We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“everything and more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charlottetown Backpackers Inn
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“everything and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

This was the best hostel we stayed in on our eastern canada roadtrip. The staff were all friendly and willing to help with anything. The location was great. Beds and amenities were all great, kitchen had everything we needed. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    17
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
6
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. It's in a great location--just a few minutes' walk from downtown Charlottetown--in a converted house on a residential street. Downstairs are a couple of dorm-style rooms, a big kitchen (where you can cook your own food--they also include breakfast in your room rate), and a common room with free internet, a flat-panel TV, and lots of books and movies and board games.

Upstairs are more bedrooms and three bathrooms. One is dorm-style and two are regular bathrooms, one reserved just for women. Fantastic--spacious and private! There's also a loft with private rooms.

Outside is a detached garage with a pool table, a record collection, guitars for the musically inclined, and a beer fridge. That's where the cool people hang out. Also, you can rent bicycles at the hostel, and it's just a short ride to the Confederation Trail.

The staff was really friendly--it was so nice to be recognized and greeted every time I walked in the door. It felt like a close-knit family environment, and I really enjoyed the evenings spent in the common room, playing games or watching TV with the other travellers.

I don't know if I'll ever make it back to PEI, but I would definitely stay here again. If all hostels were like this one, I would never stay in a hotel again.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Our 4 night stay, in the hostel were among the most enjoyable of our 3 week trip around the Maritimes. Staff were always kind, patient and very helpful. They provided a complimentary breakfast every morning, including fresh baked banana bread. With the possibility of an airline strike looming, which would have affected our plans, we were pleased to discover the room had a TV, to keep us up to date with developments. Free internet access was also welcome. Unless you intend to visit during late autumn or winter, when the hostel is closed, make a point of booking in at Hillsborough Street.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homeandabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

It's ok.
Loved the fact that they had comfy beds. Rest all was pretty usual. I am not sure what the ranting and ravings are about....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank empyrean28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
regina, sk
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

This hostel was an unreal deal and an amazing place to stay. Everything from the warm welcome to the homemade banana bread for breakfast to the friendly staff and owner make you love the place. The bedding was premium and completely exceeded my expectations. The whole home was perfect for travellers with tons of room, books, games, movies, free computer access. a barbecue and lots of outdoor seating. It's located less than a 5 min. walk from the water and downtown and they are great with directions. It's so nice to see an independent hostel like this one ran by someone with a passion for travel and hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelaholic_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

It's familiar, friendly, very well located, had an awesome 2010 staff and it's clean! I wanted to stay 1 night but ended up staying 10 nights.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MooseTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

I really liked this place and all the staff were very obliging and fun to be around. The hostel was easy to check into, the rooms very clean and reasonably spaceous. I especially liked the complementry internet access and breakfast - these were the things that made my stay especially pleasent.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dora_an_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.6 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Prince Edward
0.2 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
#19 of 23 in Charlottetown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlottetown Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlottetown Backpackers Inn

Property: Charlottetown Backpackers Inn
Address: 60 Hillsborough St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4W1, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Charlottetown Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlottetown Backpackers Inn Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing