We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit to treasure”
Review of Hotel Jazz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Jazz
Ranked #67 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A visit to treasure”
Reviewed 5 August 2009

My ladyfriend and I can't say enough about Hotel Jazz! Our room was very beautifully decorated and very spacious. The ceiling must have been 14 ft high. We felt so very much at home in our room after our days of wandering around beautiful Montreal. The young lady who manages Hotel Jazz could not have been more helpful, kind and charming. Her name is Melanie and in addition to her being very solicitous in every way, prepares a wonderful breakfast each morning in a beautiful cafe on the building's ground floor. The building is centrally located in Montreal, close to so many attractions, including a park only 60 meters away that hosts all kinds of free music events in the summer. We will definitely return to Hotel Jazz and Melanie!
Bill Driscoll

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billdriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    12
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
38
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

I stayed here with my husband for 2 nights. We really liked it here. We had a really nice big room that was exceptionally clean. The bathroom was spotless too. Plus the bed was very comfortable.

The hotel management were very nice, giving us maps and brochures on check-in, telling us where there were good restaurants, recommeding walking routes and advising us on directions and scenic spots.

The location is ok - 25 minute walk into Vieux (Old) Montreal where a lot of the main sights are. We like to walk so this kind if distance doesn't bother us. I can only assume that places in Vieux Montreal or closer to it would cost a lot more - Hotel Jazz represented good value for money.

Oh, and the breakfast is awesome - its self-service tea, coffee, toast , croissants, fruit, cheese and cereal, but then with a cooked option served up by hotel staff. On our first day they cooked up yummy pancakes, and the next day they offered bacon and eggs.

In my opinion this is a great hotel.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLouLouey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Very good stay. Pleasant and informative host, and very good breakfasts. Room slightly tight for space (especially bathroom), but comfortable. Interesting decor / features. Easy to get to Metro station and to find ... although immediate locality around hotel not that nice (quite a lot of street begging ... which seemed more common in Montreal than anywhere else I've been in Canada).

Good value, very close to montreal old town, and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, ON
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We spent three nights @ Hotel Jazz recently and have nothing but good things to say. Great location - not for high-maintenance types, mind you, as this stretch of St. Catherine does have its share of sketchy people - harmless, but a lot of odd sorts about. Convenient for the Latin Quarter, downtown, old Montreal, St. Denis, St. Laurent, etc. Room was "cozy" but efficient. Bathroom was "very cozy". Breakfast was great - served 8 - 9:30 am. Pleasant hosts. Great old building with lovely antiques.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2009

I recommend Hotel Jazz as a very lovely, charming and relatively economical place to stay in Montreal. Gracious hosts, clean rooms decorated with original artwork (by the proprietors), delicious breakfasts and great location (within walking distance to Old Montreal, St. Catherine's Street, the Village, the Latin Quarter, and the subway. Breakfast consisted of an assortment of bread/pastries, Montreal bagels, fruit, cereal, and a hot dish such as crepes or omelets and was always very fresh. I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to other travellers, the only disclaimer being that you need to be mobile and able to climb stairs! (The building dates back to about ~ 1870's I think).

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoraTheExplorer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

my wife and I stayed three nights and our son and daughter in law joined us. Rooms good sized, Bathrooms tiny- tall and big people would not fit- we are not either. Also let owners know if you cannot walk stairs. No elevators. Rooms were very clean. There are rooms on first floor- up one flight of stairs. from outside. Some parking in rear. Good fresh made breakfasts. Two blocks to metro.We have travelled all over the world and this was a goofd buy. Huge supermarket two blocks away. Fridge in room. $6.00 (CA) by taxi to Old Montreal. AC in summer.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doogiedooogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2009

We just got back from a 3 night stay at Hotel Jazz. We agree with all of the positive reviews. The location is good in that it is very close to a main Metro stop. The rooms are spacious, bright and clean. The bathrooms are small but they are cute and work well.

We enjoyed meeting Melanie and she does make a very nice breakfast every morning which is good because we did a lot of walking.

This is everything you could want in a B&B

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quincymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#52 of 164 in Montreal
806 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#107 of 164 in Montreal
299 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#41 of 164 in Montreal
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
The Village (Gay Village)
Le St-Christophe
Le St-Christophe
#66 of 144 in Montreal
10 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
L'Escogriffe B&B
L'Escogriffe B&B
#48 of 144 in Montreal
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jazz

Property: Hotel Jazz
Address: 1216, rue St-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jazz 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to discover the intimate atmosphere of an old and comfortable Victorian mansion transformed to a hotel at the beginning of the twentieth-century. Hotel Jazz has a central location in Montreal. Located nearby are Old-Montreal, downtown, St-Denis st. and gay village. An underground station (Berri-Uqam) is also close-by and the bus terminal is just a five-minute walk from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Jazz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing