We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good downtown hotel”
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Zero 1
Ranked #54 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Some people say the rooms are small, but by european standards (specificly UK) our room was absolutely ideal. The hotel has a modern and almost minimalist style with a black, white and yellow palate- really not has bad as it sounds :). The bonus was a compact kitchenette with a fridge, kitchen sink, microwave and setting for 2. I can't see anyone cooking up a storm but it was ideal for keeping drinks cold and heating drinks etc.

Why would you nuke food with so many restarants within 2 blocks?

Stangely the room didn't have the standard book telling you of it's services and the front desk didn't advertise it well. So it was only on our last evening we found the roof terrace and small fitnes suite. Also there was confusion around whether breakfast was included. The front desk said "no" but the attached restaurant said "yes (continental)". But, Eggspectations is within 5 mins walk- the very place to enjoy a relaxed breakfast... they even do breakfasts thst don't include eggs.

The old town, china town, museum district, entertainment district and gay village are easily within walking distance. The 747 shuttle bus also stops on the corner, but make sure you have $10 in coins or a travel card.

Room Tip: Only had 1 room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Treez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Zero 1
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent our last two nights here, and I guess we were spoiled by our great experience at LHotel for the first half of our trip. This hotel is modern, it was clean. Our room on the 6th floor was oddly arranged and small, but ok. The shower was good. The bed was comfy. The breakfast on day one lacking, day two it was ok. Nothing was horrible, nothing was great. A jokester pulled the fire alarm in the middle of the night on day 1, so all guests stood on street until fire dept cleared for safety. The staff were pretty nonchalant about it. They charge for lobby coffee and told us they were getting rid of the free breakfast from now on. Not worth the price compared to others in the area. Fair location, close to a seedier side of town, and china town, but still close enough to walk to Old Montreal.

Room Tip: Higher up will probably be quieter. If you have to get to the street when a fire alarm is pulled, th...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tobro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We had a very pleasant experience. Location of the hotel was absolutely amazing! Close to old town, down town and right on the street where some of the best going out spots are. The only thing that I didn't really like was a pretty shady park and some "sexoteque" behind the hotel that were not too pleasant to walk by every day. I guess hotel can not do anything about it, and you can always chose another street to avoid the area. All in all, great little breakfast restaurant with pleasant staff is attached to the hotel (convenient) and rooms are clean, great view. Bit small I'd say, but I guess that's city hotel regular queen room...

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Only there for one night and did not spend a lot of time in the room, but there were a few things that ticked us off: there was no remote for the tv and we couldn't get one before the next morning, we couldn't close the blinds and had to leave them as they were since the cord to close them was on the floor, broken. We also had a room close to the elevator, which we heard throughout the night.
But these were minor things that might not keep us from going back since everything was very clean and people were very nice and friendly. We did not try the restaurant, planning on next time.
Don't let the pictures fool you, the room is VERY small !

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We spent three nights at Hotel Zero in early August and were very pleased with our choice. The hotel is a great value for the price and is very well-located to access rue Ste-Catherine and the Metro; lots of pubs, restaurants, shopping nearby. Funky minimalist design and very friendly staff. We'd stay here again without hesitation!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank twoplusbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We decided last minute to make a little getaway to Montreal and through searching found this place. We were not sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at our room. The streets in the area are a little confusing if you do not speak french with all the ongoing construction but you can pull around the back and park to get your stuff in beside the Couche-Tard (Macs). The rooms are very modern but clean and I was totally surprised to find a microwave, sink and fridge in the room as well. The bathroom and shower although compact were nice and clean as well as the bed and towels. You can get a little noise echoing from the hallway outside, but that can be fixed by putting a towel at the door. The staff were really friendly and ready to help whenever needed. The location was good for us, close to the restaurants and bars we like to go to. On the weekend evenings Boul St-Laurent does get a little more lively up the street a little with the strip clubs and bars/clubs but its still totally safe and you do not need to worry about walking around. There is a subway station not too far from the hotel and lots of things within walking distance. This is definitely our go to hotel, a little pricier than some but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brooklynn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The location is great! Airport shuttle bus 747 leaves you at the corner of the hotel, which is located at the Theater District, a few steps from Vieux Montreal and Downtown.
The staff at the front desk is attentive and pleasant and will help with any queries you might have.
The hotel has an italian restaurant that serves great food.
The room was bigger than I expected based on other reviews. It was also clean and equipped with lot of amenities. Also has a nice view (5th floor).
I definetely would chose this hotel on my next visit to Montreal and I totally recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolasZorzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#22 of 165 in Montreal
917 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#72 of 165 in Montreal
898 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#45 of 165 in Montreal
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Quartier International
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#52 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £93 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing