We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charlottetown Backpackers Inn
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The inn was clean and well kept. Guests are always happy and having fun and the employees are very helpful. good price, good breakfest and great location.
There was lots to do around the hostel and everyone that worked for the hostel knew their stuff. This house was like a home to me and i will be coming back and bringing more people.
PEI is amazing and the hostel was just the perfect addition to my stay.
Thank you to the staff and amazing guests. I loved it!!!

Room Tip: i loved the mixed dorm. its spacious and you meet men and woman. good times in room 3!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasty_Dreadlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

HI Charlottetown is a quaint little heritage home with great staff. Well located close to the waterfront and minutes from nightlife.We felt very safe at all times. The garage is a great 1970s lounge area with pool table & vinyl records. Will stay here again the next time we come by PEI.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVHeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Spent two nights here in the private room. Staff and volunteers were very friendly and helpful--even went out of their way to provide breakfast when we had to leave early. Our schedule did not allow us to socialize as much, but they had nice indoor and outdoor spaces for doing so. Close to Visitor's Center, shops, restaurants, laundromat.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jp2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The staff were very friendly and knowledgable. If they did not know an answer to your question, they would find out and surprise you with the answer the next time they saw you. I slept in the girls attic dorm, up two flights of stairs (narrow); with four beds in the room, it was quite crowded and although the fans were going all night, it was quite warm. The bed was comfortable, bathrooms clean and although there was a full house, I did not have to ever wait to use the toilet or shower. People were very conscious of keeping quiet after 11 PM. And early in the morning. A cozy hostel with interesting furnishings. I loved the mermaid decals.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

As soon as we pulled up, we knew this one was a winner. Fun and friendly, this hostel is one of the best I've stayed in, with lots of room for hanging out. The rooms were pretty standard for HI hostels, and the staff were very friendly. I really liked the bathrooms, as they were very private. Breakfast was pretty basic (toast, coffee, fruit, banana bread), but definitely enough for us. The location was great -- 2 minute walk to the restaurants/pubs, but far enough away to be quiet at night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This was the best hostel we stayed in on our eastern canada roadtrip. The staff were all friendly and willing to help with anything. The location was great. Beds and amenities were all great, kitchen had everything we needed. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. It's in a great location--just a few minutes' walk from downtown Charlottetown--in a converted house on a residential street. Downstairs are a couple of dorm-style rooms, a big kitchen (where you can cook your own food--they also include breakfast in your room rate), and a common room with free internet, a flat-panel TV, and lots of books and movies and board games.

Upstairs are more bedrooms and three bathrooms. One is dorm-style and two are regular bathrooms, one reserved just for women. Fantastic--spacious and private! There's also a loft with private rooms.

Outside is a detached garage with a pool table, a record collection, guitars for the musically inclined, and a beer fridge. That's where the cool people hang out. Also, you can rent bicycles at the hostel, and it's just a short ride to the Confederation Trail.

The staff was really friendly--it was so nice to be recognized and greeted every time I walked in the door. It felt like a close-knit family environment, and I really enjoyed the evenings spent in the common room, playing games or watching TV with the other travellers.

I don't know if I'll ever make it back to PEI, but I would definitely stay here again. If all hostels were like this one, I would never stay in a hotel again.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 24 in Charlottetown
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 24 in Charlottetown
671 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Cornwall
447 reviews
2.5 mi away
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites
#18 of 24 in Charlottetown
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlottetown Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlottetown Backpackers Inn

Address: 60 Hillsborough St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4W1, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Charlottetown
Price Range: £27 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Charlottetown Backpackers Inn Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing