We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to enjoy and live the hospitality”
Review of Le rayon vert

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le rayon vert
Ranked #42 of 146 Montreal B&B and Inns
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“A place to enjoy and live the hospitality”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I stayed for two days but I would have enjoyed being there for more, the house is lovely and it is well decorated bringing the past to the present time. You won´t regret!!

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank sanro32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    27
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
11
72
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Despite the excellent location, Le Rayon Vert leaves a lot to be desired. While the coffee is excellent, the breakfast is only fair. The beds are hard (we stayed in two different rooms) and the rooms are hot and uncomfortable. If you open the window for circulation, prepare yourself to be chastised by the owner, Diane, for wasting electricity, as she ostensibly keeps the AC running. And while she is full of advice about Montréal, she is nosy and meddlesome, and she refuses to speak French with Anglophones, despite the fact her English is mediocre at best. (Be ready for lots of sound effects and gesticulations.) Diane also egregiously panders to her guests from France, so if you're in the minority as an English speaker, it's likely you won't get the attention you deserve.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoaoGilberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Le rayon vert was an excellent choice for a B&B for my husband and my trip to Montreal. Diane was SO friendly and gracious and made excellent breakfasts. The inn is in the perfect location for shopping and restaurants but on a street that's totally quiet at night, the perfect combination. Everything was spotlessly clean and our room was beautiful. We will most certainly be back!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nstar6c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I have been staying at the Rayon Vert regularly since 2006. Diane is a wonderful hostess, helpful and knowledgeable about the Plateau area and Montreal generally. I have visited in all seasons, and particularly like summer, when I can enjoy the lovely garden space.

I have travelled to the Rayon Vert using a car, the train, and bus. They have all been convenient because of the proximity of the Mont Royal subway station, and the availability of free parking just in front of the BandB, which is most easily accessible if you arrive in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan85046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The B&B we usually stay in when we visit Montreal was unfortunately booked, so we stayed here as it was the same neighbourhood, and the same nightly rate. The owner was pleasant, but fairly strict. Breakfast is at 8, no exceptions. If you're not an early riser, definitely don't stay here! The walls are pretty thin, so if you're a light sleeper, also probably not an ideal choice. Also, the bed we slept on may have been the most uncomfortable bed we've ever experienced. The first night we were barely able to sleep given how uncomfortable we are. The nights after that we were so exhausted from our long days we had less difficultly sleeping, but at the end of each day, neither of us looked forward to climbing into bed.
The breakfast was disappointing, toast and jam, with canned fruit salad. Given the fantastic breakfast choices Montreal has to offer, we'd have preferred to skip the breakfast all together, but felt required to eat it. The place we typically stay at always has fantastic breakfast, so maybe we're judging this too harshly. Either way, it was a let down.
Location wide, the place was fantastic, and the overall aesthetic of the b&b was gorgeous. She has two cats who are very lovely, and a welcomed addition to our stay there. Diane had great suggestions about areas to visit, and we enjoyed chatting with her over breakfast. The previous review is pretty harsh about her character. While some of her comments to us could have been misunderstood as being unpleasant, I don't feel that it was ever her intention to make us uncomfortable.
We wouldn't stay here again, but we still managed fine to have a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torontofoodiegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I'm writing to give people a heads up that if they want to relax, recharge and be treated respectfully this is not the place for you. While my room, The Victorian, was quite beautiful, the negative energy of the owner and her comments outweighed its beauty and the price charged. At first I shrugged off her behavior, but by my 3rd and last day I was flabbergasted! When I arrived, after calling to let her know I was held up at the border, she said oh you finally made it. There was no welcome to Gite Le Rayon Vert. Re the morning breakfast, which was good, but served only during a 1/2 hour window, I inquired if I could grab some food and return to my room wanting a quiet morning. No. No food in the room. On my second full day, wanting to return to bed for a few hours after breakfast, I couldn't help but hear the owners loud voice talking to some other guests. (the other guests by the way were delightful). I tossed and turned and tried to drown it out. I eventually went into the dining room and asked if they (I said they as not to direct it to the owner, while it was her really who had a loud voice), wouldn't mind talking quietly as I was trying to get some more sleep? Well, the owner was quite annoyed and exclaimed that it was 10:30 in the morning! I went back to my room and heard her complaining to the other guests that this was her house! So, why was I paying $90 / night to stay here?? I was taking a much deserved vacation and wanted to relax and if I wanted to sleep late, couldn't I? I guess not...I felt as if I needed to cater to her as opposed to her cater to me. All in all a very disappointing stay and not rejuvenating at all as I had hoped. The last morning was also very weird and I won't go into it-but if you want a relaxed, welcoming place where you don't have to walk around on eggshells-look elsewhere. It's a shame, b/c location is great, cats are friendly and my room, at least was beautiful. I feel like I need another vacation after this-

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rayonmerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoranoee, Propriétaire at Le rayon vert, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Google Translation
Concernant le commentaire de cette cliente, je tiens à faire certaine correction, à son arrivée très très tardive 23:30 au lieux de 18:00, j'étais là pour la réception. Au Rayon vert le déjeuner est servi de 8:00 à 9:00 tous les matins et on peut rester à la table à discuter . Cette cliente se présentais à 9:30 et retournais à sa chambre avec son café... il est vrai que j'ai été un peu brusque quand elle a demander le silence , mais il était 10:30 le matin..heure normale où les gens discutent et termine le déjeuner. Aussi pendant son séjour, elle à transformer sa chambre en studio avec sa peinture, ses pinceaux ..et à son départ le couvre lit et le plancher était taché de peinture. Puis la dernière nuit, une autre personne est venue la rejoindre alors qu'elle avait fait une réservation pour occ. simple.
Je sais que tous les gens ont droit à leur opinions.. mais dans ce cas ci.. elle n'a pas dit toute la vérité.. merci de faire suivre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

I totally recommend this place, clean, nice, and private, a very good and french breakfast :), walking distance to down town Montreal or subway station, restaurants. Dianne is the perfect hostess. She gave us very good and clear information We’ve been there last year for formula 1 weekend, and guess where are we going to stay this year :)
Totally totally recommend this place, we will not be disappointed

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cori_i77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#28 of 165 in Montreal
459 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#43 of 165 in Montreal
478 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Shezelles
Shezelles
#28 of 146 in Montreal
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Lentracte Home
Lentracte Home
#23 of 97 in Montreal
21 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Boulanger Bassin
Boulanger Bassin
#70 of 146 in Montreal
99 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
La Loggia Art & Breakfast
La Loggia Art & Breakfast
#11 of 146 in Montreal
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le rayon vert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le rayon vert

Property: Le rayon vert
Address: St-Hubert street 4373 | Plateau Mt-Royal, Montreal, Quebec H2J 2X1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice B&B located in the Plateau Mt-Royal. 2 minutes walking to the métro and 20 minutes walking from the Old Montréal. Shopping, transport and good restaurant near by. Breakfast includ , parking free on the street St-hubert. Nice garden to enjoy the end of the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing