We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced ... Ok food”
Review of Silver Streams Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Silver Streams Restaurant
Restaurant details
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced ... Ok food”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stopped in for a quick lunch. Not a lot of selection, but just your average chinese food. Only 1 server handling water and taking of dirty plates. I will say it was priced accordingly. Staff should have replenished the food a bit quicker at the buffet stand.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonshaw, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The last time we were there, a lady came in with a guide dog. She took a lot of food and fed the dog from her plate and what she didn't want, she put back in the buffet. When we informed the staff about what we saw, we were yelled at. Will never go there again. We always had birthday parties and special events there but never again.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank bcjoslin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's Chinese food, what would you expect?”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This restaurant has been shut down for various health codes over the years, but which Chinese restaurant in town hasn't. So with that said, you know you are going to get reheated food that isn't that good and the chance of food poisoning.
I go to this place because they actually serve chicken soo guy on the buffet and it is done right. I am an addict when it comes to soo guy so no matter how many health code violations they break I cannot help myself from going back. Besides the soo guy everything else really quite frankly sucks. The egg rolls, rice, ribs all gross, but the Chicken Soo Guy is fantastic.
I know I have problems and need help with my addiction, I feel ashamed everytime I eat here, but until the other places make it as good I am stuck going here to get it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travcan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“we wont go back”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

both in our party had terrible stomachs, up all night from the wonderful fresh food(haha0 .

Helpful?
Thank MichaelDiningForYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerside, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food tasted aweful, like iodine.”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

My wife and I went on July 12, we notice the food had a terrible flavor like iodine, we only had one plate and at a buffet, around midnight she had chest pains, heart attack? Called 911 took her to hospital, found out it was gall bladder never had a problem before, must have been brought on by the food, they must reheat it again and never fresh. Will never go back. Called owner she hardly understands you, and says sorry, sorry.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neily74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Streams Restaurant also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing