We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flies”

Lobster-On-The-Wharf Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 260 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Price range: US$12 - US$31
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are located at 2 Prince St. Wharf in historic Charlottetown, PEI. You cannot get any closer to the water with over half our dining area being over the water at high tide. Lobster On The Wharf specializes in a wide variety of seafood and has great options for the landlovers and kids as well. We have more outdoor seating than anywhere else on PEI. Lobster On The Wharf also does private functions and special occassions. With our adjacent seafood market the fresh seafood might as well be taken straight out of the sea or off the boat!
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Too many flies for eating dinner. We had the Steak and lobster and got a lobster tail the size of a large crayfish. Disappointed to say the least. The steak was alright but overall the experience here was sad as the flies were enjoying my meal more than I was. Never had that many flies attend a dinner since camping when I was a child.

1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Owner at Lobster-On-The-Wharf Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

James,
I apologize that there were some flies bothering you during your meal. Were you sitting outside by chance. If you were inside there are a few doors that need to stay open so it is possible to get a couple inside. I have asked the staff to be vigilant on limiting the number of flies that do get inside, but on such a social form we would appreciate if you didn't exaggerate quite so much.

Thanks,
Steven Larkin
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 440 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great location, especially if you sit outside on the waters edge. Efficient and friendly staff who return to the table frequently to ensure everything is correct. Not the cheapest meal I have ever eaten but - Lobster to die for. Maybe we were lucky (although I doubt it) and just had the perfect day to eat lobster but somehow I get the impression this restaurant knows how to do lobster. I will certainly return on my next visit to Charlottetown

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank QCBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Owner at Lobster-On-The-Wharf Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thanks for the great comments about our lobster here at Lobster on the Wharf. With our seafood market next door that uses real salt water, not a simulated aquarium with chemicals environment, we are able to deliver truly fresh lobster. We are glad that you enjoyed everything and we do hope to see you on you're next visit to Charlottetown.

Thanks,
Steven Larkin
Owner/Operator
Lobster on the Wharf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We came here to get fresh seafood to cook at our accommodation. The service was good and the seafood was fresh. Definitely a place I would come to get seafood - beats going to the grocery store!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Owner at Lobster-On-The-Wharf Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Picking up mussels from our fresh seafood market definitely beats going to the grocery store and we can usually beat their price as well. Thanks for the props on Tripadvisor.

Thanks,
Steven Larkin
Owner/Operator
Lobster on the Wharf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Food was good, but the noise level caused by 2 kids at the next door table ruined the dining experience not just for us but for other 2 couples seated in the same room.
Suggestion for the Host or Hostess - seat the families with small kids in one area and mature couples (whose kids are adults) in another area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Owner at Lobster-On-The-Wharf Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Tanya,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at Lobster on the Wharf. It would certainly be easier to put any noisier tables in one area if we knew which ones would be loud. Unfortunately it is difficult to put all families with small kids in one area since they often require a table bigger than a 4 top. We appreciate you commenting on the great food and hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Steven Larkin
Owner/Operator
Lobster on the Wharf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Great spot on wharf, food disappointing , stale buns, chowder pasty? Mussels dry, no sauce but with sand . Oysters small but the clams were good. Sautéed Scallops not prepared correctly, must be inexperienced kitchen staff . Recommend for drinks and apps only,

1  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Owner at Lobster-On-The-Wharf Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Sorry that everything wasn't up to your expectations. If you ordered the steamed mussels then there is no sauce on them, but rather melted butter on the side. I might recommend ordering the large oysters if you find the small ones too small and we would like to hear how the scallops were not prepared correctly for we are a little perplexed about this. We look forward to hearing back from you. I have attached my email and look forward to hearing back from you.

Steven Larkin
Owner/Operator
slarkin@lobsteronthewharf.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lobster-On-The-Wharf Restaurant also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Lobster-On-The-Wharf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing