We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special”
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Zero 1
Ranked #58 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 12 July 2014

we came to Montreal for traditional jazz festival. Location of the hotel in ideal for this event - 10 minutes walk. I cannot say anything bad about this hotel. The problem is that I cannot say anything specially good either. Rooms are small. Public area is almost non existent. Exercise room has literally 2 machines. Continental breakfast is not bad.
Parking is expensive and public parking just across the street is much less. They are saying that hey are charging for car safety - it might be true or not.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The room was a bit small with not much place to sit but on the bed. No problem though as nothing wrong with spending some extra time in bed. Siesta! The bathroom is certainly functional albeit small. Decent coffee at breakfast buffet (continental) stay away from orange juice unless you like your juice on the watery side. The best feature is the hotel's location, literally 3 blocks from Place des Arts. Right next to Jazz Festival which was magnificent this year by the way.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank VLAD K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After a day of travel, it was wonderful to be greeted by such helpful staff in the reception area. Our room was clean, we loved the fact that there were real dishes, a microwave, and refrigerator and a very comfortable bed. The blinds and curtain did a great job darkening the room, I love to sleep with it really dark. We were in Montreal during the Jazz Festival, which was right down the road, and we could hear the concert at night, but that didn't disturb our sleep. One worker at the reception desk, Lucie, was wonderful. She sent us to great restaurants and always had helpful advice. She deserves a raise!!! While the artsy hotel was dark, by design (the paint in our room and in most of the hotel was black), it was warm and welcoming. Definitely giving Hotel Zerio 1 a thumbs up! Great location, to old town and to the metro too...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank llleader73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Zero 1 during the Jazz Fest. It is an easy walk from the hotel. But far away from the "jazz noise late at night." Call me old fashioned but the room was rather stark. Black walls, Neon yellow mirror facing the bed and only one reading light. The bed was comfortable and the picture windows (one that opened) were very nice. The room is very small. The "kitchenette is in a closet and does have a small refrig (no freezer), a microwave and a small sink." We loved the continental breakfast in the restaurant. We we arrived at a vey long drive, we were confused as to where to park, and there were many no parking or 15 minute parking around the hotel block.
Luckily they offer concierge parking. But, it would have nice to get more detailed instructions on how this works before arriving.
I loved the small lobby with free art magazines, and apples in a very large silver spoon.

Room Tip: Saturday night there was alot of noise coming from ChinaTown which is in front of the hotel. Try a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ringo167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Hotel Zero 1 is a good location for exploring Montreal. Stayed in a HIP room, was good sized with comfortable bed and 4 pillows, Table with 2 chairs, Microwave, Fridge, dishes, and flat Panel TV. I arrived early and my room was not ready but I dropped my bags in a friends room and when went back to the lobby the front desk person called me by name and said my room was now ready so very good service, she also recommend a place for lunch and gave us a map of the city.
Everyone at the front desk where great, called us a cab at 5 AM when we left. The rooms were clean with wood floors, painted Concrete walls, Nice shower and good toiletries. A 24 hour store is on the first floor of the building and grocery store is 2 blocks down. The hotel is right across from Chinatown and short walk from Old Montreal and the Old Port. Great place if you are there for Jazz Fest as it is only a block away.
I would stay here again, The area around the hotel is a little seedy but never felt uncomfortable or threaten. The 747 Airport bus stops across from the hotel so easy to get from the airport for $10.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel's location was great for the jazz festival and for walking to other parts of the city like Old Montreal and Chinatown. The metro is a few blocks away - very close. DesJardins mall - a couple of blocks away. Lots of restaurants and things to do. Staff were very, very nice and helpful. We had a couple of minor issues with the room and they were fixed right away. Price was right. Restaurant in hotel is nice too. Try the bolognese sauce. There is a park right behind the hotel that has some undesirables hanging around in it. But no one bothers you. And up the block toward the Jass festival (St. Catherine street), you will see a peep show and strip tease establishment. More of a novelty than anything else. Felt safe though.

Room Tip: ask for upper floor. You won't hear anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerardetteFairview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Went to Montreal for the Deadmau5 concert and stayed at hotel zero. What a great place. Very sexy hotel, to say the least. A little pricey and not so ideal for a family stay, but for couples it's a great place. It's location is good, construction made it a little difficult but any downtown spot has this challenge so it's not a big deal.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#22 of 165 in Montreal
932 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#71 of 165 in Montreal
906 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Quartier des Spectacles
Hyatt Regency Montreal
Hyatt Regency Montreal
#59 of 165 in Montreal
2,818 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#46 of 165 in Montreal
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#52 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £89 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing