We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Home Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Summerside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Island Welcome”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Amazing! My mother and I stayed with Patrick and Anne and could not have been happier with our stay. In Summerside for just one night, we wished we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the charming rooms, the amazing breakfasts, and the great conversation with our hosts. If all visitors to PEI received the same welcome as we did, no one would ever leave!

Some specifics: the three b&b rooms in the house are separate from the main living quarters, so if necessary you could rent all three rooms (with their well-appointed three bathrooms) and have your own private apartment. The rooms are up a narrow flight of stairs, so anyone with serious mobility issues may want to consider an alternative location. Parking is in the driveway (not on the street as with many b&b's) and the house is an easy walking distance to the downtown area of Summerside. Reservations are completed over the phone or via e-mail. They offer a "single traveller's rate" so anyone traveling solo should consider taking advantage of this lower rate.

Room Tip: The Island Room has its own private balcony, and the Prince Room has an ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MommaScams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
77
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed two nights with hosts Anne & Patrick, the location was perfect in the little town of Summerside. Patrick loves to cook, his breakfasts were as scrumptious as they were beautiful. He gave us great ideas to see Prince Edward Island during our short visit. The Prince room was very comfortable with bay windows and sea breezes it was the best night sleep we have had all this trip. I would highly recommend the Island Home to anyone staying on PEI, hopefully some day we will come back again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NannyMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

An amazing little sanctuary! I took a solo trip here just to get away from the craziness of life for a weekend, and it was unbelievable. I stayed in the Prince room, and loved the decor so much I re-did my own room to look just like it.

Wonderful, clean, welcoming, charming...there are not enough positive adjective to describe this place. Anne and Patrick are wonderful hosts, and Patrick makes the BEST breakfasts!

A must if you're travelling to PEI--nevermind the hotels in Charlottetown, or the ones scattered across Summerside. This place is where it's at.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Anne welcomed us and immediately made us feel at home. We stayed in the Prince room and appreciated the space as well as the thoughtful touches in the bedroom and bathroom. Anne and Patrick gave us great suggestions for our day's outings which helped us to enjoy our visit to PEI to the max. The breakfasts were always full of delightful surprises and reflected their attention to detail.
Island Home Bed and Breakfast is perfectly located to serve as a base to tour the island from Charlottetown to the North Cape, to the West Cape.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteRockBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHITECOURT ALB
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Another 5 star B&B on our Atlantic tour. The separate entrance led to our (very) nice room and bathroom. Nicely decorated, the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful and the company interesting. Within walking distance to town and restaurants, we would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Growe53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Wonderful one night stay at the Island Home B&B in Summerside. Our only regret was wasting a night in Charlottetown instead of spending two nights here! Beautiful, clean, inviting home with terrific hospitality. Pat and Anne, our hosts, were marvelous and the breakfast was scrumptious.
If we ever are fortunate enough to return to PEI, we will stay for a week and make the Island Home our home, trust me.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenThaerHorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was more than a place to rest your head for one night. It was an experience in warm and inviting hospitality, beautiful home, large clean comfortable room with a balcony where we sat and enjoyed the peaceful setting. While relaxing I read comment after comment praising their stay in the room's guest book. I wish I could remember all the comments to write them here as they were all excellent. One thing that stood out the most was the breakfast reviews. I wanted breakfast that night it sounded so delicious. I was not disappointed the breakfast that Pat made was gourmet. I even asked him if he was a chef or had a cookbook (he really should write a cookbook). Island Home B&B is on Facebook and so are some of his recipes. We were only passing through Summerside but we would have liked to stay longer. Thanks Pat for a wonderful B&B experience and we will for sure be booking again on our next trip to PEI but staying for more than one breakfast!

Room Tip: I only saw the room we stayed in but the other guests that joined us for breakfast said their rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerside hotels
0.2 mi away
Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf
2.9 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Traveller's Inn
Traveller's Inn
#7 of 14 in Summerside
153 reviews
3.5 mi away
Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Summerside Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Home Bed and Breakfast

Property: Island Home Bed and Breakfast
Address: 44 Spring St, Summerside, Prince Edward Island C1N 3E2, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Summerside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Summerside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Home Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 44 Spring St. In the historic district of Summerside, Prince Edward Island, the Island Home Bed and Breakfast offers its guests 3 beautiful rooms year-round. Hosts Sarah, Aaron and son Emmett are pleased to welcome you to their lovely home and can't wait to share the love for the Island with you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Island Home Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing