We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Colonial Charm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colonial Charm Inn
Ranked #2 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at the Colonial Charm Inn in July and again in August. When we booked the second time we told Shelley we were coming back to enjoy Chef Jeff's breakfast again! However, she told us that Jeff was just filling in and breakfast is usually made by her brother. No worries, it was delicious as well! GLUTEN FREE FRIENDLY!!!! :)

On our first visit we stayed in the newly renovated loft suite (3rd floor). It is huge! On our second visit we stayed in a main floor room with a big 4 poster bed and full of antiques. I personally prefer the smaller, antique room. Both were clean and luxurious. Now we have to go back and try a second floor room.

The inn is conveniently located in walking distance of downtown, the Confederation Centre, & the waterfront.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan210662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Shelley and Gary run a B&B in an old colonial house situated in the heart of Charlottetown within walking distance to the downtown . The rooms are spotless with private bath and have all sorts of equipment in the rooms (microwave oven, dehumidifier/humidifier, supplementary heat, etc.) The breakfast was excellent with a friendly atmosphere that pervaded among all the guests. They went above the call of duty to make sure we were comfortable. They advised us about activities available in Charlottetown and went on-line to find us accommodation at our next stop. We left feeling that we were leaving old friends.

Room Tip: Main floor has large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 611,209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Colonial Charm Inn is an adorable place to stay with great breakfast and knowledgeable staff/owners. They can tell you all you need to know about PEI. The B&B is walking distance from downtown, but it is far enough away to remain quiet. The interior design is quirky, but that just adds to the charm of the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GetOutside53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

It is worth staying at Colonial Charm Inn just to meet the owners and staff! They were all very helpful, welcoming, knowledgeable and 'charming'! Breakfast was very good every day of our five day stay. Our room was spacious (Loft), quiet, comfortable, clean and well kept. The property location is walking distance to Victoria Park, downtown and the waterfront and very convenient to travel by car to all points on the island. We hope to stay in this Inn again!

Room Tip: The Loft was newly renovated and very spacious, quiet and comfortable. It has a small refrigerator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Colonial on a recent visit to Charlottetown. I called ahead one evening with only an hour’s advanced notice and was provided with room descriptions as well as detailed directions to the Inn. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Reg who promptly showed us the 2 rooms available. Our budget influenced our choice of the smaller room which turned out to be quite cozy and more than adequate for our needs. We initially booked for 2 nights but ended up staying 4 nights, which speaks well of the experience. Our last night conflicted with an existing reservation so Shelley, our host, kindly upgraded us to a deluxe room at no extra charge. Every morning we enjoyed excellent breakfasts, great conversations with Reg and Shelley, and valuable sightseeing information as well as dining recommendations. Our hosts definitely went above and beyond when it came to hospitality. At the end of each day my wife and I would often say “well, we should probably head home now”, referring to the Inn. We hope to return one day soon, more so to visit with our new friends, Shelley and Reg rather than as tourists.

Room Tip: Hosts are more than happy to provide room details and Inn amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim-Dan-BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Had a great breakfast (chef baked fresh bread, muffins and quiche). The staff went above and beyond to accommodate our dietary needs. Room (Loft) was very clean, private balcony, lots of room. Friendly and made us feel at home. Gave great recommendations and guidance for our stay in Charlottetown. Can't wait to come back for another (longer) stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We booked a room for a late September trip combining Fall Flavours events and business on PEI. Our hostess was friendly, helpful and very knowledgable about all of the island. We felt comfortable and welcome in our spotless room. Breakfasts were delicious-professional chef quality! The location is perfect for anyone wishing to explore Charlottetown, we walked to all activities. When business required an extra night on the Island, we did not hesitate to return to the Colonial Charm Inn, our cosy room, friendly faces and yummy food.
Mike and Wanda

Room Tip: We liked room 8 on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 24 in Charlottetown
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 24 in Charlottetown
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 24 in Charlottetown
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 24 in Charlottetown
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shipwright Inn
Shipwright Inn
#3 of 43 in Charlottetown
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elmwood Heritage Inn
Elmwood Heritage Inn
#1 of 43 in Charlottetown
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Charm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Charm Inn

Address: 9 Euston St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1V5, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range: £82 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Charm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning B&B in the heart of historic downtown Charlottetown. We are a close walk to all Charlottetown attractions, restaurants, theatre, parks, etc. Rooms all have private bath, cable tv, dvd, wireless high speed internet, private phone, business center available with computer, fax, printer, copier. Full breakfast included, personal friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Colonial Charm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Charm Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing