We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Zero 1
Ranked #53 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Funky hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We spent three nights at Hotel Zero in early August and were very pleased with our choice. The hotel is a great value for the price and is very well-located to access rue Ste-Catherine and the Metro; lots of pubs, restaurants, shopping nearby. Funky minimalist design and very friendly staff. We'd stay here again without hesitation!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoplusbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    543
    192
    50
    31
See reviews for
81
560
93
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We decided last minute to make a little getaway to Montreal and through searching found this place. We were not sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at our room. The streets in the area are a little confusing if you do not speak french with all the ongoing construction but you can pull around the back and park to get your stuff in beside the Couche-Tard (Macs). The rooms are very modern but clean and I was totally surprised to find a microwave, sink and fridge in the room as well. The bathroom and shower although compact were nice and clean as well as the bed and towels. You can get a little noise echoing from the hallway outside, but that can be fixed by putting a towel at the door. The staff were really friendly and ready to help whenever needed. The location was good for us, close to the restaurants and bars we like to go to. On the weekend evenings Boul St-Laurent does get a little more lively up the street a little with the strip clubs and bars/clubs but its still totally safe and you do not need to worry about walking around. There is a subway station not too far from the hotel and lots of things within walking distance. This is definitely our go to hotel, a little pricier than some but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklynn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The location is great! Airport shuttle bus 747 leaves you at the corner of the hotel, which is located at the Theater District, a few steps from Vieux Montreal and Downtown.
The staff at the front desk is attentive and pleasant and will help with any queries you might have.
The hotel has an italian restaurant that serves great food.
The room was bigger than I expected based on other reviews. It was also clean and equipped with lot of amenities. Also has a nice view (5th floor).
I definetely would chose this hotel on my next visit to Montreal and I totally recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolasZorzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Zero 1. The location was very convenient, only a short walk to the old town or the metro. The staff were always very helpful and friendly.

The rooms are on the small side but are modern and stylish with all the amenities you need. Wifi was free and fast. Note that the beds all seem to be doubles and not queen size so not ideal if you're tall!

Overall, a great stay and I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanner82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Hotel staff were very friendly despite us not having a whole lot of contact with them. The hotel itself (and the rooms) was impeccably clean and stylish. The breakfast was small and simple, but unfortunately not too substantial.

We stayed in a "loft room" which wasn't too much larger than a normal room but had a fridge, microwave and dishes. Very nice.

The bathroom was funky with a raisable shower massage head. I'm a bigger fan of set shower heads but 'twas nice that I would actually raise this past my head.

Overall i would recommend but take a bit of care in the neighbourhood. Chinatown is literally across the street which was great for late night eats but just around the corner is a pretty sketchy park. The bottom line is i don't care too much about these things. I find if you don't bother people they won't bother you but some may not feel the same.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DZuki111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lecco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I was in this hotel for business. The position is ok, indeed there is a bus stop (also for the airport line) just in front of the hotel.
It is just outside Chinatown, not a really nice area, but walking distance from the old port and the downtown. The hotel is modern with wide rooms. We were two in a suite with kitchen/living, a bedroom that could be separated in two by a sliding door leaving a bed/sofa area. The bathroom was small and essential, but clean. The only drawback I found was the walls color very dark...so also with the light on it was very difficult to work with my laptop.
The buffet breakfast was good with a large choice. There is the restaurant but I didn't try. There was also a business room, you can use to surf the wan, print documents and so on. Each room has its wireless connection, that worked well. The price ( booked online) for the room was really convenient for two people.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to go to Mtl a day. This hotel is well situated near old mtl and place des arts. The rooms are small but ok. In the morning we were woken by kids crying next door. We asked for the continental breakfast and was informed that we had to pay. Would be nice to know that before we booked. The hotel offers a nice terrace on the 5th floor. It was an ok hotel i would not necessarily go back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank juliejf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#35 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#10 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Hotel & Suites
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#71 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Property: Hotel Zero 1
Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#52 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing