We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Centrally Located”

City Gardens Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
City Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at City Gardens B&B and enjoyed our stay. The B&B home is owner's family home. Her children have grown, moved out and owners live in basement of B&B. The main floor is now B&B with upstair bedrooms rented out.

The breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed our stay. The only thing we did not enjoy about our stay, was sharing the bathroom and shower with our others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for City Gardens Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

The B&B is located in a quiet residential area just off the main street (University Ave). We stayed in the King bed room with ensuite.

University Avenue is the main shopping street with lots of big box stores. It was in a good location for touring around PEI because it is outside the downtown core and close to the highway. That said, you have to drive to go downtown, although it's probably a 20 minute walk otherwise.

There is a few parking spots in the front of the property, but we had to park on the street as it was a full house that night. We had no problems parking nearby on the side street.

Carol and her husband live downstairs and the bedrooms upstairs are all for B&B use. Our room was nicely and tastefully decorated and felt very welcoming. The shower was great and worked well. Our room also had a window air conditioning unit. Wifi worked well in the room. The TV had lots of channels and it was a flat screen. The place was very clean.

Breakfast was delicious and Carol made eggs to order. Lots of fruit and wonderful scones. She even pulled out some toys to entertain my two year old while we ate.

We will definitely consider staying here again if we are in PEI. Great value, two thirds of what it costs at a "hotel".

Room Tip: Definitely take the ensuite room, the other rooms need to share a bathroom!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mintchoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. Very homey and delicious breakfast with homemade scones, fresh fruit and eggs. Wonderful and friendly service. We had the king room with it's own bath which was roomy, clean and comfortable. Quiet neighborhood close to shopping and restaurants. Historic Charlottetown was more of a hike and we usually drove.

Room Tip: If you want your own bathroom take the king room. Others share a bath. They don't take credit...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terylynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The city gardens b and b was a nice place to stay. The host was very welcoming and cheerful. She was very accommodating to dietary needs. The rooms had air conditioning for each suite, which was a must in 30 degree heat. The only issue I would have is that there is one bathroom for 3 or 4 rooms to share, with 2 people in each room. I had to wait almost an hour for 2 people to be done showering and using the bathroom just to use it myself. Otherwise great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandywey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 nights here in the ensuite room. Everything was perfect. The bedroom and bathroom were both quite roomy and spotless. Carol runs a very good business and is both professional and very friendly. Not always an easy balancing act but she does it well. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty with fruit, yogurt, homemade scones, eggs to order, cold cereal and toast. A lovely stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed at City Gardens for one night when we were in Charlottetown. We booked the room with a queen bed, but because it was low season Carol upgraded us to the king bedroom.

The room: The room was gorgeous and so clean. The bathroom was spacious and the stand-up shower was really good. There was satellite TV in the room as well.

Service: I wanted some tea at one point and asked my bf to go make a cup for me. He came back with a tray with a tea pot, tea cup, milk and biscuits for me and said that Carol made it for him.

Location: we had a car so it was convenient for us to go anywhere. Downtown (where the Legislative House was) was about a 5 minute drive. Carol said it would be about a 20 minute walk. The B&B was also close to fast food places (Tim horton's, McDonalds, KFC, etc) and grocery stores.

Breakfast: lots of variety, including cereal, toast, scone, yogurt, fruit, and Carol made eggs for us as well.

Overall, very happy with our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jygu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Carol did an outstanding job of making guests feel comfortable and welcome. Carol makes really nice scones for breakfast and eggs any way you want. We got the room with en-suite bathroom. Very spacious with new flat screen TV and good internet service. City Gardens is only 2 blocks from the water and a short drive to downtown. Met some wonderful people at the inn and shared travel stories.

Room Tip: 3 rooms share a bath and one room has its own bath.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
1.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
643 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spillett House
Spillett House
#22 of 43 in Charlottetown
21 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Water Suites
#5 of 17 in Charlottetown
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ace Bed and Breakfast
Ace Bed and Breakfast
#42 of 43 in Charlottetown
2 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cranford Inn
The Cranford Inn
#4 of 43 in Charlottetown
376 reviews
1.8 mi away
Corrigan's Bed & Breakfast
Corrigan's Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 43 in Charlottetown
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Gardens Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Gardens Bed and Breakfast

Address: 114 Nassau St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 2W7, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Hotel Class:3 star — City Gardens Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
City Gardens Bed And Breakfast Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing