We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Students at the top of their game.”

Lucy Maud Dining Room
Ranked #29 of 252 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Lucy Maud Dining Room is the training restaurant for The Culinary Institute of Canada. Our students, under the guidance of world class chef instructors, prepare extraordinary culinary creations using the very best the fields and waters of PEI have to offer. The Lucy Maud Dining Room, the Institute’s fine dining restaurant, and the Montgomery Cafeteria, are undergoing significant upgrades as part of a $7.5 million renovation and expansion project. We will re-open to the general public in November 2017 with a fresh new look. The renovation and expansion to The Culinary Institute of Canada was made possible by investments from the Federal and Provincial governments, and a capital campaign led by the Holland College Foundation, called Nourish.
Summerside, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Students at the top of their game.”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I believe Gordon Ramsay would delight in this experience............
We certainly have each time we've been for dinner...
Call for hours as they work with the students schedules.
Seating begins at 6 pm.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margie1489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    29
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Local flavours wonderful”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Small class and everyone got to know each other. Chef made sure everyone got individual attention and the feast we all cooked was so delicious

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alovesrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best view in town”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Great food cooked by graduates of the institute. Real quality and silver service. Restaurant has great view of the harbour and lovely sunset if the weather plays ball! We had the table d'hôtel menu for $50 which was 4 courses plus bread with dips and an amuse bouche to start. We were there on the last night. It closes now until the new students arrive in October.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hjrpwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Incredible Ambiance and Delicious Food”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The food was exquisite. My duck was delicious. My wife had and loved the beef tenderloin. The couple we shared dinner with the roasted chicken with clam appetizers. The ocean view was incredible with the evening sun. This is a must!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne901904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Above and beyond....”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We vacation in PEI each summer, but, this year was the first time for friends of ours one of which has special dietary restrictions. Each year we visit the college as this is my favorite dining room in Charlottetown but a special person at the college made our night out with friends even more enjoyable!

I contacted the college through email and explained the dietary requests required for a friend of ours and Celeste C went above and beyond to ensure the menu was taken care of to ensure our friend was able to enjoy a remarkable culinary experience just like the rest of us. As always, the food was amazing, the service was outstanding and the entire night was a success!

All of the staff at the college are so friendly and welcoming, but Celeste set the bar for outstanding service and care for someone she didnt know which says so much towards how incredible she is towards her position and as a person.

Thank you Celeste!! We look forward to seeing you again next summer!!

Matt and Dave
Tarin and Mike

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MateoTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucy Maud Dining Room also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Lucy Maud Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing