We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 145 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I would strongly recommend to travelers this B&B, which is in a 125 yr old brownstone (painted white). My wife, 12 yr. old son and I stayed in the Frontenac room, a large 2nd floor room with beautiful bay window overlooking the street. And what a pretty street it is...they were filming a TV show on the block one evening! Bathroom sharing posed very little problems. Overall, the location was excellent. Just a few blocks from St Denis and St Laurent with great dining options and the Metro.

Breakfast was very good. We had an early departure our last day and the owners were accommodating to our schedule. I was a bit disappointed though when the owner decided to offer cherry blintzes that day. Not a big fan. C'est la vie...there are always other cereals, bread, oatmeal, etc. to choose from.

The real value to me was the knowledge that the 2 owners (Ephraim and Yves) have of Montreal...while Ephraim is strongly opinionated in the topic du jour, overall, their recommendations and suggestions were excellent.

Bonne chance!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finanseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

The charming hosts put everyone at ease during breakfast (which was freshly prepared and the right balance of delicious and healthy.) Our room was comfortable for us, with a closet and drawers sufficient for our stay. The bathroom down the hall was spacious and looked new. We shared with two other rooms, but we never really saw or heard anyone else, except at breakfast. The property is a Victorian row house with much of the charm intact. Paintings and prints decorate the halls and common rooms, and lights come on automatically when you come in at night, or enter the hallways, so you never have to navigate stairs in the dark. This isn't a good property for anyone with mobility issues, but it's perfect for anyone who wants a comfortable, well priced room in a very convenient location. Be sure to ask the hosts for area recommendations.

Room Tip: The site I booked through didn't inform the hosts there were two of us. If we had phoned we migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyntax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadManor, Owner at Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

It was a pleasure to meet you and help you enjoy our great city of Montreal. We take great pride in our B&B and will always give our guests our 100%. Just have one little clarification to your review though, there is indeed 3 rooms on the floor you were on, but one of the room (De Maisonneuve) has it own private bathroom, so you were actually sharing with only one other room, and as you mentionned, sharing with one other room never seems to be a problem. It would be our great pleasure to be your hosts again if ever you decide to visit Montreal again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend this B&B. I stayed in a smaller room, but larger rooms are available too. My room shared a bathroom, but it was never a problem. The location is perfect! The B&B is close to a beautiful small park, the Metro, and lots of dining options.
The hosts are friendly and a great sense of humor. Homemade breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heyzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This B & B has everything - nice rooms with comfortable beds, great location, free internet, delicious breakfasts, and helpful hosts. There are two garage spaces which you can reserve. It was worth the cost to not have to worry about finding on the street parking. Some of the rooms share bathrooms, which were big and very clean. We never had to wait to use the one on our floor. The Gingerbread B&B is within walking distance of many restaurants, shops and attractions. We had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We loved the Champlain room which has the King size bed and twin size daybed. The extra space would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmera4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Gingerbread Manor for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it! We stayed in the Wolfe & Montcalm room which is cosy, but perfect for our needs. The room and (shared) bathroom were both spotless and the toilet is separate which is handy when the bathroom was in use by other guests.
Breakfast was delicious each day and there was a great variety of teas, coffees, and homemade condiments. The hosts were friendly, and extremely helpful: excellent restaurant suggestions (and made a reservation for us), looked up info on the web re: various city attractions/amenities.
The location is fantastic, very close to the metro, several bus routes and many shops and restaurants are within walking distance. We booked one of the garage spaces for our car which was really handy.
We look forward to staying at the Gingerbread Manor again in the future - great city, great B & B!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadManor, Owner at Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thanks for your wonderful comments, it always makes our day when we know that we were able to make your stay in Montreal a memorable one. It would be a pleasure to see you again... after all, Toronto is not that far away !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed here with my wife during the Montreal Grand Prix. And had an amazing experience. This bed and breakfast is owned and operated by people who still strive for excellence in customer service.

The room was always perfectly clean and contained everything one would need for any duration of stay.

The bathroom was shared but was more than adequate and had everything from mouthwash and make up wipes to a weigh scale for your luggage.

The breakfast aspect of the stay is definitely a huge factor. Where most places now a days cop out with a "continental breakfast" ; this was a gourmet prepared meal and will disappoint no one.

Overall it was a fantastic stay with staff that could not do enough to accommodate you and make you feel at home. We will make a return trip here when hockey season starts up.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulDyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for two nights in early June 2013. We stayed in the Frontenac room which we really enjoyed. The bathroom is shared but everything was spotless and given the huge space that the bedroom had it was not a big deal at all. We never had to wait to use it so it really felt like a private bathroom. The room has a beautiful bay window, reading couches, a king size bed, and a very spacious dresser. It was an extremely comfortable stay.

Location is excellent, a couple blocks from St. Laurent -a very happening street with lots of bars and restaurants. I would definitely recommend Resto Darbar, an excellent Indian restaurant by the corner of St. Laurent and Sherbrooke. Metro is very close but on street parking was easy and convenient.

I would highly recommend this place if you are the kind of traveler that enjoys spending time with your hosts and getting to know other guests. The hosts are very involved and talkative so if you are looking to have little to no interaction, this might not be the place for you. Ephraim is very opinionated and not afraid to speak his mind. If you are someone who doesn't shy away from true or honest conversation, this shouldn't be a problem. That being said, the breakfast was amazing -- very good coffee and pastries, different options every day (we had pancakes w a lime/cononut sauce and on the second day, frittata), fresh fruit, granola, and bagels. Portions are abundant, and the hosts make sure you are full and satisfied --a truly home cooked meal.

Make up removal wipes, slippers, sunblock and umbrellas show that they strive to make their guests feel at home. The street is quiet and very pretty. Overall, this is a very good option in Montreal, especially if you are looking for an intimately hosted experience.



  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sofgcardenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
316 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
La Conciergerie
La Conciergerie
#22 of 145 in Montreal
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Victorian Heritage
Victorian Heritage
#4 of 145 in Montreal
237 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
#26 of 145 in Montreal
76 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Auberge de La Fontaine
Auberge de La Fontaine
#14 of 145 in Montreal
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3445 Avenue Laval, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3C7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: £66 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gingerbread Manor welcomes you to Montreal. Located in a manor house built in 1885. This delightful B&B invites you to enjoy a comfortable bed, a wonderful breakfast and Victorian splendour. Located in downtown Montreal near Square St-Louis. Close to most downtown and old Montreal points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gingerbread Manor Bed And Breakfast
Gingerbread Manor Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing