We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming house in an excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 146 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Montreal to celebrate his birthday. We arrived very late Wednesday night and had no problem using the self-check-in instructions. I had pre-paid for a spot in the garage which was a fabulous option since we walked everywhere and didn't have to worry about street parking.

We stayed in the Carleton room. The house was built in 1885, I think, and the decorations and artwork were very appropriate and beautiful. The room was on the small side (we expected that, the information on the website was very accurate) but the furniture fit the space well and the high ceiling really opened it up. There was a small private balcony which was wonderful for relaxing with a glass of wine. We even slept with the balcony door open one night for the fresh air.

The shared bathroom was spacious and clean with shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, hand soap, mouthwash, and other assorted sundries always available. The stand-up shower had good water pressure and there were robes available upon request.

Breakfast was delicious every morning and was never the same (we had french toast, egg strata, pancakes, and omelettes). Fresh coffee, orange juice, ice water, hot cocoa, and a wide selection of tea were always available. Bagels, bread, cereal, and oatmeal were also on hand. The dining room held 8 people comfortably, 6 at the table and 2 at the bar, though there was only one morning when the bar was occupied. There were two seatings, 8AM and 9AM, to choose from.

The house is in a perfect location and is close to everything. We walked everywhere and used the Metro a couple of times for places that were further away. There was a map and a guide book available in the entry hall that we used all the time. We felt safe in the neighborhood and the surrounding areas at all times of the day.

I was disappointed that there was no common area other than the dining room but as it turned out we didn't have a spare moment anyway.

Yves and Ephraim were wonderful hosts - such characters! They were very knowledgeable about the area and had a recommendation for every activity. Be prepared to hear bad jokes and lots of interesting facts! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carriebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadManor, Owner at Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your review. Just a note, the common room is the solarium that is beyond the kitchen (accessible at all times, except when preparing breakfast).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have returned there every time we come to Montreal. The food is great the rooms are wonderful - and we have stayed in the large and small rooms. It is easy to get around the city from there. The hosts are friendly and offer excellent suggestions about entertainment and restaurant options that can be found in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill-Kintair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I recently stayed 5 nights in September at this B & B. The driving directions on the website are wonderful ( was a little anxious driving in the city) the room was lovely and I had a wonderful balcony to enjoy the early am on. Yves was graciously made me a cup of coffee my first morning there before breakfast was served! Both of the hosts know the city well and are generous with sharing information about best places to eat, how to get around etc. The B & B is centrally located and it is easy to walk to many places. Breakfasts are delicious. I most definitely recommend this Bed and Breakfast

Room Tip: pay attention to the website; shared bathroom for two room; this was not a problem!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cheryl L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

If you want a well situated home base to discover Montreal, then look no further. Our room had a private bathroom and was clean and well equipped (hair dryer, make up remover etc..). Our hosts were as sweet as can be and made sure to provide us with great practical information. The breakfast choices were varied, more then plentiful and the coffee was awsome! This B&B is a short walk to the metro which allows you to leave your car parked (recommend to book the garage space) Additionally the B&B is in a safe neighborhood and offers many close by restaurants (thanks for recommending the "la bulle au carre creperie" And the "Express" bistro ;). Yves and Ephraim were a delight to chat with every morning and have an obvious strong passion for running their B&B. I highly recommend Gingerbread manor B&B for your travels to Montreal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Luvofvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights recently-we had a lovely time-Ephraim and Yves are super hosts-the shower was great, and we thought all the items in the bathroom were so thoughtful, i.e. mouthwash, nail polish remover, kleenex, cotton balls, make-up remover pads,etc, everything that
one would need and probably forgot. The breakfasts were nonpareil and Ephraim is a fabulously creative cook. Both Ephraim and Yves had wonderful dining recommendations-what more could yu ask for?

Room Tip: Our double room upstairs had a window that opened and provided a nice breeze.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Room was huge, but had to share a bathroom. Furnishings were older, about what I'd expect in an old house. The innkeepers were very generous with advice and information. I think maybe too generous. Some people probably love the super chatty treatment, but I would have preferred a lighter touch. All over the house are slightly bossy multiple signs about what to dobnot do. We had trouble navigating the streets to get there, but once parked in the right spot (not a trivial proposition) it was a perfect spot for exploring the Plateau neighborhood. Quiet dead-end street, but so close to all the commerce and transit you want.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BioAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadManor, Owner at Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

We are indeed an ideal location for exploring all that Montreal has to offer. Helpful signs in French and English provide guests with important information in an unfamiliar environment. All the information about our room amenities are clearly available on our website.

Our goal is to help our guests, many of whom are international, to enjoy all our neighbourhood and city have to offer. We really do know the best places. Let us help you find them! We enjoy helping you get the most of the city by personalizing our recommendations of things to do for our guests. We make thousands of recommendations and hundreds of restaurant reservations for guests every year. We truly care for our guests. But, sometimes guests have their own itinerary all worked out. It is okay to tell us that you don't need our help. Unfortunately we can't meet every guest's expectation, but we do appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed here for a week in early August while attending a conference. I agree with many of the reviews here; great location just outside downtown with lots of restaurants a short walk away. Really friendly hosts. Room was small but very clean and well furnished. Shared bathroom was scrupulously clean as well. Would definitely stay here again if I return to Montreal.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
295 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#25 of 165 in Montreal
472 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Victorian Heritage
Victorian Heritage
#4 of 146 in Montreal
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Auberge de La Fontaine
Auberge de La Fontaine
#16 of 146 in Montreal
385 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
M Montreal
M Montreal
#2 of 99 in Montreal
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3445 Avenue Laval, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3C7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: £70 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gingerbread Manor welcomes you to Montreal. Located in a manor house built in 1885. This delightful B&B invites you to enjoy a comfortable bed, a wonderful breakfast and Victorian splendour. Located in downtown Montreal near Square St-Louis. Close to most downtown and old Montreal points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gingerbread Manor Bed And Breakfast
Gingerbread Manor Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing