We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch out for hidden fees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge du Carre St-Louis
Ranked #31 of 143 Montreal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Our stay itself was fine. Great location, within walking distance to Old Montreal but not in the sterile environment of downtown. Great restaurants nearby. Breakfast at the hotel was poor, with croissants that I swear came from Costco (the Kirkland yogurt was a good hint). The problem for us was that our reservation through booking.com didn't mention that the rate was for 1 person (for a room with 2 queen beds and a kitchen). It stated the rate was for "max 2 people". When we arrived we were told there was an additional fee for a 2nd person in the room as well as a $4 booking fee because we used booking.com. That put the price out of the budget-friendly category. The room was nice, though it was up 4 flights of stairs. We reserved and paid for a parking space but twice had to wait while the staff cleared the space. One time it was clear they had 3 cars booked for 2 spaces. In general, it was a lot of hassle but we had a good trip anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Lucyplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

I Throughly enjoyed my stay at Auberge St Louis, June 26 -29. The staff was welcoming thoughtful and attentive. Assisting me with finding Jazz Fest tickets and venues. And providing direction on getting around easily -- on foot. And without their recommendation I would not have experienced a terrific Portugese restaurant near by. My room was spacious clean and comfortable. There is a good sized roof deck with a large jacuzzi for relaxing or socializing. Parking is at the hotel is limited. But, for a few dollars more indoor parking is available across the street. I'll be back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank terminal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I are well traveled. We know a good place when we see it and have traveled internationally a number of times.

After an extensive search, we decided to try this hotel. It was marginally more than a few others in the area but promised some of the amenities that travelers in the States would expect. We were a little apprehensive about having to walk up to the third floor to access our loft w/kitchenette and 2 queens beds room but decided to give it a go.

We couldn't be more pleased. The room was luxurious and romantic with sparkling clean bathroom and kitchenette. We had quiet, efficient a/c, plenty of outlets for our electronics, a strong wi-fi signal, large, comfortable beds with luxurious sheets, a great view, extra seating, a sumptuous breakfast and a thoughtful, courteous and helpful staff.

The location is ideal! There is a huge variety if eateries, sidewalks cafés, bakeries, coffee shops and stores just outside the front door. There's a metro stop less than a block away. We actually walked to Mont Royale and the Old City, long walks, but doable.

Having to walk up to our room was an easy exchange for all the comfort and benefits of this great hotel. We've stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels in the States that were not as well appointed and less clean than this one.

Our hats are off to the proprietors. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The kitchenette rooms are exceptionally well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kuvakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here fri and sat night.
The bad- no elevator and the steps are steep.
This is an old old building converted into a hotel.

Internet speed was awful. Skype had a hard time so did videos.

No parking for a car but why do you need one when in Montreal.

The hotel was very quiet at night despite being able to clearly hear people walking on the hardwood floors past my room but it wasn't a disturbance at all.

Stand up shower only in my standard queen room. It was spacious enough.

Didn't try the breakfast because why would you when there is so many good places to eat close.

Security latch on door needed repair.

Queen Bed was clean and comfortable.

Location is really good. Bixi station right on the corner and a cab station just across the street. Walking distance to many eateries and bars.

At $100 a night I would stay here again for a short duration. Not sure I would like it if I had to be there more than 4 days.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Heathbar-willtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay on the east side of Montreal...It is small but provides all of the amentities that the big hotels offer without the higher expenses. The rooms are not real big but we got a queen size bed which was comfortable with fridge, Wi-Fi, flat screen TV, free breakfast, newly renovated with modern bath, wooden floors, deck, and Jacuzzi one floor up. The only negative things that I found was no elevator (rooms on 2nd floor) and no parking. If you can live without these features, you will love this place as we do...OH YEAH, FRONT DESK PEOPLE ARE GREAT AND WILL HELP YOU AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE.

Room Tip: Airport to hotel via taxi is flat rate of $40 plus tip...rooms extremely quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a three night stay. Stayed in a suite on the fourth floor. It was a large room with a couch and a jetted two person tub in the room. Separate shower in the bathroom. Lots of nice new towels. Service was spotty. They didn't clean the room or replace towels the second day. The third day they did and also put robes in the room. Be aware there is no elevator. I didn't mind but some might. The breakfast was on the second floor. Basic but fresh. Hard boiled eggs yougert croissants muffins fruit peanut butter jelly juice and tea. You bring it back to your room. Tea is available during the day. The area surrounding the hotel is ecclectic. Lots of restaurants and bars and funky shops. Lots of street people sitting around or asking for change. The metro is down the street. Only two parking spots on a first come basis. I will probably stay in Old Montreal next time but it was an experience to stay in the Latin Quarter.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hermannvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

It's my second stay at this Auberge and I stayed in a very nice room with my wife. It's a new section of the hotel, i had a really good service with Mariana. The continental breakfast is delicious, very healty with fruits and oatmeal - I RECOMMEND IT !!

Room Tip: no swimming pool but they have a big private spa on the rooftop! I recommand the Laferrière room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gop155033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#59 of 165 in Montreal
496 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#44 of 165 in Montreal
704 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Bienvenue B&B
Bienvenue B&B
#71 of 143 in Montreal
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie
Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie
#58 of 143 in Montreal
247 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
La Conciergerie
La Conciergerie
#22 of 143 in Montreal
128 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
#27 of 143 in Montreal
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Carre St-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Carre St-Louis

Address: 3466 St-Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: £65 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Carre St-Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Auberge du Carré St-Louis. This is how we’ll greet you when you arrive. We like to keep things simple, and our services were designed with your comfort and pleasure in mind.Located in the very heart of Montreal, in the Latin Quarter, the Auberge puts shows, festivals and boutiques within easy walking distance.Located directly across the street from the Sherbrooke métro station, the Auberge gives out onto a unique cityscape: Carré St-Louis, which has witnessed Montreal’s cultural history and has over the decades been home to writers, poets, musicians and visual artists, who collectively have given the square its special charm and personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge du Carre St-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Carre St-Louis Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing