We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we found this place!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Summerside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clark's Sunny Isle Motel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Summerside
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So glad we found this place!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were on a two week road trip of the Maritimes, and had not made reservations in advance. The Lonely Planet tour book I had (April 2007 edition) recommended this motel. It is easy to find, very clean, friendly proprietors ( who gave us excellent advise on where to go and what to see on the island) with beautiful grounds .We walked to the shore along the path out back. It was a great place to start our hoiday!

Room Tip: 'Out back'- no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    75
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
152
377
20
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My children and I stayed here at the beginning of a long road trip and have stayed in over 20 other hotels the last 3 months. I only feel it's fair to rate this property and in terms of value and quality relative to other properties we've stayed at in the US and Canada.

Although, our room seemed clean, there was a terrible smell inside it. Opening up the windows did absolutely nothing to help. Also, the bathroom seemed to have been recently remodeled, but the space surrounding the toilet was very cramped and the toilet paper holder was in a very awkward place.

We were checked in efficiently, but the man who checked us in wasn't overally friendly. He seemed really tired and perhaps in poor health?

That said, the next morning the older gentleman (the owner) asked me how my stay was.

He seemed very kind and friendly and I just couldn't bring myself to complain and state how dissatisfied I was with the experience.

The room was really "just ok". The bedding seemed rather old and decore was very dated.

Summerside as a city was unremarkable. The dining options there were slim to none. We ended up having to eat at Subway! Shocking considering the gastronomic delights that awaited us in the rest of PEI.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lorijessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tupp, Owner at Clark's Sunny Isle Motel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback Lori Ference. I’m disappointed to hear that you were not fully satisfied. The room that you stayed in was in fact recently fully renovated. These Renovations include new custom furniture, mattresses, TVs, leather chairs, granite counters and new tub surround in the bathroom, as well as new flooring, linens, bedding and décor. The feedback we have received regarding our renovated rooms has been overwhelmingly positive. Just wondering if you may be confusing your décor observations with another property, as your stay with us was three months ago on July 29 and you mention staying at over 20 hotels since then. I wish you would have communicated with us immediately regarding any odor in your room as we would have moved you and your children to another room. Our staff is very diligent in ensuring the rooms are clean and our guests are happy. We are a small family operated business and pride ourselves in offering a quality product at a reasonable price, with friendly, courteous service. If any problems are brought to our attention, they are dealt with immediately. As for comparing us to other hotels, we are not trying to compete with 5 star, $200 a night establishments. We are trying to provide very good value and experience. As you noted, at the time of your arrival in July, I was having some health issues which included severe anemia. When you are a business owner, calling in sick is not always an option and I was pressed into service on a couple of occasions during my illness. This was a challenging time for our family and I regret that it negatively impacted on your experience. Normally I provide guests with information on local attractions and dining options upon check-in. While there may not be an abundance of dining options in Summerside, there are several quality restaurants we recommend which are listed in the Visitor’s Guide and on Trip Advisor. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review.
Myles Clark, Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leduc, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were met by friendly staff including the owner and check in was a breeze! We had a room at the back with a patio and it faced a park like area with walking paths to the water. Very quiet and exceptionally clean and also well decorated! There were two beds; with a choice of a firm or softer mattress! Continental breakfast was included in the cost which was basic but very tasty. It was a very welcomed change from a hotel room!

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room at the back as you have a great view and if travelling with children, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed one night in PEI, but for any length of stay, Clark's Sunny Isle Motel is the place to do it. I booked the room in advance, and check-in was a breeze. Our room was probably the nicest we stayed in on our week-long vacation in Maine and the Maritimes. The upgrades I previously read about were obvious in all features of the room - not just a paint job and new carpet. In our room alone we had our choice of a soft or firm bed, decorations were modern yet homey, there was a nice mini-fridge and microwave, lots of closet space, and the bathroom was completely renovated, too. We're not big on technology and tv, but we couldn't resist turning on the flat screen tv and catching up on some CBC, and if we had an iPod, we definitely would've used the iPod dock. One big selling point for us besides the rates was the walking path out back which we took advantage of as soon as we checked in. The owners must own a large piece of land behind the motel and have kept up a secluded and peaceful walking trail through the woods to the edge of the water. There are two yellow chairs for sitting and relaxing. Closer to the house, the chairs set out in the garden for relaxing show the attention to detail and desire to give guests the opportunity to relax and enjoy their stay. I really wish we had more time to stay and lounge in those garden chairs. The morning we left, we had a couple delicious muffins and coffee, and the owner himself came out to refill our coffee before he put on a fresh pot. When we checked out, he offered us advice on the scenic route to Anne of Green Gables, and this turned out to be the best advice because we passed the Lucy Maude Montgomery museum, a place I wouldn't have known about had we not taken that scenic route. We couldn't have been more pleased with this motel.

Room Tip: Not sure what the un-upgraded rooms are like, but it's worth the few extra bucks to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Euphorbia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
467 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We picked this motel based on the Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. We had a Garden View room (in the back and away from road noise) and these renovated rooms were fantastic. All furnishings and organization are outstanding. While we didn't need 2 queen beds, it was nice to have a choice of a firm or soft bed. The only problem was that one side of each bed is less than a foot from the wall which makes it tricky to get out of the bed on that side and the only other choice is to climb over your partner (could be fun). The owner is very helpful with suggested restaurants and things to see. The breakfast is advertised as continental and it includes juice, milk, two types of pastry, toast and bagels. Pretty basis and my wife needs protein so we had some juice and a pastry item and then went somewhere else for eggs. The grounds are very nice with a gazebo and various chairs and lounges. There is a walk to the beach on the property (20 acres total). The owner is very accommodating with towels, etc. This is a great place to stay in Summerside and it was almost full when we visited in the off season in mid October, so best to reserve far in advance.

Room Tip: Garden View rooms are quieter. Front rooms have a patio in back but could have some road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here for one night - an impromptu stop in Summerside. There happened to be a room available from a cancellation due to a family emergency. The manager told us that he wouldnt charge the previous bookers if someone else took the room. We thought that was a nice gesture. He doodled on a map for us and showed us some places to eat and things to do that evening. His restaurant suggestion did not disappoint! Summerside is a nice quiet place to be and we really enjoyed our day there! The rooms are nicely renovated and are so cute. The room we were in had a soft and firm bed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pusheen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innisfil, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent a week here this summer('13) and enjoyed it very much. Although it doesn't have a lot of extras like swimming and such it is close to most of the tourist stops and is easy to go back and forth for eating and "playing". Clean, family owned motel. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable for answering questions regarding the area. Very basic room for economy minded people or more expensive rooms with more perks. Would definitely go there again. Great location, great price and clean. Don't pass it up on your next trip to PEI!

Room Tip: Rooms around back are quieter. Room at far end (near gazebo) has small balcony for roomier stay and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerside
1.6 mi away
Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside
18.8 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
1.9 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf
3.0 mi away
Traveller's Inn
Traveller's Inn
#5 of 13 in Summerside
144 reviews
4.2 mi away
Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clark's Sunny Isle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clark's Sunny Isle Motel

Property: Clark's Sunny Isle Motel
Address: 720 Water St E, Summerside, Prince Edward Island C1N 4J1, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Summerside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Summerside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 20 acres overlooking Bedeque Bay. Quiet, relaxing grounds feature water view, gardens, trees, picnic tables, cedar gazebo. A beautiful trail leads to our private waterfront. Newly renovated garden/water view units available. All units feature telephones, air conditioning, queen beds, fridges, microwaves, hair dryers, free wireless internet, 32 inch HDTVs with extended cable and some high definition channels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clark`s Sunny Isle Hotel Summerside
Clarks Sunny Isle Hotel
Clarks Sunny Isle Summerside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing