We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean, modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Holman Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice clean, modern hotel”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

They are quick to highlight that they are the first new hotel to open in Charlottetown in quite a while, which is reason enough to stay, its brand new and spotlessly clean. The room is nice enough, with a sleek modern bathroom with good sized tiled shower (and a thumbs up for the Aveda products). Bed was comfortable with lots of pillows. Only cons I would say the overall feel of the hotel is very generic and cold. Just because they were going for a modern look doesn't mean it had to be so bland, and devoid of local character. Overall I would stay here again and recommend it to people travelling to Charlottetown.

Room Tip: Its downtown so just use the valet parking instead of trying to find a spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Steve, thank you very much for leaving us a review regarding your stay at our hotel. We are glad that your overall stay was a positive one and happy that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back next time you visit Charlottetown. Thanks again and have a GRAND day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    105
    34
    13
    4
See reviews for
89
181
11
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rothesay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

While on a golf weekend my Brother-in-law and I spent two nights at the Holman Grand in a wonderful room on the 9th floor. The hotel is in the heart of the Charlottetown core so it offers plenty of dining, shopping and entertainment options within walking distance of the lobby including access to the mall without needing to put on a coat.

We were booked in to a 2 Queen bed room on the 9th floor that offered spectacular views of the Charlottetown core and waterfront areas, in fact our last morning we awoke to a view of a cruise ship that had pulled into dock a few blocks away. The room does not have carpet but has light colored wood floors in the main sleeping area and tile in the bathroom. Besides the 2 queen beds which were more to the softer side but comfortable the room had a wet bar stocked with a Keurig coffee maker with several Keurig cups of different coffee flavors plus a mini fridge perfect for keep any drinks or small food items cool. The closet offered a good place to hang clothes and keep your bags away from sight with a sliding closet door. The room also offered a work desk and office chair along with a couple of other chairs to relax. The flat screen TV was hung on the wall next to the work desk. The bathroom was pretty basic and was a good size with the sink and counter top offering plenty of space to lay out your toiletries. The bathroom did not have a bath tub put only offer a walk in shower area. The door to the bathroom has a large frosted glass part that allowed anyone to see into the bathroom so if you are staying here and want to keep the other people staying in your room a view of you on the toilet or in the shower then request a blind from the front desk. The hotel will provide a privacy blind that will stick to the bathroom door glass by suction cups.

Every person we encountered at the hotel was very friendly and all seemed to enjoy their job. Every time we were going through the lobby if they were not serving another guest were quick to say hello and wish you a good day. There is a restaurant connected to the lobby that seemed to be higher priced but being in the area there are plenty of eateries that offer various price ranges. Directly across the street from the hotel front door is the Arts Center. The hotel does offer a pool and work out area but we did not use these amenities. Also the room did have free wifi service but it was not the fastest and sometimes did drop the connection but for the most park allowed us to do what we needed to use it for which was basic online internet surfing or using Skype.

The hotel does not have its own parking lot so your only choices are to use the valet parking at $15 per day or use either on street parking or there is also a parking garage within a block of the hotel. There is an area on the street directly in front of the lobby door dedicated to the hotel for valet parking and people checking in to unload. After 6pm on Friday night and over the weekend the on street parking was free in the area around the hotel so if you can find a spot during the weekend you can park for free which is what we did. Each time we arrived back at the hotel we were able to find a parking spot in front of the hotel on the opposite side of the street which worked out well.

All in all this is a wonderful place to stay in Charlottetown but since it is a boutique hotel keep in mind it will be pricey but the location and room are worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pweb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Many, many thanks for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. We are very please that you had so many nice things to say about our property. It was truly a pleasure to read about your stay. We look forward to hosting you again next time you visit our wonderful city of Charlottetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, ON
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Holman Grand is a wonderful location, centrally located to all you need while in Charlottetown. My family of Four.(two boys 10/7 yrs old) stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed it alot. Every morning my son woke up to the review of cruise shipping coming in and was so excited. Rm 905 is spacious and has a corner view. I had a wonderful breakfast in the restaurant in the hotel. The staff were amazing...attentive, polite and extremely helpful. I would definitely recommend you stay here !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsoi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us a review. We are very happy that your family enjoyed their time at our hotel. It is great to hear that your son was able to take advantage of the superb view from our high floors. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's restaurant. Thanks again for leaving a review and have a grand day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and kid got scared by 8 mens at the pool, one of them was bleeding. Blood and Beer on the floor and in the toilet... Call the desk and the said that the can do nothing.... They are guess...... I ask if they look at the camera and they said yes..... I ask to clean the pool and it had blood on the floor and in the shower, blood on pool towel in the toilet.... I went to the desk and ask for the manager (Patrick) .... He was making fun of me.... I told him, I like to talk w the owner..... Still making fun of me.... It was on August, 24 2013 at +/- 8:30PM....

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holman Grand Hotel, it is truly disappointing your last evening's stay with us was adversely affected by other clients celebrating in our Hotel pool. While we prominently post rules for our swimming pool regarding beverage and behavior respecting other guests, unfortunately this particular group chose not to pay attention to pool rules. We feel bad your concerns were not addressed to your satisfaction by our Guest Service Agents; hopefully your previous two nights with us were more to your satisfaction.
John Cudmore, our Hotel General Manager, is anxious to speak with you to better understand what our team can learn from this unfortunate occurrence, and will be reaching out to you by phone and email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel and we would definitely stay there again. The room was nicely laid out; everything was brand new and exceptionally clean. The bed was comfortable, obviously of premium quality. The bathroom was luxiously appointed. It was a nice touch having a keurig in the room that we could start our days out lazily looking out over the harbour.

Every staff member we encountered were friendly and outgoing. They were informative about the city and the area. They went out of their way to look after any request.

We must say that the general manager, John Cudmore, is a valuable asset to the establishment. The owners definitely knew what they were doing putting him at the helm. Thanks John for everything you did.

We did not dine at the hotel, so I can't comment on it, but from the outside looking in, it seemed to have a lovely atmosphere.

This hotel gets a 10 out 10 from us! Thanks from Michele and Glenn.

Room Tip: Get a room looking out over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunsandandwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Michele and Glenn, thank you so much for the lovely review of our property. We are thrilled to hear about how much you enjoyed your time at The Holman Grand. I am especially happy to hear that our staff were so accommodating to your requests as top notch service is always our aim. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel is fairly new, but the staff are very capable. The rooms are well laid out, very good attention to detail in the design and architecture. All the little extras are included in the room which really make the difference between a good room and a great room. The bathroom amenities are a luxury brand. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Donna, thank you very much for leaving us some feedback regarding your recent stay at The Holman Grand. We are pleased that your stay was a positive one and that you were able to enjoy our top notch amenities. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you again soon. Have a Grand day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel is brand new and it shows. The room was the best room we stayed in during our east coast trip. You cannot replace the benefits that come with a new building. Beds are awesome, all new furniture, fixtures, etc. We always looked forward to returning to our room in the evenings. It reminded me of some of the European business hotels I've stayed at. It is not over the top luxurious, but the fit and finish is modern and high end. Definitely recommend staying here. The staff are also very pleasant. This is the only place to stay in Prince Edward Island!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeahmon_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
I was extremely happy to share your great review with the staff, thank you so much for taking the time to leave it. We agree with you 100% about being the only place to stay in Charlottetown and we will work our absolute best to keep it that way. We are very much based on European designs so your comparison is not far off. Thank you again and have a Grand day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.2 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
491 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holman Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holman Grand Hotel

Property: The Holman Grand Hotel
Address: 123 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Holman Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlottetwown's Newest Hotel,where clean, crisp decor mingles with natural Island light. We offer guest rooms where luxurious comfort, advanced technologies and eco-friendly initiatives come together in harmony. World class service that anticipates your every need without being fussy, in a historic downtown location that puts the city & the harbour views at your doorstep. Reserve your stay and discover a hotel experience that is unique to you and just as inviting every time you return. We are pleased to announce that we have just opened Grand Senses and Aveda Concept Spa in the lobby of the hotel. Now you can take your Grand Experience even further with luxurious treatments and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Holman Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holman Grand Hotel Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing