We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buck-A-Shuck!”
Review of Olde Dublin Pub

Olde Dublin Pub
Ranked #7 of 249 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Queen Street
Description: Located upstairs from the Claddagh Oyster House the Olde Dublin Pub is PEI's only authentic Irish Pub. Offering great pub food and a large selection of domestic and import draft in a friendly restaurant setting. The best in maritime entertainment can be seen every Thursday, Friday & Saturday nights - 7 nights a week during the summer months. THE MOST FOOT STOMPIN' FUN YOU'LL HAVE IN PEI
Bragg Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Buck-A-Shuck!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Went for buck-a-shuck before heading for dinner elsewhere. Enjoyed a dozen local fresh oysters each with a couple of pints of Guinness. Great value at a dollar per oyster, and super fresh. Get there between 4.00 and 6.00pm for this treat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    149
    54
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, NH
Level Contributor
325 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Noisy & Crowded”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Saw the good Trip Advisor reviews and the oyster specials ($1/per before 6 pm), so we gave it a shot. Very crowded at 6 pm on a Monday, many families w/young kids also made for a noisy environment. Tables were quite close together, kids running between. Server asked if we wanted drinks, but there was no drink menu on our table, so we asked for a few minutes. We spotted a drink menu on another table, grabbed it and saw they had local PEI wines by the 1/2 liter, two choices. We ordered a 1/2 liter, specified the type, and were served the other one. Waitress was very busy with the evening rush, took our order, and only had a chance to check back w/us once, and that was a cursory pass by. When we were done, another server brought our bill, we tried to flag our waitress down to pay by credit card, but she was busy w/another table. We found out we had to go up to the bar to pay by credit card, but the waitness hadn't 'checked us out', so we had to wait to pay. Other tables around us received their bills later than we did, paid sooner and were gone. By this time the evening rush was over, and perhaps we would have had better service if we came later, but this was not a good dining experience for us.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NH_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fast Service and Good Ole Bar Food!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Fast friendly service and a large menu with a variety of items. Nothing fancy, but the food was well prepared. They have live music and lots of beer! :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank iReign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Pub and seafood”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you like Irish drinks and music, this is a good place to have a relaxed meal. The platters are delicious and go well with beer, ales and Irish whiskies. Nice place to socialize.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SANTOSH G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bancroft, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Alright”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have been to this pub before and it used to be a favourite. The large selection of beer and the Irish pub feel were the big draws but that has changed. There is now more a feeling of a family style restaurant. The food was fine but rather ordinary. Condiments are served in plastic pouches on the side of your meal. The beer selection is more limited than it used to be. The service was fine. While we did not stay to hear it this time, there is live entertainment most nights. If you are looking for an ordinary meal in a place where little ones are welcome, you will probably be quite satisfied. The old Irish pub experience, however, is gone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olde Dublin Pub also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Olde Dublin Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing