We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality abounds!”
Review of Colonial Charm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colonial Charm Inn
Ranked #3 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morris, Mb.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hospitality abounds!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We recently returned from a 3 night stay at the Colonial Charm Inn. Shelley and Reg were wonderful hosts, extremely hospitable and helpful with dinner reservations and travel information. We stayed in the Foster Suite. It was very comfortable but a little noisy as it is right on the street side. The breakfasts were very delicious. The location is superb as you can walk downtown and also go for a walk in the park only a few steps away.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wenneu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    26
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
190
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I stay at B&Bs on all our trips and always love them. This was our first experience where we said "never again." Sure, due to finances we had to book the cheapest room. But this room (called the cozy room) was so tiny it was uncomfortable. The bathroom even tinier.

While we could have coped with this, it was the run down shabby appearance of the bed and bathroom which were the turn off. Peeling wallpaper, a toilet seat that was barely on, threadbare (and I mean threadbare!) towels, and fussy decorating. I love antiques, but the room was just not attractive.

Shelley and her brother were ok, but there was something about Shelley that just rubbed us the wrong way. We couldn't put our finger on it and I guess it was just us.

Breakfast was good, coffee good. As for the location, yes its in walking distance to downtown. But the neighboring houses were run down and the street was heavily travelled. All in all we found the experience to be a big disappointment.

Please don't think I'm one of those "crabby" or "picky" reviewers. If you look at my other reviews you will see this is the first time we did not give a good or excellent review of a place we stayed.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the "cozy room."
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialCharm, Owner at Colonial Charm Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
First I would like to say I was completely surprised to read this review and I wasn't sure how to respond. Yes the Cozy Queen is our smallest room in our 8 room bed and breakfast as the website clearly states as well as the confirmation letter that you receive after you chose your own room. It does however have a queen size bed, two bedroom chairs and an ensuite bathroom with a tub and shower. I apologize if you found the seat loose. It is a new seat and perhaps if you had mentioned it to any of us while you were there instead of not saying a word we could have fixed it for you. I personally take great offense to everything else that was mentioned. The houses around us are not run down and are actually quite beautiful as the heritage society in PEI takes great pride in the local homes and businesses. Yes it definitely is well travelled as we are located in the capital city of the province and our walking distance to the center of the downtown core is one of the reasons people choose us and keep coming back. Decorating in a bed and breakfast as anyone will tell you is usually the owners personal taste and therefore will usually be different every place you go. If people are going to "grade" you on how they feel about decorating then perhaps a cookie cutter hotel is the best way to go instead of the personal touches in a bed and breakfast. I have never had a personal attack on my personality or character and simply cannot believe your unkind words. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us and that I personally seemed to rub you the wrong way. I thought that I went out of my way to stay up late waiting for your late arrival past regular check-in time, helping you up with your bags and helping you to find a place still open to get something to eat within walking distance. We also had our chef make special dietary breakfasts for you each morning taking special care not to have any cross contamination with any allergies. I have spent 18 years loving what I do and meeting some of the nicest people, making new friends and helping people regardless if it is their first or 20th time to our beautiful Island. I have the feeling that this review was more of a personal attack for some other reason than anything else and that it is obvious that there was nothing that I could have possibly done to change your mind that was clearly made from our first contact and people will see the stark difference from our over 150 + reviews from travellers from all over the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Recently visited Charlottetown. on a solo vacation.Shelley, Reg and Jeff were great hosts. and pointed me to delicious restaurants in the downtown which is five minutes walking distance. The breakfasts were a picture(literally!!) and my room was so cozy to come home from a long day of walking. I would definitely go back especially for the 70 mile yard sales!Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alovesrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Right from the time we walked in the door and Reg introduced himself we felt welcomed and at home. Our room could not have been more comfortable and private, the kind you look forward to coming back to after a day out or a night at the centre for the arts. Everything is in walking distance and Shelley and her brother Reg are there with suggestions and directions. Every morning they serve an excellent, hot full breakfast. Could not have been a nicer stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Charlottetown is a wonderful place to spend a few days. To make it even better, stay at the Colonial Charm Inn. A beautiful heritage house kept neat as a pin. Shelly is a truly wonderful hostess, enthusiastic and knowledgeable about her city and the rest of PEI. A great location for a stroll of old town Charlottetown. It was a pleasure to stay here; we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lajavamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I had booked a room on their website a few months before my actual stay. Two weeks before my stay I was contacted that the room I had booked had under gone renovation and the bathroom no longer had a jetted tub. The inn-keeper offered a discount of approximately $25 or an upgrade to the loft. I took the upgrade. I appreciated the advance notice.

Upon arrival, the inn-keeper's brother welcomed us and gave us a tour. He also gave us some suggestions on where to have dinner, what to do and where I could go for a run.

The loft was VERY big, modern and clean. It was also very quiet as it was on the third level of the house. The only down side was having to carry our bags up two flights of stairs. If you are not fit or have very heavy luggage, I would advice staying in some of the other rooms that are on the second level.

The house is located within a 10 minute walk of downtown Charlottetown and so makes getting to restaurants very easy. Dont have to worry about driving under the influence..hehe. I would recommend eating at Brickhouse. Very yummy and nice ambiance. The house is also located very close to the waterfront which has a long trail for walking/running. I loved running for an hour!

The next morning we met the actual inn-keeper at breakfast. She was super nice and gave us many suggestions on what to do on the island and where to have lunch/dinners. She was also very attentive and ensured our coffee cups were always full. The breakfast consisted of multiple courses and were also very yummy. Great way to start the day.

I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doshivk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this fabulous B&B in Charlottetown. It is only a short walk from the downtown, has very comfortable accommodations, excellent full breakfast and wonderful hosts. Shelly and Reg are the best. They are gracious host and have excellent recommendations for restaurants and places to see. This was the best stay of our two weeks in Canada. If back in PEI will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDL15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
733 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Charm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Charm Inn

Property: Colonial Charm Inn
Address: 9 Euston St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1V5, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Charm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning B&B in the heart of historic downtown Charlottetown. We are a close walk to all Charlottetown attractions, restaurants, theatre, parks, etc. Rooms all have private bath, cable tv, dvd, wireless high speed internet, private phone, business center available with computer, fax, printer, copier. Full breakfast included, personal friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Colonial Charm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Charm Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing