We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Sagueneenne
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Chicoutimi
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel is generally clean and the staff is really nice. The room was average size and we had no complaints. Our two issues with this hotel were that
1. there is only one slow elevator serving all guests and is also used by staff as a service elevator...so we opted for the stairs many times......
2. The pool is nice but is surprisingly small compared for how it looks in the pictures.

but the location is central and all in all it was OK.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back. The front faces a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. It was nice to hear that the employees exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

I visited the restaurant for a brunch on Sunday Feb 2 and was really surprised to find out buffet food was left on presentation tables, unrefrigerated... no ice, nothing.
This included egg sandwiches, mini-pitas with tuna or chicken salad, cut fruit, vegetables, creamy dips, cut tomatoes, cheese cubes and yogurt.
As for the hot buffet items, they were lukewarm. This included scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, meat tourtiere, beans, crepes and potatoes.
The only thing that was safe to eat was toast and pastries. Not much of a brunch.
For that simple reason I will not return, and will not advise anyone to go eat there. I'm not sure why an eastablishment like this is allowed to operate without basic public hygiene standards.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Vida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear guest,
I reviewed your comments regarding the experience you had at «Restaurant Le Tremblay». We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Be assured that your comments have been heard. We did the appropriate follow up with the food concession owners, and actions have been taken to improve their methods and procedures.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel was better that my previous hotel I stayed at but for the price it could have been much better.

As others mentioned it is dated but still well kept, check in was fast. The restaurant Le Tremblay was good and located in the hotel.

It was a cold night, and the heaters were not keeping up so it was quiet the chilly nights sleep.

Not much else to say about this hotel, its a no frills style hotel .
I feel im going to have to look for awhile to find a really good hotel in the Saguenay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We strive to achieve the complete satisfaction of all our guests. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our location and extensive facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet your expectations, and for that I am truly sorry.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Not sure where to start, staff are friendly, but the hotel is dated, nothing like the pictures that must have been taken some time ago. Room smelt of too much cleaning products and corridors smelt of smoke. Carpets have seen better days. I was there for one night and would not go back.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank c5day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We would like to inform you that in the last 2 weeks we replaced all furnitures of the ground floor rooms and during the last year all rooms of the 2nd floor have also been upgraded. We plan to improve our 2 last floors rooms in 2014. For your next visit, we invite you to ask for one of these rooms.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

when we first arrived we were disappointed with the location which looked like an industrial estate, but the hotel was a lovely and comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful making us feel welcome from the moment we arrived, good facilities for the traveller with a fridge and microwave in each room,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vev48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Hotel La Saguenenne.

Thank you so much for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I've been to this hotel 8 or 9 times. We go there 1 or 2 times a year to visit family.
The rooms need upgrades in some places, but they are still pretty modern and comfortable.

There is a lot of services in this hôtel, more than you can ask for. The pool area make it really enjoyable, thought I would appreciate if they did a bit more control on the kids and people who use the jacuzzi. It would be good also if they repaired one of the two jacuzzi still not working after 3 years in a row.

For the rest, everything is perfect. No bad words. The staff is nice and I have seen a lot of american tourists from New England states who seems to enjoy the place.

I would recommend it to anyone landing in Saguenay for a trip. They even have rooms for smokers, wich is becoming rare in some places.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManOWar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. It was nice to hear that our employees exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

Indeed we occasionally have problems with our spas. Because spas are working with salt water, parts of water heaters wear out prematurely, this kind of parts is impossible to find in the area, we have to order it to an outside supplier. Delivery time can takes up to 10 days. We sincerely apologize for this situation and that is why we examine the feasibility of replacing our two Jacuzzis by a commercial whirlpool bath.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Business trip in the area.

Everything is fine.Check in was fast and front desk personnel is professional However bed in room 327 needs upgrading. Most uncomfortable bed I had in many many stays in hotel rooms around the world.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmontminy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directriceoperations, Director of operations at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review about your stay. Be assured that your comments have been heard and actions have been taken. We asked to our housekeeping department to pay particular attention to mattresses and inform us if there are mattresses that need to be changed so that can be done before the end of the year. For your next stay ask for a first or second floor rooms which have new mattresses.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicoutimi
0.7 mi away
Le Montagnais Saguenay
Le Montagnais Saguenay
#1 of 9 in Chicoutimi
318 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel du Fjord
Hotel du Fjord
#4 of 9 in Chicoutimi
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 9 in Chicoutimi
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Chicoutimi
Hotel Chicoutimi
#7 of 9 in Chicoutimi
153 reviews
5 mi away
Delta Saguenay Hotel and Conference Center
13.2 mi away
L'Auberge des Battures
L'Auberge des Battures
#2 of 2 in La Baie
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Sagueneenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Sagueneenne

Address: 250, Rue des Sagueneens, Chicoutimi, Saguenay, Quebec G7H 3A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean Region > Saguenay > Chicoutimi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Chicoutimi
Price Range: £60 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Sagueneenne 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the urban heart of the Saguenay region, this hotel offers you a tropical escape for all guests with its atrium with salt water pool and 2 hot tubs. Its 118 rooms and suites are comfortable and well equipped where the ever-evolving needs of the modern traveler are attended. Let a professional and experienced personnel take care of every detail to make your stay with us most enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Sagueneenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel La Sagueneenne
Hotel La Sagueneenne Chicoutimi, Saguenay, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing