town, across from the Confederation Center, and near all kinds of great restaurants and shops. The decor is really nice as well; they use a soothing modern palette of greens, browns, whites, and silvers. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms were large and supplied with Aveda products, and the staff was incredibly polite and accommodating. Check-in isn't supposed to be until 3pm, but we arrived at about noon and were allowed to check in right away. A couple things to note that may be negatives to some people: you have two options for parking, meter-parking and valet parking, which costs $15. I don't think the parking options were explained clearly enough on the website. The wireless internet is quite finicky. When it is working it is quite slow, and two people in my party couldn't get it to work at all. In the room that we had, the bathroom door is semi-see-through, decorated with a frosted pattern. That may not be a big deal to some, but if you are staying in the same room with friends it might be awkward. The shower is huge and really nice, but there is no bathtub (which didn't bother me at all but may not be good for families with small children) and it is open at one end without a shower door or curtain. Finally, we had a corner room, which provided an AWESOME view of downtown and the harbor, but it was a bit cramped, with not a lot of room for movement or luggage around the beds. All in all I would say that I had a very good stay here at the Holman Grand, but there are some things that take away from the experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
The review of your recent stay here at the Holman Grand is much appreciated. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We are pleased that the staff as well as the establishment met your expectations. Should you choose to stay with us again our third party has assured us that the internet connectivity issues have been addressed. We also have blinds readily available at the desk that completely cover the bathroom doors. Thank-you again for your review and have a Grand day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The hotel is new. The room is still very clean. Comfortable bed and lots of pillow. Not a lot of varieties of food in the restaurant. Not that far from the water front and connect to a small shopping mall if you happen to forget something.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalayanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank-you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and slept well here at the Holman Grand. Thank you for staying with us during your time in Charlottetown and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Excellent location, clean and very modern. It felt like a New York boutique style only with comfortable sized rooms! The service was excellent from the front desk to the valet, very professional staff all around, it is evident that customer service is high on the priority of the property. Although we did not get to eat at the Redwood Grill, we did stop by for a nightcap, great atmosphere and bartender also very professional/attentive. Loved the location, steps away from all the great bars and resturants. We will be back next summer for certain.

Two tips I just wanted to add - 1) Like someone expressed in another review I too experienced a bit of difficulty connecting to the wifi on my Apple device but my non-apple device connected no issue. It had a hard time redirectly to the site, after the 6th try i did get in and the speed etc was just fine. Just don't give up and you will eventually get connected.
2) If you are sharing with a friend rather than a family member or like a lot of privacy in the bathroom, the bathroom doors are not for those who are modest. Although the toliet is nicely tucked away behind a privacy wall, you still get a good view thru the partially frosted window when you step out of the shower, our door was facing the bed. So just something to consider. There could be rooms with a slightly different config perhaps where the door does not overllok the room perhaps.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tkislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank-you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at The Holman Grand. I am very happy to share your review with the staff as customer service is indeed a high priority for us. Thank-you for the tips, we have been in contact with the third party that supplies our internet and they have assured us that the problems have been fixed. As for the windows we actually have some special curtains that will attach to the glass and completely block the view, should you stay with us again simply ask for them upon check-in. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The location can't be beat and it is downtown with great streets around to walk throughout Charlottestown. The Holman is newly opened in the last few months and still has that "new hotel" feel with very eager service and everything is bright and shiny. We booked through a third party service and received a much better rate than the walk-in rate--they might want to consider whether to re-look at their rate structures.
Because of the way we booked our rooms, we had a King room the first night with a lovely view of the harbor (and a cruise ship) and it was extremely nice A big shower (but no shower door=water on the floor!) and the most comfortable bed and pillows I've experienced in a long time. The second night (which is tonight), we have a double queen which was equally nice.

What's not to like? Only little items, such as the lobby needing more seating areas. We're checking out the pool and fitness room tonight after hitting the local pubs. This hotel is absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freq_traveler_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank-you very much! We really appreciate that you have taken the time to leave a review regarding your stay at The Holman Grand. It was a pleasure to share your positive experience with the staff. The comfortable beds and pillows are something we have been hearing numerous guests rave about. Thank-you again for choosing and recommending the Holman Grand, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.2 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
487 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.2 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holman Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holman Grand Hotel

Property: The Holman Grand Hotel
Address: 123 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Holman Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlottetwown's Newest Hotel,where clean, crisp decor mingles with natural Island light. We offer guest rooms where luxurious comfort, advanced technologies and eco-friendly initiatives come together in harmony. World class service that anticipates your every need without being fussy, in a historic downtown location that puts the city & the harbour views at your doorstep. Reserve your stay and discover a hotel experience that is unique to you and just as inviting every time you return. We are pleased to announce that we have just opened Grand Senses and Aveda Concept Spa in the lobby of the hotel. Now you can take your Grand Experience even further with luxurious treatments and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Holman Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holman Grand Hotel Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing