We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff & location”
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Zero 1
Ranked #57 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel for a small family reunion and found the hotel to be accommodating in every way. My mother was arriving very late at night and the staff were able to leave a care package of snacks I'd gathered in her room for her arrival, even putting the drinks in the fridge.

Rooms are clean and modern, quiet and with views of the city. Our room was booked as the Zero 1 Hip (slightly larger than the cheaper Pop rooms) but upon check-in we were upgraded to their Loft room. The room was large, though the layout was somewhat restricted by its location at the narrow end of a wedge-shaped building and also next to the elevator shaft. The living space was a welcome addition and the mini-kitchen was of great use to us. We found the bed to be a little smaller than expected for a queen (we are a couple, both quite tall & who like to sprawl out in bed) but found the mattress quite comfortable. The only issue for us was that the air conditioning unit was right over the bed, which meant that temperature control for the room took some adjusting to be both comfortable in the sitting space and not freezing cold in the bed.

The location is great - near to Ste-Catherine St and the main shopping area, but also just by Chinatown & only a 10 minute walk to the Old Port area. Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance and the area felt safe even late at night (something that is surprising given the somewhat seedy part of town only a few blocks away).

The hotel sporadically has specials such as 50% off the third night stay and the 5th night free, which made the prices even more reasonable, especially for Montreal in festival season.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auntytraveljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

A quick weekend getaway to Montreal is always a good idea. Got a good price on Hotel Zero 1, an urban, hip boutique hotel that's walking distance to the metro stations.

THE BEST
• Staff were always friendly and smiling, offered to break my bill for bus fare

THE GOOD
• A few blocks from the metro stations
• Airport shuttle bus stop is across the street
• Convenient store behind the hotel
• Clean, decent size room
• Mini shampoos/conditioners/body washes smelled so nice
• Good water pressure in shower

THE BAD
• No coffee in suite, K-cups are $3 in the lobby. What happened to hospitality?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astroboy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

i don't think they really know what they want to be. Trying for cool i guess but it just comes across as wrong. Black walls accentuate the very small rooms. No desk for business use. Bathroom counters are tiny (i'll admit a personal bias on this).
on the plus side - good location to old montreal and chinatown. Fast elevators.
Price reasonable for Montreal. But if you can afford a few more bucks... you can do better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaydee02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I traveled with my husband to Montreal this May and have mixed feelings. First, let me say that this hotel was very nice. The hotel staff and housekeeping staff were all pleasant and helpful. The rooms were modern and bathroom updated. The continental breakfast was your basic croissants, muffins, toast, hard boiled eggs, and coffee. For free, I can't complain. The location was very good, walking distance to most attractions and convenient for public transportation. We rented bikes and rode up Mont Royal but we would not recommend using the Bixi bikes because it ends up costing about $25 per person once all is said and done. Once you get to the top though, it is worth it for a nice view of the city. Our only gripe was that the city in general seemed to be on the sketchy side with lots of vagrants wandering the streets. But if you are traveling to Montreal, this hotel is a great choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights while I attended a conference in Montreal. The hotel was quite chic, having been recently renovated. The room was a decent size, with modern decor, and had a mini kitchenette (fridge, microwave, dishes, utensils, etc). We were on an upper floor, so the street noise was not an issue for us, and the view of the city at night was amazing. Our stay also coincided with the Just for Laughs comedy festival, and we found the location quite convenient since we could walk to the festival, as well as downtown and Old Port. For the location and amenities in Montreal, the price was quite reasonable. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Upper floors are best to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We chose Hotel Zero 1 due to its proximity to the metro and Chinatown and it is also an easy walk to the Latin Quarter and Old Montreal. Our room had a wet bar with microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, dishes and utensils. Although the room is small it is comfortable. The view we had from our room of the city was spectacular. The neighborhood is not for everyone due to the trash accumulated in Chinatown and the homeless wandering the streets. If you are accustomed to big city sights and smells it is fine.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CalroseC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was in town for the Formula 1 race so the rates were way up and the hotels I normally stay at we're fully booked. Hotel is in a sketchy part of town. I took the Metro and had to walk down St. Laurent in the late evening where the sidewalk was lined with pimps and prostitutes. I felt very unsafe. Pay more and stay somewhere else. There are no advantages to staying at Zero 1. Room was in disrepair as was the lobby. Constant street noise make sleeping difficult.

Room Tip: I usually stay at Le St-Martin. Great boutique hotel near everything for only slightly more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_c1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#71 of 165 in Montreal
922 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#58 of 165 in Montreal
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 165 in Montreal
701 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#44 of 165 in Montreal
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#52 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £78 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing