We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant!”
Review of Hunter's Ale House

Hunter's Ale House
Ranked #27 of 268 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Pub style restaurant with large patios flanking the corner property. Menu includes many variations on classic pub favorites (ask for the chicken curry nachos). Dine in and enjoy live entertainment nightly in the heart of beautiful downtown Charlottetown.
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I ate there twice on our honeymoon and were very happy each time. You get great value for your food and everything was delicious. The atmosphere was very relaxed, as well, and the servers very friendly.

Thank seafoodlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glynn J, Public Relations Manager at Hunter's Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

First off, we would like to congratulate you on your marriage! Thank you so much for visiting us at Hunter's Ale House while you were on your honeymoon! We are ecstatic to hear about your positive experience - hopefully, you were here while the weather was beautiful so you could enjoy our large patio! We hope to see you on your next visit to Prince Edward Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 256 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We loved hunters so much we went twice in our 3 day visit! Why? Best priced pub food in Charlottetown. Our meals were delicious and the portions were INSANE. They have a huge patio and they are very centrally located. I would have liked to see a few more unique drink options. Also, we are a pretty laid back couple when it comes to dinning, so we don't mind food taking a little while longer as long as its good when it arrives. We were a little disappointed when our nachos arrived and the cheese was just a big clump in the middle, leaving only a few chips to actually have cheese on them. It's definitely a more laid back style. Not the place if you aspect fast service and to be waited on hand a foot. Make sure to check out the salad and soup bar! A great spot for sure!

Thank empace48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glynn J, Public Relations Manager at Hunter's Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience at Hunter's Ale House! We are so sorry to hear that you had to wait quite awhile for your food and your nachos weren't up to par! We will be sure to work on that so it's an even better experience next time you visit! Thank you for taking the time to let us know where we can improve! We hope to see you during your next visit to the Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our hotel recommended this the first night we arrived in PEI. I had the best lobster roll ever. It was about a foot long and just full of delicious lobster. The portions are huge here. If you order a baked potato as a side they give you 2. We went again and had steak and a nice salad bar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bilasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glynn J, Public Relations Manager at Hunter's Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us at Hunter's Ale House! We hope you had an amazing vacation here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Patio closes at 11pm, but the place is open until 2am. Pretty place to eat and have fun. Live music band inside.

Thank Flor d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glynn J, Public Relations Manager at Hunter's Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We ate here on a rainy evening, which made the pub like interior very inviting. We sampled local craft beer and had a steak and lobsters special, all were very tasty. It was also an easy walk from the Best Western, which was pleasant after driving all day. Definitely two thumbs up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glynn J, Public Relations Manager at Hunter's Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We are so happy to hear you loved our cozy little atmosphere at Hunter's Ale House - we like it too! We hope you had a great time visiting our quaint Province - we can't wait to see you next time you visit! Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunter's Ale House also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Hunter's Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing