We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves Excellent Rating”
Review of Colonial Charm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colonial Charm Inn
Ranked #2 of 44 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed two nights while touring around the island in June. The location is perfect with easy walks downtown and around the boardwalk and gardens. Shelley is an informative host who will send you to the best destinations based on your interests. Our room was a queen on the ground floor and it featured a huge bathroom, comfortable bed and convenient desk area, with strong wifi available throughout the property. We parked on the side street one night and in front the other. Maybe a little too florally for my taste, my wife loved the decor. Breakfast was very good, one day we had French toast, another day quiche. Despite its age, this place is well tended by Shelley, who has managed the property for 19 years. Good job and highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pfefmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

May 28 2014

A beautiful B & B with a with a very homely atmosphere. True to its name, the place, indeed, has a colonial charm. My husband and I simply fell in love with the place.

The location was perfect. Just walking distance from down town

The room was very comfortable and neat and clean with an attached bath.
A fusion of old and the new. Colonial style decor and furniture combined with modern facilities.

Hospitality was excellent.Shelley was a wonderful hostess. Service with a smile. She was ever ready to help us out with anything.
Our flight out from PEI was quite early but she made sure that breakfast was ready before we left and that too delicious french toast from home made bread!

Shelley's knowledge of the town was very helpful and her restaurant recommendation for us vegetarians were spot on.

The breakfasts were delicious and so were the home made cookies, shortbreads and scones that were available at any time of the day.

We really enjoyed our stay at Colonial Charm Inn and would highly recommend it to anyone planning a visit to this beautiful place and looking for place to stay.

Rita and Radha

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitaRadha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This bed and breakfast is in the heart of the historic district. You can walk anywhere you want to go. And we did. Shelley and her brother helped make our stay extremely enjoyable. They are delightful human beings. It was their hospitality that made this a five star place. The house was built almost 100 years ago and although the accommodations were adequate, the bathroom was tiny, as you might expect. The room itself was a good size with a King bed and was nicely furnished with pieces appropriate for the period.

This is a great B and B! Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Our room did not face the street. All rooms facing the street had a porch that you could easily acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here in May 2014 for 1 night. Room was good, had a cool "4-poster" style bed. TV, private bath, and a deck if we wanted to use it (we didn't, as it was raining).

The host, Shelly, was both quite welcoming and a great resource for local information. Her restaurant recommendations were spot on. We were able to check in early, were offered fresh muffins when we arrived, and she suggested a few activities plus an annotated map for our afternoon's entertainment.

Breakfast was good. We were able to choose to sit alone or with other guests, an option we appreciated.

We also enjoyed the chance to talk to Shelly about what life in Charlottetown in particular and Canada in general is like. This is something we appreciate about good B&Bs -- part of the fun of traveling is learning about the lives of others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Shelley, her husband Gary and her brother Reg made our stay in Charlottetown a real pleasure.

We had originally booked 3 nights at Colonial Charm Inn, but we were so impressed with this B&B and the new loft suite, we ended up extending and stayed for 7 nights in total.

The location to down town is perfect. We also walked the board walk quite a few times as its easily accessible.

As a born and raised Islander, Shelley gave us heaps and heaps of advice as a local on where to go on P.E.I, the best routes to take and where to eat.

Breakfasts were a real treat. Every morning we were served with something different and the food was always top notch! We also enjoyed meeting fellow guests within the friendly dining environment.

The history of this building is very interesting and the décor reflects this all in their own elegant ways. Every room is different. Our room was a new addition within the loft which had a modern feel. The bed was the nicest bed I have ever slept in. It was so comfy and absolutely massive. We also enjoyed spending time on our very own spacious balcony.

During our stay, we got to know Shelley, Gary and Reg very well. They felt like good friends to us and we would have a good long chat every day about something, whether it be about P.E.I. or just life in general.

Shelley has hit the mark with Colonial Charm Inn. It’s certainly a professional and well run B&B with very high standards yet very warm and welcoming. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Charlottetown or indeed P.E.I.

There’s one thing for certain, we will return!

Room Tip: The loft room is a modern addition with a private balcony, ensuite, lots of space and the best bed E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamdoestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is a fantastic place and certainly lives up to its name! Shelly is probably the best hostess we have ever encountered on our stays at b&bs. She was warm, bubbly, very, very knowledgable about the area and very passionate about the Inn. Our room was on the main floor and very nicely decorated. The who place gave you a feeling of visiting friends! There were homemade cookies in the dining room when we arrived which were very good! The breakfast was one of the best on our trip. This is a true gem of a place with a gem of a hostess.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at the Colonial Charm Inn in July and again in August. When we booked the second time we told Shelley we were coming back to enjoy Chef Jeff's breakfast again! However, she told us that Jeff was just filling in and breakfast is usually made by her brother. No worries, it was delicious as well! GLUTEN FREE FRIENDLY!!!! :)

On our first visit we stayed in the newly renovated loft suite (3rd floor). It is huge! On our second visit we stayed in a main floor room with a big 4 poster bed and full of antiques. I personally prefer the smaller, antique room. Both were clean and luxurious. Now we have to go back and try a second floor room.

The inn is conveniently located in walking distance of downtown, the Confederation Centre, & the waterfront.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan210662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dundee Arms Inn
Dundee Arms Inn
#13 of 23 in Charlottetown
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Cornwall
446 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.2 mi away
Shipwright Inn
Shipwright Inn
#3 of 44 in Charlottetown
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Charm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Charm Inn

Address: 9 Euston St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1V5, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range: £85 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Charm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning B&B in the heart of historic downtown Charlottetown. We are a close walk to all Charlottetown attractions, restaurants, theatre, parks, etc. Rooms all have private bath, cable tv, dvd, wireless high speed internet, private phone, business center available with computer, fax, printer, copier. Full breakfast included, personal friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Colonial Charm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Charm Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing