We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Colonial Charm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colonial Charm Inn
Ranked #2 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Right from the time we walked in the door and Reg introduced himself we felt welcomed and at home. Our room could not have been more comfortable and private, the kind you look forward to coming back to after a day out or a night at the centre for the arts. Everything is in walking distance and Shelley and her brother Reg are there with suggestions and directions. Every morning they serve an excellent, hot full breakfast. Could not have been a nicer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

Charlottetown is a wonderful place to spend a few days. To make it even better, stay at the Colonial Charm Inn. A beautiful heritage house kept neat as a pin. Shelly is a truly wonderful hostess, enthusiastic and knowledgeable about her city and the rest of PEI. A great location for a stroll of old town Charlottetown. It was a pleasure to stay here; we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lajavamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I had booked a room on their website a few months before my actual stay. Two weeks before my stay I was contacted that the room I had booked had under gone renovation and the bathroom no longer had a jetted tub. The inn-keeper offered a discount of approximately $25 or an upgrade to the loft. I took the upgrade. I appreciated the advance notice.

Upon arrival, the inn-keeper's brother welcomed us and gave us a tour. He also gave us some suggestions on where to have dinner, what to do and where I could go for a run.

The loft was VERY big, modern and clean. It was also very quiet as it was on the third level of the house. The only down side was having to carry our bags up two flights of stairs. If you are not fit or have very heavy luggage, I would advice staying in some of the other rooms that are on the second level.

The house is located within a 10 minute walk of downtown Charlottetown and so makes getting to restaurants very easy. Dont have to worry about driving under the influence..hehe. I would recommend eating at Brickhouse. Very yummy and nice ambiance. The house is also located very close to the waterfront which has a long trail for walking/running. I loved running for an hour!

The next morning we met the actual inn-keeper at breakfast. She was super nice and gave us many suggestions on what to do on the island and where to have lunch/dinners. She was also very attentive and ensured our coffee cups were always full. The breakfast consisted of multiple courses and were also very yummy. Great way to start the day.

I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doshivk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this fabulous B&B in Charlottetown. It is only a short walk from the downtown, has very comfortable accommodations, excellent full breakfast and wonderful hosts. Shelly and Reg are the best. They are gracious host and have excellent recommendations for restaurants and places to see. This was the best stay of our two weeks in Canada. If back in PEI will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDL15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We loved our 5-night stay at the Colonial Inn B&B! We both agree that we would definitely stay again. The B&B was a short walk to all downtown attractions, and took us only 15 minutes to walk right to the water. Perfect!! Shelly and Reg were very gracious hosts. They were amazing at recommending places to see and visit. Reg made excellent restaurant recommendations (Buono Mangia = to die for!), and Shelly gave us some great tips on where to visit (e.g. we visited North Rustico beach at Shelley's recommendation, and LOVED it!).

We stayed in The Brighton Room (it used to be a suite, but after construction of the new Loft upstairs, it's now a room). The room was a bit smaller than we had expected (the closet was super tiny, too!) but we probably felt that way because we had 5 days' worth of stuff to unpack/store in the room. We simply put our big suitcases in the car and there was more than enough room. The other slight downside is that the wireless internet only works in the bathroom. Understandable in a large, older home with thick walls! It really wasn't a problem for us. The balcony was so wonderful to have. We spent time out there every evening. The room has direct access to the balcony, which is shared with the rest of the house (though the Brighton room has a portion of the balcony sectioned off). There is no mini-fridge in the room, but there is one in the sitting room upstairs (we bought lots of cheese at COWS and needed a place to store it!). There was always plenty of room to keep all of our stuff. Also, Reg was super sweet and made ice for us every single day, so when we went off on a day trip with a small cooler, we always had ice. That was so nice of him; we really appreciated it!

Overall, we would highly recommend the Colonial Charm B&B and would not hesitate for a minute to stay here again. It is so charming and Shelley and Reg are so friendly. We also benefited from a Stay & Save Special which gave us our 4th night half off (plus a really great coupon book which saved us over $60.00 over the course of our trip!)

Thanks for a great experience for our first time in Charlottetown! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryBumpkin1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night and on short notice, but highly recommend this B&B. The location is great - close to the heart of Charlottown! It's clean and very well run by Cheryl who's got literally everything under control and still has time and energy to plan every guest's day!! We totally enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pro_CNDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Colonial Charm Inn was like a holiday from the holiday! Shelly welcomes with open arms to a house every bit as charming as the name suggests, complete with armours and antique hats. Rooms are clean and neat, breakfast varied and of gourmet quality, there are homebaked treats available through the day in the lounge, and Shelly is a fountain of useful information of what to do in and out of town. Warm thanks to Shelly and the team for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
761 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#8 of 23 in Charlottetown
519 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#10 of 23 in Charlottetown
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Charm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Charm Inn

Address: 9 Euston St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1V5, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range: £92 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Charm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning B&B in the heart of historic downtown Charlottetown. We are a close walk to all Charlottetown attractions, restaurants, theatre, parks, etc. Rooms all have private bath, cable tv, dvd, wireless high speed internet, private phone, business center available with computer, fax, printer, copier. Full breakfast included, personal friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Colonial Charm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Charm Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing