We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid this one!”
Review of Suites of Euston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Suites of Euston
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“avoid this one!”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed here not too long ago and found the place was old and needed renovations. The room we were in smelled bad and we could hardly use the bathroom sink as part of the weird looking bathroom cabinet hung over part of it. Owner had just finished re-tiling the bathroom and it smelled strongly of plaster. There was no fan in the bathroom, only a window that did not have good ventilation. The shower was a bad joke in that it poked out of a hole in the wall and could not be moved at all. It was stuck in one position. The owner was dishonest and tried to charge us for a night we had already paid for. He did not get away with it. There were a couple of drunks staying there that Mr [--] the owner said lived on the third floor. One of them was smoking upstairs too and smoking was not allowed but [--] did nothing about it. We could smell the smoke in the bathroom and bedroom and it stunk.
The maid service was lousy and we had to request room service. We never had our bed linens changed and dust was building up on the furniture which we ended cleaning off. The carpet was never vacuumed either. It seems the maid only cleaned when people checked out.
The phone service was another bad joke. It was very complicated to dial out and the phone would ring in our room when someone called for another guest. We could not dial long distance calls, It was blocked off by [--]. He never mentionned this to us though. There were no saucepans or frying pans in the room even though there was a hot plate.There were only dishes and a couple of mugs, some cutlery.
[--] was over at the inn every day to collect money from guests. We could hear him talking out loud and requesting payment. He always seemed to need money very very quickly. We figured that either he lives a lavish lifestyle or he owes someone money big time. We did not find him to be too ethical anyway..
We were happy to leave. We will not stay there again and we do not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    26
    18
    10
    24
See reviews for
17
60
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at this place recently and the we found the owner Todd -- to be dishonest as he tried to rip us off. He said he prefers cash payments, refused to give a receipt for the payment, and then tried to charge us for a day that we already paid for. He was always anxious to get his money right away like he was desperate for the cash.
He was also overfriendly and we got the impression that he was looking for a girlfriend and hits on his guests. He offered to drive us to the beach but we declined and he was very disappointed. We found him very annoying.
He had strange mannerisms like he would touch himself in the crotch area in front of use.
There were a few drunk transient guys living there and we could hear them coughing and retching. It was gross especially while one is eating.
The building seems to need renovations, especially the old marked up floors and we got a splinter in the foot once from walking on it but we were able to remove it.
The shower in one of the units was weird in that it was a nozzle that came out of a hole in the wall and it could not be moved or adjusted. Very primitive.
We would not stay there again even if it was free.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank summer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlottetown hotels

Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We were two couples who reserved with Todd --- for one night in June 2012. When we arrived we found that rooms 2 and 3 were smelling terribly mildew. Todd was not on site, so we called him to inform we could not stay because of the strong smell. We found later that he had charged our credit cards directly when we reserved one week before.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizza13
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The gentleman that takes care of the reservations is quite helpful. He was a little "too much in your bubble" so to speak, but probably just being friendly.
There was a dead hornet on the floor, but he cleaned it when I pointed it out. Other than that, the room was clean and the sheets were clean. There was no dead-bolt on the door, which I didn't like.
The rooms are not very sound proof.. I could hear people yelling and partying outside for about 2 hours, kept waking me up.
Price is ok for the area, so if your looking for a decent place to stay, for not too pricey, it's a place for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lizza13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This place was a life saver! I was stuck for somewhere to stay on Canada day. I found it through Kijiji and called up Todd the owner. We made an appointment to meet and he was prompt on arriving. He showed me a nice 1 bedroom on the 2nd floor with a great bed...Super comfortable! He set me up with towels, soaps all the usual stuff. I told him I needed a place until September and he set me up right there.

Rent was reasonable and it is located really close to the downtown area so that was a big bonus for me. I had a tv, internet, small fridge, bathroom, counter and sink. There were even plates and cutlery. The building is a cool red brick and the architecture really stands out....very unique! I stayed the whole 2 months and had no problems with my deposit when I left. Todd is a good guy and was nothing but nice to me the whole time I stayed. I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DiegoM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The Suites of Euston provided my girlfriend and I with a charming home away from home while visiting Charlottetown on vacation. The room we stayed in was great. It had a unique heritage character and was very clean, spacious, with a nice queen sized bed, and a kitchenette from which we took full advantage of to make a nice meal. We found the owner to be friendly and accommodating. The location is great, only a short walk to the waterfront and other attractions. It is economically priced when considering other expensive options in Charlottetown. I would highly recommend The Suites of Euston to anyone. We will be coming back year after year!

Room Tip: Room 1 and 3 were great! Owner will show all available rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scarothpei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Love, love, love this hotel. The location is great for shopping and getting around charlottetown. The property itself is older but is well taken care of and updated. Service is what you'd expect form Ritz-Carlton and I wish I was staying longer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigliz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
710 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
#19 of 23 in Charlottetown
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#11 of 23 in Charlottetown
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
592 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites of Euston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites of Euston

Property: Suites of Euston
Address: 155 Euston St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suites of Euston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Charlottetown, nestled amongst major hotels and higher end B and B’s is a little gem called, “Suites of Euston”. Open year round, this quaint historic guest house boasts eleven charmingly decorated units each equipped with kitchenette and bathroom. The key factors that have lead Todd Munn’s thriving business towards success are affordability and location. You will be pleased to see that not only the architecture and décor of this historic Inn will have you reminiscing of yesteryear, but so will your tab. Laundry facilities, hair dryer, ironing board, wake up call, full laundry service and shuttle are some of the services available upon request at Suites of Euston Along with the warm welcome typical of islander hospitality, Todd’s genuine aim to please will assure you an enjoyable stay. Please call in advance to assure availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Suites of Euston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Of Euston Hotel Charlottetown
Suites Of Euston Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing