We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great”

Le Montrealais Bistro
Ranked #680 of 5,712 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: US$16 - US$53
Cuisines: French, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Cross street: Mansfield
Description: L'un des restaurants favoris des habitués du quartier des affaires, Le Montréalais offre un menu alléchant proposant des plats méditerranéens, des grillades, des salades composées et des poissons frais ainsi qu'un choix de desserts exquis, le tout servi dans une ambiance de bistro détendue et dynamique. Pour vos repas d’affaires ou pour le plaisir d’une cuisine raffinée, notre personnel vous assurera un service courtois et attentif pour vous permettre de vous détendre et de savourer la créativité de notre chef. A favorite with the downtown crowd, Le Montréalais bistrot offers a mouth-watering menu featuring sunny Mediterranean cuisine, healthy salads, succulent grilled meats, fresh fish and luscious desserts in a lively, warm and inviting ambiance. For your business meetings or the pleasure of fine dining, our experienced team will provide attentive and efficient service to ensure you spend quality time in a relaxing setting.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
154 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I ate here on our recent trip to Montreal. We ate here as it was conveniently located in our hotel (Fairmont Queen E.) and we wanted something close to home base.
Some of the dishes were above average while others were just so so. The food was a little on the salty side overall. However, the French onion soup and Montreal cheese cake were excellent. I would recommend if you are staying at the Fairmont and want to eat in one night. Otherwise I would not go out of my way to eat here again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mbellny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Le Montrealais Bistro, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear mbellny - Thank you very much for your feedback. We truly appreciate your comments and rest assured that your comments have been shared with our Chef and restaurant staff. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Many thanks and warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    83
    41
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Elegant lunch”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great quality food sat outside in an urban oasis. Attentive staff and a nice atmosphere with the new graduates enjoying lunch with their parents.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheEdster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Le Montrealais Bistro, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear TheEdster - Thank you very much for lovely feedback. The team will be thrilled to welcome you back for another dining experience at Le Montréalais restaurant.

Best regards,
Team at Le Montréalais restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Worst service”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I came to high tea with my sister and mom, we were very exited, but we very disappointed, good high tea but worst service. the young lady who served us unprofessional, bad service and gave us the wrong billing, and her handwritten corrections.I want an official billing, she did not cooperate. but finally she gave me a new billing, but the price is different from her previous handwriting. how come a excellent hotel with bad service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ceri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Le Montrealais Bistro, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Ceri M - Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We completely understand your disappointment and rest assured the situation will be addressed internally as this is certainly not in keeping with our high standards. We're glad you still enjoyed the high tea offerings, however we do apologize for the service provided on this occasion. We sincerely hope you will give us another chance in the future. Many thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“a gem inside the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth Hotel”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had three dinners there. Two were only my wife and myself and one was with a group of 6. We found the venue comfortable. There was a wide selection of menu choices. The preparation was fine. There was a nice wine list including a good choice of half bottles. If you are a liver fan, try their calve's liver; it was nicely prepared.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoverPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Service was great, food was quite good. The salad bar at lunch is a "do not miss." The prix fixe dinner menu was excellent and well-priced with perfectly sized portions.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank astorix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Le Montrealais Bistro, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear astorix - Thank you for your visit. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Montrealais Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Le Montrealais Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing