We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've found our new favourite Montreal hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Ranked #27 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We thought we would try this new hotel out and we're very pleased. The staff was friendly, the room was spacious, and the hotel spotlessly clean. Just note that the bathroom only has a shower stall - mind you it's two person shower stall but if you're looking for a hot bath after a long day of site seeing... you'll be out of luck (that's the only bad thing I have to say.. everything else was wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Webbedfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,723 - 1,729 of 2,028 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2009

Stayed here for one night while on business, and was pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms. Was supposed to stay in a suite on the 11th floor (according to my Hilton Honors preferences), but at check-in was told there was a construction elevator outside my window. I was given the option of looking at the room first, and indeed, the elevator was literally on the other side of the room window. I was not comfortable with this, and within 10 minutes, another room was found. Although the new room was not a suite, it was plenty big enough for my needs, with a great working area - comfy desk chair and plenty of light. Also, the bathroom was huge, with a big shower stall. The fitness centre had new equipment. I took a quick look at the pool, which also seemed nice.

This is a more basic version of the Hilton brand, meaning no room service in the morning. The buffet breakfast was OK - not the best I've had, but it served the purpose.

As I was there for work, I can't really comment on the neighbourhood, though it did seem a bit far east of the core, and hence may not be the best for shopping, etc. Also not sure of proximity to Metro stations.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CdnMtnGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2009

After a bad experience at another hotel in Montreal, I checked into this trusty Hilton chain and I was so glad I did.

Check in was a breeze even at 10am. Front desk staff were very nice, friendly and spoke English.

The room itself was spacious with a comfortable bed, desk, chair, flat screen tv with many chanels, coffee maker, bar fridge, microwave. Free wireless internet in the hotel.

Bathroom was clean, good shower head, new towels.

There is an indoor pool, spa and gym on the top level. The pool was a little chilly for my liking but the spa was great after a long day.

We ordered room service twice and both times were pleasantly surprised. Service was fast, food tasted great and had a decent price tag as far as room service goes.

The location was good, very close to a metro station and grocery store.

Everything was clean & modern in the hotel and staff were very friendly and accomodating.

I would recommend this hotel to other travellers to Montreal. Yes, its a chain, but at least you know you will get a clean, comfortable and friendly establishment at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TheHuckleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

Loved the Hilton Garden Inn. I found it Grey Cup weekend after research I did online and after reading several reviews..

I stayed here for 8 days. It's in a great location - close to the metro and a 10 minute walk to the heart of St. Catherines Street. McGill is nearby so there's lots of restaurants and shops. Old Montreal is close by metro or cab ride.

Rooms are decent size, bright, clean, new, and the beds are really comfortable. Daily housekeeping was efficient and did a great job. Microwaves, fridges and coffee makers in each room were a nice touch.

The staff is friendly and helpful.

The food and the restaurant is good and room service very reasonable.

The fitness centre has about 8 cardio machines, weight machines and free weights, plus a pool, hot tub, and steam room. All were in great shape and never very busy.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fraulein1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

I chose Hilton by doing some research online. I read many reviews of the many hotels in the area. The fact that this one was new and had plenty of parking was important. And then getting a good rate through Expedia clinched the deal.
The staff was very helpful even offering a loan umbrella due to the rain outside. The room was very nice and clean. The beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were well stocked. Very much as desribed.
Only one comment to add that may not be too flattering. I felt blindsided by the fact that I got a bill the next morning for $23 for parking in the garage. And that we got a $30 bill for breakfast when whe thought it was complimentary. Other than that an overall enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Candypro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

This is a brand new property (opened in August 2008) and hits on all cylinders. The rooms are well appointed, good sized, if not huge and include a safe, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator. Everything works since it is all new. TV is hooked up to the local cable system, so lots of channels (both English and French) are available. However, pay to view movies are not available, but you aren't going to Montreal to watch movies, are you?

There is a great fitness room and indoor pool and sauna. In addtion to having a good quantity and quality of workout equipment, the fitness room and pool are on the 11th floor and have large windows, making for an attractive space.

The business center has two computers, which is adequate and internet access is at no extra charge.

The staff is very helpful and efficient and clearly eager to make a good impression and all were fluent in English ( I assume they are fluent in French also and I heard one speaking German, but since I don't know those languages, I can't comment on the fluency of the staff in them).

As usual at most Hilton Garden Inns, there is a not a full service restaurant, but room service is offered and there is a small bar. A full breakfast buffett is offered, including made to order omlettes. This was quite good.

The location is in a pleasant residential area near McGill University, so there are plenty of restaurants, bars, stores and services nearby. The Place-Des-Arts Metro station is two blocks away. It is not in Old Montreal nor in the heart of the business district, but it is easy to get to both by Metro, taxi or on foot. The only real disadvantage of the location is that it is not connected to the underground walkway system.

There are several other hotels nearby including a Courtyard, Holiday Inn, Detla and Four Points, but it is unlikely that any are superior to this property.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Davidwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

The hotel opened on Wednesday. We stayed for two nites from Thursday to Saturday morning.

The rooms are great with flat screen TV, small fridge, aqnd WIFI access.

The pool is small but clean, filled with salt water. The gym is well-equipped with machines and weights.

The staff is great, very friendly and bi-lingual. The bartender is a sweetheart. The rest. is not great but who cares- you are within blocks of good dining.

There is underground parking for $20/day.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rozpause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#22 of 165 in Montreal
956 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Address: 380 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 0B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Montreal
#20 Business Hotel in Montreal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £86 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville operates as a full service hotel, with ample underground parking, steam bath, whirlpool, spacious exercise room, indoor roof top swimming pool and outdoor terrace with a fabulous view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing