We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is not a bad hotel but not a luxury one”
Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Crystal
Ranked #13 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“this is not a bad hotel but not a luxury one”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

At booking, we only asked for one thing - a room with a view. When we arrived, we were presented with a room overlooking a construction site. When we asked for another room, we were shown into a very small and depressing room overlooking a garbage dumpster. Next day, we were given a bigger suite with some view. Anyway, upon arrival you get a sense that this hotel, although clean, is a bit shabby. The overall impression was similar to the Socialist Realism architecture of hotels in East Europe circa 1990. Over the next three days, the hotel grew on me, as the staff are quite nice and friendly. I would stay there again, if I were alone on a business trip. However, this is NOTa luxury hotel by any stretch of one's imagination, contrary to what Mr. Geoff Allen, the hotel manager, would have you believe. Certainly not in the sense of, say, the Dorchester in London, or the Taj, or the Oberoi, or New York's The Plaza. In fact, it's not even in the same league as your average Four Seasons. Some previous commenters likened it to a nice Best Western and I think that's fairly accurate. Case in point: You cannot call yourself a luxury hotel if you don't even have a 24-hr room service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingCrystal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Good day MarekP,

we want to tank you for having took the time to write a comment about your recent stay with us.
We are glad to read that you found our staff nice and friendly.

We take good note about your comments of the decor and the overall impression, and we are sorry that you feel that way about us, even though we are a 5 star and a 4 diamond hotel in Montréal.

Again, tank you for your comments, it is always helping us to improve our services and installations, as we just did in the past couple of weeks.

Cordially
Guylaine T. Rehel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    339
    87
    28
    13
See reviews for
355
556
56
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We checked in for a 4 day mini break, The Concierge, Myleene, I can't remember the french spelling, sorry, couldn't have done more, she sorted our dinner reservations for the first evening, confirmed our Tour, pre booked by me before we arrived, gave us directions for both and then following my request set about some fantastic ideas for us to spend the next 4 days based on what I said we liked. Wow, I have stayed at many 5 Star hotels, this was the best reception I have ever received when checking in, the vacation went brilliantly, I would definitely recommend this hotel 100%, plus the room was lovely too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingCrystal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
good day Steve S,

we take you very much for having took the time to write about your recent stay with us.
We are glad that you loved your stay and the service that our concierge Mylène provided you.

We look forward to welcome you back at the hotel.
Best regards

Guylaine T. Rehel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Hotel Le Crystal lived up to our expectations for the most part. A short cab ride from the Via Rail station (travelled business class from Toronto), we were greeted with top notch customer service at check in.

Our room was every bit as lovely and beautifully appointed as it was portrayed to be online.

We had a couples massage at the on-site spa and it was a wonderful and incredibly relaxing start to our weekend getaway.

With tickets to a Habs game, the Centre Bell was less than a 5 minute walk from hotel entrance. Construction outside building was not pretty and had us rerouted to an alternative entrance from where taxi could drop us off but these are the kind of things one must overlook as the hotel can do little to overcome such inconveniences; we did not consider this to be one of the "thorns" but read on...

The bathroom in our suite was magnificent! There are bachelor apartments in Toronto smaller than the shower! The problem is that the shower leaked - a lot, no matter what position you put the giant door or turned the waterheads, a literal flood (soaked 5 bath towels for two showers) gushed onto the bathroom floor. Not much fun to have to lay down and gather up sopping wet towels each shower; quickly drained the luxurious feeling out of that bathroom experience.

The absolute bitter end of our trip was the horrible experience we had in the hotel restaurant: La Coupole. We arrived at about 11am on the Sunday morning before our check out; there was almost nobody in the restaurant. A female server took our order and brought us coffee. Nearly 30 minutes passed and our server was no where in sight; our order had not arrived and our coffee had not been refilled. Finally, finally(!), a male server came to the table with our meals. The pineapple and other fruit on the plate was browned and wilted from sitting under the heat lamps, the sauce on the eggs benedict has dried to the plate and yet the eggs and homefries were cold in the middle. Clearly our plates had been forgotten. We spoke with the server about the prolonged wait, the condition of our food and the fact that we had not been served more coffee with our breakfast. He took no responsibility for the demise of our breakfast but did ungraciously offer to take the price of the coffee off our bill. Spectacularly poor customer service and inedible food that left us bitter upon departure.

Fix the showers and bring in a food service manager that can better run your on-site restaurant - one who knows a thing or two about customer service. In the end the bad outshone the good for these travellers - we will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eightfoldpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingCrystal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear eightfoldpath,

We would like to thank you for having took the time to write a comment about your recent stay with us. We are sorry to read that we were not able to meet your expectations on every aspect.

However, we are glad to read that you liked your suit and the treatment that you received at the spa.

We would like to apologize for the water in the bathroom and we hope that you took the time to warn the reception about that, so we would have been able to offer you another room.

We took good note about your comment of your breakfast experience and be sure that we will inform the Manager to make sure that the situation does not repeat.

If you ever consider coming back at the hotel, please feel free to contact our Rooms Division Director - Mr Mendonca: tmendonca@hotellecrystal.com, so he will be able to compensate for your past experience.

Again, thank you for your comment, it always help us to improve our service.

Best regards
Guylaine T. Rehel
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My family & I had a short visit to Montreal, Quebec to see the fall foliage. One of the hotels we looked at was Hotel Le Crystal because of the reviews about. When we travel, we always tend to stay at local/boutique hotels and Hotel Le Crystal exceeded our expectations.

Pros: Impressive facade (crystal chandelier) Clean, spacious rooms, friendly and knowledgeable staff. The rooms were equipped with a mini-kitchen with utensils & plates. The view of the city from our room & from the gym/pool area was spectacular. The expresso maker was decadent! Location was a plus, too. Not too far from St. Catherine, shops and a block away Centre Bell. Also nearby bus stops and gare Lucien-L'Allier. The amenities exceeded than what we expected for the price per night.

Cons:The drop-off area for taxis on the side of the hotel was very narrow. But understandable since space is limited.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaxtraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingCrystal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Jaxtraveler57,

Thank you very much for your comment about your recent stay at Hotel Le Crystal.
We are glad that you appreciated your stay with us, and particularly the features of your suite and the location of the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Hotel, next time visiting Montreal.

Best regards

Guylaine T. Rehel
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The staff were excellent. We had a problem with the parking (it was full) so they gave us free cocktails and breakfast the next day. The breakfast was outstanding, and the cocktails were too! the restaurant build in is very classy. the room was beautiful and clean. the living area and kitchen area were so cute we ended up just getting drinks and food and hanging out in the hotel room that night. there is a hot tub on the roof top outside- so romantic to look over the city at night! the pool was nice and there were saunas too. it was a great location for shopping and restaurants too. the valet guys were great in picking us up alcohol for later because we didn't have a lot of time to do that kind of stuff. the big jacuzzi tub was so relaxing too. i was so relaxed the entire trip i actually got sick when i was back home because i don't think my body is used to to being so not stressed haha.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianPoutine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingCrystal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Good day CanadianPoutine,

Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are glad that you appreciated the free cocktails and the breakfast at Restaurant La Coupole.

Please get well soon and come back at Hotel Le Crystal :-). Cheers !

Looking forward to welcoming you again for next time in Montreal!

Regards,

Guylaine Rehel
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for my first time for 5 nights and found this to be one of the best hotels in Montreal. We had a suite with large panoramic windows that gave us a great view of the city in the large living room. Having the kitchenette was nice as we were able to make our own breakfast before we left for the day. We had a huge bedroom with plenty of closet space and the enormous bathroom was great with its soaker tub, double sink and large walk-in shower. The house keeping was immaculate and the front desk with the over the top friendly staff catered to all of our needs quickly and with a smile. The gym and pool were very nice and big and the roof top outdoor hot tub was brilliant. Being that they had an excellent location we were able to walk to many of the great restaurants and pubs within minutes. Some people may say location, location, location, but I say location, luxury and affordability. This is for sure my new home in Montreal.
Steve s

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingCrystal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hello Steve S,

Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are glad that you consider Hotel Le Crystal as your second home!

Looking forward to welcoming you again for next time in Montreal!

Regards,

Guylaine Rehel
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Le Crystal on February 28 in an executive suite with our 2 year old. We had a funeral to attend in the morning, we slept 2 hours at most. There was a huge fire a few blocks away which meant a lot of fire trucks (obviously not the hotel's fault). However, there is construction going on right across the street which went on all night and morning (Saturday). The floor we stayed on was the fifth. The room is so badly insulated that we could hear conversations outside. The hotel room itself is nice and spacious but attention to detail lacking. Faulty bathtub faucet, no salt in shaker, broken bottle opener, extension cords in room.
We stayed a few years ago when the hotel had recently opened and had had a great experience. We were staying on a higher floor at the time.

Room Tip: Choose a high level if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StefanieDenyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingCrystal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Good day StefanieDenyse,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

After reading your review, we would like to contact you to learn more about your second experience at Hotel Le Crystal. We are truly sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience.

The construction noise around the hotel has improved a lot since your stay and we are now changing the furniture and linens in our suites; we would love to have the chance to welcome you back in a near future so you can enjoy a better experience with us.

We will contact you in private, but again, thank you for time and review,

We are looking forward to speak with you.

Valerie Marchand
Guest Experience Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,360 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 164 in Montreal
983 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,501 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Crystal

Property: Hotel Le Crystal
Address: 1100 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Montreal
#4 Business Hotel in Montreal
#4 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#9 Family Hotel in Montreal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Le Crystal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST DOWNTOWN LOCATION, CLOSEST HOTEL FROM THE BELL CENTER **Starbucks Store including the Reserve products** Visit our new Bistro Laurentien La Coupole. Improve ambiance, great lounge, nice terrace and delicious meals. New concept starring Quebec's produce. During your stay, be sure to make time for the indoor saltwater pool, outdoor hot tub and Swedish sauna on our 12th floor rooftop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Crystal Hotel
Le Crystal Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing