We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CFB Summerside!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Summerside
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“CFB Summerside!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Didn't realize when booking this hotel that these are the converted barracks of the old Canadian Forces Base. The place was clean and comfortable. The restaurant was ok. The food and service were good, but it has all the intimacy of a bowling alley. The rooms are in a couple of buildings. We were in Malpeque 1. At $87 per night, that was about what it is worth. Watched a tube TV for the first time in years.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    29
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
33
19
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Surprised to see how practical this spot is. Very clean and comfortable but not fancy. It was formerly an army base and has that feel to it. Friendly staff and reasonable rates. In winter the main desk is a walk outside but there are telephones in the rooms to call over.

Room Tip: some rooms have kitchens. top floor quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We went to the island for hockey and stayed at Slemon Park Hotel. Our room was $127.68 for one night, not worth $60, maybe. Our room was small, tv very small (bedroom tv), dirty bed and pillow case. Dust on the tv cabinet and stuff thrown in the back of the closet on the shelf, all the floor squeaked in the halls and rooms and the walls were so thin they shook when your next door neighbor closed their door. Quiet time turned out to be shortly after 11pm on a Saturday night. At least one of the other teams that were there Friday night did get quieted down until midnight. Our room wasn't even cleaned/refreshed until around 3pm. Only two young girls cleaning our one building, two floors.

The restaurant was awful. The food took 2.5 hours to arrive at our table, which was so cold the gravy was gelling again. 20 minutes after ordering our waitress just put our order in and out of the four of us three of us had to change our order. The burger and fries were still available but not the fish and chips and the chicken dish. None of the food was good, steak well over cooked and certainly not as ordered.

When asked to speak to the Manager, he did come out, said he would check on things and come back but never did, he stayed out back or where ever to make sure he did not have to deal with his upset customers.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel Link Letter isn't so bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstar1, General Manager at Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Sonya,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the unnsatisfactory inconveniences that you experienced during your stay during the weekend of February 22nd.

The quality of service and food quality that you received from our restaurant was completely unnacceptable. I assure you that this will be discussed with our Food & Beverage Manager for action. The cleanliness issues that you expereinced in your room are completley unnacceptable and I am having our Accommodations Manager address this situation with the Housekeeping Staff.

I appreciate you bringing this to my attention, as we can only make improvement with comments being communicated back to us.

As a gesture I want to send to you a complimentary one night stay to experience a more positive memorable stay during your next visit to our property.

If you can please provide me with your complete name and mailing address, I will then prepare a gift certificate to send out to you.

Yours sincerely,

Kevin Mouflier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Summerside hotels

Mooretown, Ontario
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have stayed here twice while on work training.

It's old (the old CFB Summerside) but was clean. Rooms were spacious and fitted with electric heat. There isn't an elevator to the second floor nor a pool for leisure.

The staff was very pleasant and the restaurant is satisfactory.

No complaints.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coondog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Overall a great stay. These are former barracks so the hotel front desk is a walk from the parking lot and has no elevator which is annoying with baggage. However, the staff were friendly, they accept dogs with no charge and the bed was SUPER comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jelvidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This was kind of like a "bait and switch". The website looked great, but the room I ended up with was... well.. they put a spiffy bedspread on the bed, but this did not hide the fact that the original intent of the building was that of a military barracks. The plumbing moaned and knocked. I have to say that the staff were very friendly and courteous, but next time, for only a few dollars more, I'll stay directly in the town of Summerside.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobFromNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Brookfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

OK, so its renovated barracks setup (former Canadian AIr Force Base), and fairly modern. You can only do so much with the buildings as is, so don't expect a Residence Inn (as example) experience. Be that as it may, its super convenient if you have business at the Airport Park, or want to stay outside of the city center of Summerside. The downtown is but a 5-7 minute drive, and the staff friendly and efficient, but could be more enthusiastic at times. It's like they know they have a captive market in that location. There are no more "housekeeping" or kitchenette units, and all are rooms with a small fridge and coffee maker. The restaurant bar is OK, but sometimes closes too early. The biggest negative is that I feel it's over-priced for what they now offer when compared to the properties just a few minutes away. I gave a I'd give them a 5-star for value (in my opinion) "if" they cut their price by 20 to 25% and that would make it fairly priced for what it is. I've been staying there for a function every year for almost twelve years, and the increases have matched the better chains downtown, but they haven't (can't in some instances because of building design) increased their overall amenities to keep up. They could offer a superb lower room rate "value conscience" plan as a marketing point. For fitness, you can walk a lot around the expansive grounds. I'm giving a Poor in value (overall), but it would be rated Average or above if you're a business traveler working at/for the Aerospace Park or Sports Complex.

Room Tip: Street side rooms (either front or by the parking lot) maybe less desirable.. First floor rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerside
6.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites
1.2 mi away
Traveller's Inn
Traveller's Inn
#5 of 13 in Summerside
144 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside
3.4 mi away
Causeway Bay Hotel
Causeway Bay Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerside
102 reviews
21.4 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 12 Redwood Avenue | Slemon Park, Summerside, Prince Edward Island C0B 2A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Summerside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Summerside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre, the top valued hotel in Summerside, Prince Edward Island. This former Canadian Air Force Military Base has undergone significant infrastructure upgrades and renovations to meet the needs of our Guests Our spacious guest rooms and one & two bedroom family units will make you feel right at home. Our competitive valued rates will suit your budget. Our location on the North Cape Coastal Drive provides you quick access to downtown Summerside and other attractions. Full service hotel including 88 Guest Rooms offering an on-site family restaurant and private airport providing private air tour packages during the summer months. We offer various summer packages and winter specials ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slemon Park Hotel And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing