We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zero 1 gets a 10!”
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zero 1
Ranked #54 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Zero 1 gets a 10!”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Great choice for those who are visiting Montreal by foot as its perfectly located just steps away from Rue St-Laurent, St-Catherines, close to so many restaurants, bars, etc. The hotel is well-priced, very clean and the rooms have a very industrial modern look. Valet parking price is also reasonable for downtown MTL. Would def go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Femmedewinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    556
    197
    56
    33
See reviews for
82
576
97
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed three nights on the fifth floor -- the open air terrace on the same floor made our trip. Literally spent hours out there each night. Three blocks from a Metro grocery store attached to an underground mall with a liquor store. Walking distance from the train station as well. Location is right at the gate to Chinatown which was cool. Walked to old Montreal and other neighbourhoods without issue. The room was AWESOME and came with fridge, microwave, ironing supplies, and place settings for two. Would stay again in a heartbeat and have recommended it to others. My only complaint was because we slept in daily -- I had to go down to the front desk to ask to have the room made up, and even when it was pre-arranged, it didn't happen the last day. They need to be more clear about their policies regarding maid service. But other than that? Worth EVERY penny paid. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DellaSauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Stay at the Zero 1 b4 my bday bash on january 21th: the staff was really cool and give me a late check out (2pm unstead of noon) without fees ;-) the room (we had a loft on 8th floor) was awesome but would need some more lights. Bed was really comfortable and location was great. The hotel really need a restaurant so that we don't have to go out to eat if we have a craving by night!! Like we had!! :( i would return to the zero 1 for sure if I had an other deal from Tuango!! =) don't hesitate to stay at this hotel at all!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Funnygyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here on a Saturday in January 2012 in a loft room. Got the room for $92 on the Tuango deal website (Would've been $179 without the coupon). I usually stay at chain hotels so thought this would be different and fun to try.

Pros:
- Great location: walking distance to everything
- Great decor: As some mentioned, very Ikea-ish
- Parking: Valet is $25 but if you're staying there on the weekend, you can park on the street for free from 6pm Saturday night to 1pm Sunday (if you're there before and/or after that, you can just put money in the meter)
- Good breakfast: was basic but they had good muffins and the orange juice was in a juice box (not from a machine)
- Huge windows from floor to ceiling

Cons: (a lot of very basic amenities missing)
- Shower: There was no curtain or door to the shower entrance so you end up getting part of the bathroom floor wet
- Bathroom small: Not much space to put your stuff
- No mat at the entrance of the room, so you end up getting the hardwood floor wet and dirty when you come in to the room
- TV not where the bed is. It is located in the living room section.
- TV not working: It took about 5 minutes to turn it on in the early evening, and then when we came back from dinner and drinks, it wasn't working at all. We called reception and they told us the technical support had gone home for the evening, but that we could switch rooms. We didn't really want to pack up everything and switch at midnight so we just stayed in our room.

I might stay here again if I got this room for $92, but definitely wouldn't stay here for $179 per night. I would go to the Days Inn or Candlewood Suites a couple blocks away for $100 and get a bigger and better room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliahdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This hotel has a great designer boutique feel to it.
I understand its a refurb of an old hostel and they've done it well.

The room was lovely with lots of well used space and nicely furnished in a budget boutique way. ikea ish furniture everywhere. Small kitchenette came in useful. Floor to ceiling windows let a lot of light in, corridors are dark and stark. Tins of charcoal paint seem to be used in the refurb.

Facilities are sparse in the hotel. Several small seating areas by reception including an small courtyard area. No restaurant or bar, Just a small breakfast pickup area, Tea/coffee,apple, muffins. There is a roof garden but its just really a smokers area.

Location is superb. Across the street from Chinatown, 10 minutes to the old town, couple of blocks to shopping area, airport bus stops across the street. Supermarket a few minutes away as well as a small shopping centre. No great bars or restaurants in the immediate area

Service wasnt too great. Reception were ok but did not go out of their way. Friendly enough and did what was expected of them.One day it was blowing a gale and the courtyard doors were slamming and blowing newspapers every where. Nobody even looked up.

Lots of other hotels in Montreal to try and would probably do so. Still has bit of hostel feel to it. So wouldnt give it 4 stars. More luxe 2 star. Nothing major to complain about though.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slackbladder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Good location. We when there to see the Dralion show at the bell Center. Design is nice. Not lot of light in the room. We had an room upgrade but even with that we had a double bed and not a queen or King size. Bathroom is very nice. For the parking you need to pay 25$ for the valet or go in a private parking close and walk. For the price this hotel is very good. I will not go there for more then 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Nous avons passé le réveillon du nouvel an au Zéro 1 et c'était tout simplement : Wow ! Le service, l'accueil, la suite, la vue, etc. tout était super ! Même si l'hôtel était complet en cette veille du 1er janvier et que les gens étaient sur le party, nous avons très bien dormis. Une seule chose manque cependant : un restaurant. Vu que le quartier chinois est à deux pas, nous avons ramené un souper-sushis dans notre chambre. Le confort de la suite, les sushis, la bouteille de vin et la vue sur la ville : que demander de plus ? Et pour les restaurants, ce n'est pas les endroits qui manquent dans le quartier. Les réceptionnistes nous ont dits que le restaurant de l'hôtel ouvrirait au printemps ou à l'été prochain... Nous aurons donc une nouvelle occasion de passer une fin de semaine à Montréal et ainsi de profiter des festivals à deux pas de l'hôtel dans le quartier des spectacles ! Merci pour ce superbe réveillon ! On reviendra assuremment !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aroundtheworld1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#43 of 164 in Montreal
622 reviews
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 164 in Montreal
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#71 of 164 in Montreal
857 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Property: Hotel Zero 1
Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#52 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing