We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Room / Bad Service”
Review of Traveller's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Traveller's Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Our stay at the Econo lodge was the worst hotel stay I have ever had. I have traveled to many countrys and I was suprised to see a hotel so close to home being the worst. Our room was dirty, we had to find a room attendent to clean our room. After they left we still found dirt and an empty beer bottle left over from who know's when. We took the kids to the so called heated pool. The pool water was so cold the kids could not stay in it. The next day when we checked out we complained to the clerk at the desk and they just said it was too bad. The hotel staff were all smoking at the main entrance so we were forced to exit from another door.

When we returned home I emailed the corporate office. They were quick to point out that the hotel was privately owned and they had nothing to do with it. I emailed management at the Summerside location and received a letter in the mail about three weeks later indicating that they would do nothing about our poor service during out stay.

I would never recomend this place to my worst enemy. The staff were complete idiots and should not be allowed anywhere near the hospitality industry. They do not represent the island well at all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FireFighterCompany2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2010

Had a wonderful stay Sunday night. The staff were great and the Continental Breakfast the next morning had such a great variety. Such big and bright rooms, comfortable beds and very reasonable prices. Have enjoyed every trip to the Island when at this motel, always look forward to next time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djcorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Stayed there on June 15th and was more then happy with my stay. The staff were great and offered lots of information on what to do and what to see. The restaurant was VERY clean and the food excellent. Their continental breakfast offered much more then other places we have stayed. They even kept the pool open a little longer for us since we got back to the hotel just before they closed. Our sleep was very good and the beds comfortable.
Overall I have to say we enjoyed our stay and WILL be staying there again in Aug when we come over for a wedding.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halifaxguy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

the Econolodge was an awesome place to stay! We had a great night sleep and then had a free cont'l breakfast which had so much to choose from. I would recommend this stay for anyone, it was a great price and the location was in the middle of everything!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frankie006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

After we checked into this motel we decided we could not stay there and tried to find other accomodations but the Canada Games were taking place and everything was full.
The bathroom stunk, sheets were so thin that the mattresses were visible. We both wound up with rashes on our legs, at the time we thought it might be the detergent that was used to wash the bedding but now I think it may have been bed bugs. I reported this place to the tourist bureau in Charlottetown and to the Health Dept. It looks like they are still in business although I would caution anyone planning to stay there to be aware

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
3  Thank stromboliCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

It is very shabby and in desperate need of renovation. The beds were ancient - very low to floor, greyish colour and dented. The sheets are very thin. We recommend anyone who stops here makes a point to view the room before paying the too-high price. Our standards are pretty moderate but this hotel did not meet them at all. Too bad - gave us a bad feeling for Charlottetown altogether.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NubbieBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

When we first checked in our phone was not working, after two trips to the front desk we were given another one which was dirty but worked. The air conditioner was not working in our room so finally at 12:30 am we called the front desk to get someone to look at it. There was no one answering the phone at the front desk so after three tries we got dressed and went to the desk to complain. The lady at the desk said we probably didn't have it set properly...hard to do since the controls had "white out" covering the instructions. Anyway after the staff tried unsucessfully to set the air conditioner we were offered a fan. I requested we be moved to another room. It took 20-30 minutes for them to locate another room for us so when we moved it was probably around 1:30 am. The air conditioner in this room was also broken! We spent a hot night getting little sleep with a fan. In the morning we went to the continental breakfast. It was very unappealing. The tables were sticky and hadn't been wiped off. Very limited selection, only white bread for toast and no fresh fruit...not even a banana. We left taking only a coffee and went elsewhere for breakfast. There were pamphlets in our room offering 100% satisfaction with your stay or your money back. When I complained to the owner I was brushed off and told the best they would offer was 10% off our next stay....we would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank traveller9678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerside
1.2 mi away
Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf
2.6 mi away
Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Causeway Bay Hotel
Causeway Bay Hotel
#8 of 14 in Summerside
106 reviews
4.9 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites
21 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveller's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller's Inn

Address: 80 All Weather Hwy E, Summerside, Prince Edward Island C1N 5L4, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Summerside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Price Range: £53 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Traveller's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 40 unit motel, all on one level. Indoor heated swimming pool. Free continental hot and cold breakfast. Dining room, Bar/ games room. Free unlimited wifi. Free parking. All rooms are conditioned. Meeting & Convention facilities available. Wheelchair access, fully NON-smoking rooms. Pet friendly. 5 minutes away from downtown Summerside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Traveller's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Summerside
Summerside Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing