We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view, friendly staff + DOG FRIENDLY!”
Review of Motel Panoramique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel Panoramique
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chicoutimi
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely view, friendly staff + DOG FRIENDLY!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were touring the Saguenay area and found ourselves in need of lodging. I was very happy that we happened upon Motel Panoramique.

Since we were traveling with our 2 dogs, finding pet friendly lodging was a must. When I went into the reception area of the motel to inquire about the dogs, the woman was extremely friendly, immediately found us a room overlooking the river and informed us that dogs were allowed and that they do not charge extra for them. The check-in process took less than 3 minutes (a record!) and the rate was very reasonable.

The view from the hotel room was great as the motel is right on the waterfront. They have installed several BBQs for guests on site, and have many areas for kids to play outside - sandboxes, toy trucks, etc. and of course a pool.

The room had a small fridge but no microwave or coffee machine. A coffee machine is kind of a deal breaker for me however the woman at the reception area informed me that the reception area is open 24hrs a day so that guests may avail themselves of fresh hot coffee... which we did... at 4:30 a.m.!

If I am ever back in the area I will stay there again! A big thumbs up to the motel, their pet friendly policy and the fantastic staff that work there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the waterfront provide a fabulous view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottie543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    45
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
30
44
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed overnight on a road trip through the area. Great location on the Saguenay River. Friendly front desk staff but decent command of multiple languages. Rooms were clean and contained a small refrigerator. Rooms were on the small side and had double beds. One of the rooms had broken bathroom tiles and it was fairly noisy from people walking in rooms above. It worked great for an overnight stay but not sure I would stay for any longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to find that our room (302) was basically an ensuite type of room, with a spatious separate living area (i.a. couch and dining table) and a separate bedroom, with large (!) walk in closet. We had fantastic view over the Saguenay river, which made our visit to Chicoutimi worthwhile. The pool was also very nice.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for rivier side room. We had room 302 (ensuite type of room) Because it is motel with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daan636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Lovely setting overlooking the fjiord.the owner bent over backwards to speak to us in Spanish and make us feel at home.The price was right.It would be hard to improve on this even at a high priced hotel.It was serene and quiet in the late evening.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Cravenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian G, Owner at Motel Panoramique, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
HI,
Thanks you for your review. we are glad that you all enjoy your stay at the Motel Panoramique while you were in the Saguenay area. We hope to see you again the next time.
Gracias a todos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We spent 5 days at the Motel Panoramique in March during an event. Obviously all rooms were overpriced in the area at this time - we paid 129Can$ plus tax. The first room we had was on the ground floor towards the river side. The view is great even at that time of the year. The room was spacious with a nice size fridge, however was basic otherwise (broken bulb, other bulb hanging out the lamp, stains of sheets and cover). The bathroom requires renovation, it was still from the 1970s with broken tiles and light, tiny with no space to put anything. The room itself was not cleaned properly, we found a hair clip under the tray for the icecooler, chocolate bar wrapping in drawers, we had to clean the drawers from dust before putting cloths in. And the carpet was not vacuumed properly. Worst in this room was the noise from drainage of upper units and bumping water pipes in the wall all night. We requested a room change and were moved to an upper unit suite (no extra charge assuming that this was due to the high price we paid already). So good service from that perspective. The suite was renovated, had one room with table, chairs and sofabed (this room had also issues with bumping water pipes) and a separate bedroom with a queen bed. This room was quite at night. The suite was clean, so it depends a bit which room you get. The owner speaks English, other staff doesn't necessarily, we had to make the booking in French. There is free coffee/tea at the front desk at all times and some breakfast items for purchase. Overall service and location is great, rooms and cleanliness depend on which room you get, so average, and sleep quality is low due to plumbing. A good choice for a short stay in the area, but I would not recommend it for a longer stay.

Room Tip: riverside, 3rd floor to avoid drainage noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmb2415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Fabulous spot. Quiet, located on Riiviere Saguenay, close to Chicoutimi. Great price and very cheap continental breakfast. We are from Australia and wished there were more places at this price. Manager made great suggestions for tours on the Saguenay Fjord. Motel is well maintained , swimming pool, can walk osmall beachon theriver. Good parking. All staff speak English which is very helpful when you don't speak French.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillandlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian G, Owner at Motel Panoramique, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thanks for your review, hope to see you again in a next trip in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This motel is in need of a renovation. It was ok but very basic in the room. What we liked was the view. It was awesome. We also liked that there were picnic tables with barbecues in a grassy area behind the hotel right above the Saguenay river. We cooked steaks while the sun set and it was magnificant. Average beds. Nice to have a fridge.
Fine for the price. Also we had not noticed that our credit card expired two days earlier. We were able to stay without any deposit. The front desk staff were helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river. It is a great view...probably one of best in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holiday850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicoutimi hotels
3.0 mi away
Le Montagnais Saguenay
Le Montagnais Saguenay
#1 of 9 in Chicoutimi
280 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 9 in Chicoutimi
91 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#8 of 9 in Chicoutimi
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel du Fjord
Hotel du Fjord
#3 of 9 in Chicoutimi
66 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel La Sagueneenne
Hotel La Sagueneenne
#7 of 9 in Chicoutimi
187 reviews
3.6 mi away
Auberge Le Parasol
Auberge Le Parasol
#9 of 9 in Chicoutimi
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Panoramique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Panoramique

Property: Motel Panoramique
Address: 1303 boulevard Saguenay Ouest, Chicoutimi, Saguenay, Quebec G7J 1A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean Region > Saguenay > Chicoutimi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chicoutimi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel Panoramique 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Motel Panoramique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Panoramique Chicoutimi, Saguenay, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing