We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met or exceeded expectations.”
Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Crystal
Ranked #13 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 July 2013

A super well located newer hotel we had only one night in but the service, location and room met or exceeded expectations. More modern than luxury the room was comforable with a good bathroom. Kitchenette was nice to prep some snacks. Beautiful lobby and very nice pool and terrace on top level were very nice. Montreal is a must see destination on every travellers list. The locals friendly and food wonderful.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

Great location - pretty close to all point of interest and easy to access. Lots of good/excellent restaurants in walking distance, shopping district very close by. Not so great view - most of the rooms don't have a "view", but just look into the backyard. Was not impressed with the Standard room and got an upgrade against extra $100/day to a beautiful suite, with large rooms, kitchen, two bathrooms and decent size balcony. Excellent service (bell boy, reception, concierge, maintenance, etc.). The only problem was that the air conditioning was not "behaving" - temperature and fan speed were not controllable from the thermostat, even power on/off for AC was not possible. To stop/start the AC, one had to find the circuit breaker in the DB and action it - off or on. This is an observation made across 5 different rooms & suites (we did vacation few days with all the family and experienced similar problem in all rooms/suites), so I guess it is not an isolated issue, but a systemic issue.

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade from $229 to $329, do it: very good value for the added money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolae V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My wife and I decided to enjoy Montreal on our honeymoon last week. We found a great deal on a suite at Hotel Le Crystal, and stayed 5 nights. From start to finish, an unbelievable experience. Profoundly helpful and professional staff who would literally bend over backwards and go far beyond the call of duty to help us out. Close in proximity to downtown shopping, food, and touristy stuff like the Jazz Festival. Valet parking was a bit pricey (though completely normal for Montreal), but they were so efficient, convenient and helpful that we didn't mind at all. The restaurant La Coupole has FANTASTIC food, our filet was literally a perfectly cooked medium, the gnocchi was a bit salty but still delicious, and our creme brulee was among the best we have ever had. The pool/sauna/hot tub are incredible, and the hot tub has a gorgeous view of downtown Montreal with a great spot to lay out. Only con I can mention at all is that the wifi in our room was a bit spotty, but I was told upon checkout that they can actually adjust the level, and that we should have said something earlier. No big deal though, we needed to unplug anyway.

Bottom line: I have been all over North America, Asia, and Europe and stayed in countless hotels, and Le Crystal Montreal was from start to finish absolutely one of the most impressive experiences. Everything about our experience seemed like it was calculated and planned to make our visit as stress free and fun as possible, and it seemed like things were taken care of for us with no or minimal effort.

I would very highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great stay at a great price. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Went to Montreal to enjoy the Montreal International Jazz Festival, which is a 15 - 20 minute stroll from the hotel. What is impressive about the hotel is the knowledgeable, welcoming, and enthusiastic staff. Doubly impressive is the smart design of each room...which has more the ambiance of an apartment than a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BidiJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We show up at this hotel expecting it to be a 5 star based on reviews and most of all the pictures, NOPE, a huge wooden panel over half of the loby. Why don't they tell you this! Then when I checked in I told her "this is our first time in Montreal and I picked this place because of the reviews and pictures, so make sure we have a great view in our room" WE looked at yet more construction out the window. OH and NO mirrors except one in our bathroom. REALLY!! If this is a 5 star I will never stay at one again. Or I would tell you if you go there tell them you do not want room 610! And we had to ask for them to fill up our tea and coffee everyday. What! NO impressed!!

Room Tip: Call and ask if they lied with pictures!!! Or are they under construction. It made me very sad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sdcotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalGM, General Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Dear sdcotter,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with us. We would like to highlight a few facts: we have a 3000 square foot marble lobby with lounge area, wine bar, business center and the reception desk. We had indeed closed 80 to 90 square feet of this space for a couple of weeks in order to incorporate new technologies to our reception desk and improve guest services. This modification optically integrates our reception desk to the lobby. While we are disappointed to read that you were not happy with suite 610, we would like to underline that 610 has absolutely no construction and faces south west. When looking west, we can see a nearby construction site that has no interference with our hotel. The 475 square foot urban suite that was assigned to you is exactly the suite type you had booked and corresponds to all elements on its description if not more. It has a 100 square foot bathroom with two sinks, a separate living room with a kitchen providing a Nespresso machine and complimentary coffee. Not to mention our complimentary internet in the entire hotel, the 12th floor Oasis featuring an indoor pool, outdoor jacuzzi, saunas and a gym with a spectacular view of downtown Montreal. All these elements were delivered.

Again, thank you for your comments and we invite you to contact us directly to ensure we exceed your expectations.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Such a beautiful hotel! Nice decorations. computers in lobby area for free use and you can print for free too. Excellent service and concierge. Rooms are big and bathroom (shower & tub) awesome!! Good and easy location toget to...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marshdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

This well known hotel is just wonderful. We liked its location- close to metro stop, close to St Catherine street, a fun shopping area. Montreal is big, I can't really say that it is in the middle of everything, but it is really convenient with a beautiful view up the mountain.

The hotel is modern, clean, and quiet. The staff are superb and bilingual (as are most people in this section of the city...a big plus for us)

A small upscale restaurant, bar, roof-top pool are all great. We didn't do much with the spa etc...looked lovely.

The rooms were far more spacious than in most large American cities, especially NYC. We paid just over 200 per night, also on the low side in comparison with comparable city hotels. We chose valet parking, not cheap at 33 per night, but super quick and friendly service with unlimited access to your car.

We would definitely recommend this, and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom_dad_two_kids4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,469 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 165 in Montreal
2,679 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,414 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#49 of 165 in Montreal
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Crystal

Address: 1100 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Montreal
#4 Business Hotel in Montreal
#4 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#9 Family Hotel in Montreal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £147 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Le Crystal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST DOWNTOWN LOCATION, CLOSEST HOTEL FROM THE BELL CENTER **Starbucks Store including the Reserve products** Visit our new Bistro Laurentien La Coupole. Improve ambiance, great lounge, nice terrace and delicious meals. New concept starring Quebec's produce. During your stay, be sure to make time for the indoor saltwater pool, outdoor hot tub and Swedish sauna on our 12th floor rooftop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Crystal Hotel
Le Crystal Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing