We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, despite issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel L'Express

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel L'Express
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Longueuil
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Value, despite issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We booked a room through an online booking service for a family of five - two double beds and a cot. When we arrived, there was no room to put the cot, except to block the bathroom door and have it pushed against another bed. When we asked the service desk they said that although it was possible to add a cot, they recommended against it. We were flabbergasted that this was not made clear at the time of booking. My husband was given permission to rearrange the furniture, much of which we had to store in the closet, greatly reducing the amount of seating.
- Their brochure advertises laundry facilities, so I packed accordingly, only to discover upon arrival that the laundry room is for staff only, for washing linens.
- The wireless internet was only available in common areas, though they were working to fix that problem while we were there.
- The hallways *do* smell of cigarettes, as others have said. The room seemed fine, though.
- The free breakfast was only for two people, despite the booking for five people, however, it was enough food to feed us all, which added to the value of our stay. It was a full, hot breakfast: bacon/sausage, eggs, toast, potato and fruit.
- On the third day of our stay, we spotted one dead bed bug. We hoped that since it was dead, that meant they were treating the problem.
- The a/c worked great, which was wonderful since it was 30C+ most days.
- It was quiet at night for sleeping, which was a bonus for us over some of the downtown locations frequented by party-goers.
- There was no bar fridge, which I expected to see, and we had bought food that needed cold storage.
- The location isn't great, there is a lot of road work going on, and the view out our window was a building site and a lot of trucks. However, we were still a short drive to the main city, and we were given information on public transit when we asked.
- Overall, this was not a fantastic place, but it was decent considering the price we paid for a family of five (about $100 a night including the hot breakfast and cot).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    16
    11
    4
    11
See reviews for
8
18
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

The room was small but comfortable. Carpeting outdated. Nice air conditioning. The hallways, reception and restaurant reeked of cigarette smoke. This was the major 'turn-off' to the family. Staff was nice enough. No buckets for ice. Vending machine out of order. For the price there is much better accomodations at the WelcomeInn just down the road.

Room Tip: Stay at the WelcomeInn in Boucherville instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LairdTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

This is no doubt a budget hotel. This kind of hotels normally give terrible full-of-carbs breakfasts, but in this particular case the breakfast is great for the price you pay. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SergMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

i visited Montreal during a week-end of october and this place was just great from me. Not so expensive (i got a discount of 15 % because of the week-end), very easy to go anywhere from this place by bus or by car, just love it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rock ,NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

I've stayed in many hotels around the world in the past few years but this was hand down the worst. I have NOTHING good to say, so here’s the bad:
- Located in a XXX/ Industrial district, with a funeral home/cemetery next door. Also located under high voltage power lines! (See attached pictures)
- No elevator
- Terrible TV (purchased from a motel – see attached pictures)
- AC did not work
- No safe box
- Terrible bathroom (outdated shower, sink, toilet etc.)
- Terrible customer service
- They will not accept credit/debit cards - only cash.
- Their ATM's do not work!!! (our Visa, Master cards, and American Express cars were all declined – We saw other guests having the same issue. If you need cash you have to drive half a mile to George’s pizza.
-WIFI had one bar? I couldn’t download emails from my blackberry!!!
- Wasp nest on 3rd floor fire escape!
- Ice machine but no ice bucket?
- Expensive vending machine, $2.50 for a can of coke?
- Bar without a bar tender?
- No local information at reception or in room?
- No wake up call? No front desk # in room?
- No gas stations near by?
- No balcony
- Small towels?
- 1 trash can for a twin queen room?
- Over priced restaurant
- Every employee who helped us asked for “service” which meant tip, I was a waiter for a couple of years but I found this very rude and unprofessional.
- This was the most ridiculous thing I've ever experienced at a hotel; they have free wifi but there’s absolutely no information in the room on how to get the WEP key. The receptionist was reluctant to give me they number for some reason?? We ate at their terrible over priced restaurant a couple of times, the last night we ordered food to go in Montréal because we knew the hotels restaurant was closed, when we got back we realized the restaurant had forgotten to give us knives, forks etc. The receptionist refused to give us any cutlery ect. The best he could do was give us 2 sets of knives and forks from under the front desk (he was to lazy to walk to the kitchen). DO NOT SAY HERE, It literally ruined our vacation.

Room Tip: The third floor is noisy due to the highway and power lines, wasp nest on the fire escape. Just dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marc004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Longueuil hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We decided to visit Montreal on Labour Day weekend. All downtown hotels (except really expensive) were booked. So we got this one for $79/night with queen bed ($69 for double!). It's a little bit far from downtown Montreal (15 min drive). Casino and islands are not far. Parking in downtown is just $10-$15 for the whole day. So we saved more than $100/night.
Overal it's clean, rooms are ok. Let's say it's a motel plus. Receptionists were friendly, room service good.
I'll consider this hotel for my next trips.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobs8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Good spot to stay in if you're visiting Montreal's south shore,
right off the highway for easy access. recommend GPS due to many construction detours.
The staff was really friendly and willing to help with any questions, we received a free upgrade just because a junior suite was available. included breakfast vouchers for FULL breakfast , not continental. Clean, spacious rooms. comfortable beds, great place for an overnight stay.

observations : the rooms still smell like cigarette smoke, no elevator for the 3 story building, bath rooms have a very old look to them, the sink is outside the bathroom (odd)

Defiantly recommend this place , i would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 147David81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longueuil
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Montreal Longueuil
4.6 mi away
Hotel Dauphin Montreal - Longueuil
4.8 mi away
Sandman Hotel Montreal-Longueuil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Welcominns
Welcominns
#2 of 3 in Boucherville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mortagne
Hotel Mortagne
#1 of 3 in Boucherville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Boucherville
Comfort Inn Boucherville
#3 of 3 in Boucherville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Express

Property: Hotel L'Express
Address: 2800 Marie Victorin Blvd | Rte 20 and Rte 132, Longueuil, Quebec J4G 1P5, Canada (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Longueuil
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Longueuil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'Express 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the Express Hotel LongueuilWhether for business or pleasure,the Express Hotel offers 65 rooms, a restaurant, a conference room as well as a mini casino.Each room includes a bathroom, a hair dryer, a Keurig coffee maker and wireless Internet.Our team will welcome you to our establishment with warmth, hospitality and a personalized reception service, guarantying your complete satisfaction. That, is our signature.In order to fulfill the needs of all our guests, our front desk is open 24/7 and features a multilingual team that is always available to help. On the other hand, our housekeeping team ensures that great care be taken of the environment you are staying in.Because the hotel is located near major roads, we offer truck drivers amenities such as designated showers and parking spaces.Furthermore, the Express Hotel is conveniently located next to some of Montreal’s major attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel L'Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Longueuil
Longueuil Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing