We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, plesant stay, until we got the bill...”
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Zero 1
Ranked #54 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Modern hotel, plesant stay, until we got the bill...”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

A friend and I stayed at Hotel Zero 1 for 3 nights New Year’s Eve. We were able to check in early and really liked our room. It was spacious and modern. It included a mini-fridge which was helpful. Likewise, the staff was pleasant.

The lighting in the rooms and bathrooms is AWFUL. Ladies, good luck with your make-up.

We left the hotel feeling great and happy about our stay. During check-out we confirmed that there were no additional charges (as we had used the phone to order food, but there indeed were no charges for that as promised). HOWEVER, about a week later I had an extra $60 charge. I called to ask why and the employee informed me it was a “cleaning fee”. I asked her for what? She said “if it takes the maid longer to clean the room there is a fee”. All we did is leave some extra empty bottles IN THE TRASH and directly next to the trash can, as there was no room in the tiny bin. Throughout our stay, the maid ONLY changed our towels and made our beds, she did not clean or throw away any trash. ABSURD. Beware travelers.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank HeadInTheCloudsNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    561
    200
    57
    34
See reviews for
85
579
99
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, NS
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We had a wonderful time in Montreal and this hotel is situated perfectly for exploring the city. The shuttle from the airport stopped across the street, in front of the hotel, nice on the rainy night we arrived. Modern decor, loved the clean and simple bathroom and comfortable bed...no question we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Zero 1. The staff was amazing. Everyone was SO helpful when it came to both hotel requests & tourist information. I really liked that there was a small doorway in the lobby that went directly to a convenience store. The room had a fridge & microwave, which was also a huge perk. One negative was that there were only two towels in the room, so you'll have to ask the staff if you need more. In our room, the bathroom was directly across from the bed & the TV was on another wall across from two chairs. I'm not a big TV watcher, so this wasn't a big deal for me, but it might be inconvenient for people who like to watch TV in bed. The location is a little iffy at night due to it's location near the red light district, but we didn't have any trouble. It was a total "outside of the box" experience for a hotel. It was beautiful & modern, definitely not your standard cookie cutter floral bedspread kind of hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: A room on the upper floors is best for both noise reduction & for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie230401, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Zero 1, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Susan912,

Your warm comments regarding our property are greatly appreciated. We are really pleased to hear that you appreciated our customer service, we are really proud of it. Thank you for all your comments, it help us to improve the services we offer.

We are looking forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Marie-Ève Gosselin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Very nice hotel at a reasonable price - sleek, but comfortable rooms, free easy to use wifi. We came in March and had a wonderful room with a refrigerator and microwave - an unexpected surprise. The offseason pricing was easy on the wallet. The hotel is close to the Place des Arts and convenient for public transit. Make sure to note that the airport bus stops right outside the door of the hotel!

Room Tip: the elevators are pretty loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelonomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was our second visit to Zero 1 Hotel and we really like it.
Nice lobby, nice personel.
The rooms are spacious and well decorated, There is even a mini kitchen were you have access to a sink/fridge/mircowave and a coffee machine., Always useful and handy if you want to bring some food. There is also a convinient store attached to the hotel if you need to buy some food.
It is not located right downtown but it is only a short walk away from main attractions.
We will definetly go back.

Room Tip: Make sure not to be close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBug1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We really liked our experience at the Zero 1! We have been at a few hotels in Montreal and it's definitely our favorite. It's the best quality/price ratio. We love the minimalist design of the rooms and the bathroom is great (love the shower!!!). Everything is there, but it's hidden, which is great. We really don't mind that the rooms are small, because it's cool and clean. The staff was really nice with us. It's perfect for people in their 20s and 30s. The location is really great, at equal distance between St-Cath. and St-Denis. Be aware that you have to park in the small street in the back to use to valet service. But it's worth it. 23$ per day IS what it cost to park in Montreal, don't think otherwise! They let us park till 17h the day that we were leaving and we could let our baggage at the hotel (in a room which can be only accessed by staff), which is great. Overall a great experience, we are sure to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyTheCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie230401, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Zero 1, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear LilyTheCatLady,

Thank you so much for the amazing review regarding your experience at ZERO 1 hotel. We are very happy to know that we met all your expectations. Be sure that I will transmit your review to all of my team.

Best Regards,

Marie-Ève Gosselin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Clean modern European hotel.
Very good overall. Like simple and minimum ism used in its design of the rooms.
The price is very reasonable, if you do travel use the hotel and use Montreal transit. The traffic to the city can be nuts.
Really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_D_Brewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#22 of 165 in Montreal
885 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#68 of 165 in Montreal
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#35 of 165 in Montreal
639 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Property: Hotel Zero 1
Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#52 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing