We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service!”
Review of Colonial Charm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colonial Charm Inn
Ranked #3 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Innkeeper Shelly and chef Reggie are the most hospitable hosts I've ever met. They truly went above and beyond to ensure our comfort and convenience. The location is an easy walk to the downtown area. Breakfast was delicious. No great views but a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Colonial Charm Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

As the name of the B&B, this is really a charming place. Very welcoming and a great host, not to mention their fantastic breakfast. A lovely 5 minute walk from trendy restaurants and shops. The place to stay if you are in Charlottetown.
Lovely room as well!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RiaA855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A perfect stay at the colonial Charm Inn , This year we decide to stay 4 nights , because 3 night was just not enough , we always have a good time at this B & B . We meet and make new friends every time we go there. We arrived at 17;00 and Reg was there waiting for us. We had reserved the beautiful Herbert William Loft , it was as perfect as the last time , with the balcony that overlook Euston street with the beautiful view . Next morning Shelley was there to greet us for a delicious breakfast . Shelley and her team , Reg , Kico are like family for us and they treat everybody like this . This is the place to stay in Charlottetown , close to town and restaurant .

Thanks to all for a great stay .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pitre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had an amazing time at this very special place in Charlottetown. We were treated like family and when 3 of the 4 of us caught a flu, we really were treated like family - with Reg tending to our needs of tea and toast and even providing us with an extra night's accommodation cause we were still unable to travel. Thought they would show us the door when we caught the bug, but they went above and beyond to make us a comfortable as possible until we felt better. Shelley and Reg are as warm and wonderful as their B and B. Can't say enough good things about our stay there. Thanks and I hope to see you again one day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atroje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in the Loft. It was perfect. The suite is a good size with a king size bed, small couch, a desk for working, fridge, microwave and a sink. There is a little balcony to sit out on and enjoy the sun. You may also smoke out there too. The free Wi-Fi works reasonably well. Everything is newly renovated and very clean.

I honestly can't think of anything really negative to review so I'll be a little nit picky. 1) the TV reception and selection is poor. Saw the same at another hotel on the island too so I presume TV service in PEI is awful. Fortunately we didn't watch a lot of TV. 2) I would have liked to have the choice of eggs at breakfast but that's likely my fault for not asking, as the hosts are very accommodating. 3) I hit my head a few times (being a loft) and the end of the bed is a killer when you bang into it. I have the bruises to prove it.

The rating on TripAdvisor is high and deservingly so. The hotel is within easy walking distance of downtown. It is located in a beautiful neighborhood. The street is busy during the day. At night it is very quiet and it appears safe to walk around town at any time, despite several homeless people that camp out at corners begging for food and money. There is ample parking at the hotel out front and back. The building is nearly a 100 yrs old but well maintained. Fitting to its name the rooms are charming, and look like you are stepping back in time to the 1930s. The loft where we were is more modern.

This was the first B&B we have stayed at and it was the perfect introduction for this kind of accommodation. Thank you so much Shelly and Reggie for a wonderful stay and making us feel at home.

Room Tip: The loft is more modern and large for an extended stay. The front rooms with the large balconies ar...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WarningU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A Bed and Breakfast type inn with Excellent Host, Super fantastic Breakfasts, Comfortable, clean rooms. Reasonable rates.

Had a great stay here and we were treated like family.

Reggie (aka Richard ;) is an awesome cook! Make sure you ask him to bake you his cinnamon cake, as well as his frittata, and candied bacon! ...hmmm or one of his strawberry, watermelon, and yogurt smoothies!

Host were also able to recommend some great things to see and do while on the island.

Very highly recommended!

Isabelle and Wes

Room Tip: . They have a room with a private balcony!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Colonial Charm is one of those rare places where one wishes a rating higher than Excellent (5) could be given. We LOVED it and were sorry to leave. The B. & B. is well positioned with easy parking and a comfortable stroll to the city centre. The rooms that we saw each had their own charm (we were in the Hannah Faith room - gorgeous), are tastefully decorated and beautifully maintained. Other highlights included Reg's baking (we so looked forward to our breakfasts), the guest library (including works by the young and talented Hannah Faith), the comfortable sitting areas, the speedy laundry service, the availability of chilled water, the superbly comfortable bed . . . . . . Most of all, we loved the warmth and care that Reg and Shelley show their guests. Thank you SO much.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bluepepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
756 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Charm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Charm Inn

Address: 9 Euston St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1V5, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range: £91 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Charm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning B&B in the heart of historic downtown Charlottetown. We are a close walk to all Charlottetown attractions, restaurants, theatre, parks, etc. Rooms all have private bath, cable tv, dvd, wireless high speed internet, private phone, business center available with computer, fax, printer, copier. Full breakfast included, personal friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Colonial Charm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Charm Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing