We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good simple place”
Review of Hotel Bon Accueil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bon Accueil
Ranked #111 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Front desk clerk was very nice and helpful. Check in was quick. No street parking but they happily pointed out a parking garage across the street ($9.00 for 24 hours). Breakfast was included but pretty basic toast your own and coffee with fruit and cereal. Good thing is you are in Montreal and paying a great price so get out and have a nice breakfast elsewhere. Otherwise rooms are simple and clean. Good for one night or so but longer stays may want to spend more and get more.

All in all recommended for the price, location and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

I believe that the 1 star is an exaggeration for this hotel. For someone not eager to have an authentic experience of Algiers or Benghazi, this is a hotel to avoid.

That authentic experience started for us as we approached the hotel, and and received disdainful looks from a group of young North African-looking men, smoking at the table besides the entrance. When we entered the hotel, the reception clerk told us to pay right away - that should have been a warning sign to us, as nowhere else in North America (or anywhere else I traveled), I recall having to pay up front. Another clue would be the number of (also North-African looking) women walking on the street dressed like hookers, who were friendly with these men. This is not a place for a family stay.

The hotel has no elevators, and the ceilings seemed to be 14' high, so each flight of stairs feels excruciatingly long, even when you do not have to carry luggage. It was a relief to have finally gotten to our room. Albeit it was short-lived. Our room had a dresser, a bed, a fridge, and a tiny TV (14"?) bolted just below the ceiling. The carpet looked filthy, as did the bedspread. The bed was made, but when we took off the bed spread to check for bed bugs, the sheets had hairs on them, and appeared otherwise used. The door looked like it was hastily repaired after someone broke in and ripped out the chain.

The exposed wall in the niche intended as a closet had holes patched up, one with a piece of unpainted white board, the other with unpainted brown board - I would guess it was either a fight or someone had hidden a treasure (or a stash of something illicit) in the wall. The room had such a strong smell of air freshener than we started coughing and sneezing from it - while I did not see a dead body, I would not be surprised if someone had died in the room earlier in the day. The ceiling of dirty acoustical tiles with black stains did not add to our comfort level. Overall the room felt so filthy that we did not want to place our luggage on the floor.

On the left side of the room there is a bathroom - I understand that in Montreal space is at a premium, but this one deserves a special mention. The room is so small that the door can not fully open, as it hits the sink swinging in about 75 degrees, There is a shower - while I did not check it out, it has an small opening to get in and out, so you'd better not be claustrophobic. The toilet has a wall corner just inches in front of it, so the only people who can sit on it comfortably are amputees missing a right leg above the knee, as there is no place to put the right leg while sitting on a toilet. There are no towels in the room, though the front desk attendant would give you towels if you ask for it. I did not see toiletries in the bathroom either.

On the right there is a window with an AC unit - the window is partially boarded up, and the AC unit is plugged in to an extension cord, which is plugged into another extension cord. There is no electrical outlet close by, so you have to plug it in creating a tripping hazard. This is also a violation of electrical code in my municipality to be plugging an extension cord into another one. The unit was unplugged when we got into the room, so the stifling heat only made the effects of the air freshener stronger. And then there is a view out the window - opening up on a partially boarded up dilapidated ruin, which further lends authenticity of the third-world to this hotel.

Our travel companions had a room that was marginally better, but not much.

There is a phone in the room, which did not work. Needless to say, this was not our favorite place, and we decided to quickly check out, and ask for a refund. The clerk refused to give it to us. We left this horrid place anyway, and hurried out of Montreal.

I can not comment on the location - it may be fairly central, though being across the bus station does contribute to its seedy feel. There is no parking included with the hotel, so if you are driving, be prepared to shell out additional $$s to park at a public garage (there is one nearby).

Having stayed in another inexpensive hotel in Montreal, I feel that this place is worst by far. I would caution everyone to stay away from it.

Room Tip: To find a good room go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PickyBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I really liked the hotel. Room was small but clean, it has a fridge, a tv, and free wireless internet. The employees are so kind and helpful. They speak English very well and helped us so much with where to visit. Breakfast was simple, but I liked that; coffee, orange juice, butter, cheese, jam, bread (+ toaster), cereal and milk.
The location is excellent; 5 min walk from the bus station and metro, 20 min walk to the downtown and old Montreal.
Overall, it’s hard to find a better place in this price range and at such a good location in Montreal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

It's pathetic. Not clean. 80$ if you pay cash, 100$ if you pay with credit card. The real price for a room like that is 40$ MAXIMUM. No towel offer! Ordinary breakfast! Look the picture. Montreal laugh of tourist.Cigarette odor in the room and marijuana in the corridor of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charls0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This was a great place to stay in Montreal. Easy walking distance to Berri UQAM metro stop. You can also walk very easily to St. Catherine's street near the hotel where there are a number of restaurants, cafes and bars, or in the other direction you can walk towards Sherbrooke St and Parc Lafontaine where there were a number of restaurants and things (or just take the metro for 1 or 2 stops).They provided breakfast every morning which was basic but still very nice, of them and the rooms were all nice and clean. The air conditioner units in the rooms are a little loud, which may give some light sleepers a problem, but I didn't have an issue with this.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We were not over impressed on arrival, as we had booked car parking, but was told it was full, as it was first come first served!! I ended getting a 52 dollar parking ticket for facing the wrong way (did not know it was an offence - Brits beware) and then the guy on reception said he would sort something out, as the car park he had directed me too was full. He then proceeded to allow me to park in the yard behind the hotel for free (there should have been a charge initially) I was suprised that no one else parked there for the rest of our stay. It appears that they could not be bothered to unlock the gate initially even though they told me it was full!! The room was average but the bathroom area was a bit dismall, not even a light in the shower area. The beds were not very comfortable, but we had a group of teenagers on our landing, who after a night out we had to contend with loud voices laughing, swearing and runing up and down the corriders at 3 in the morning, so sleeping was a bit of an issue anyway. Breakfast was very limited with 2 ceral options, bagels and 1 friut option. The owners / staff were friendly, and the location was very good but with our overall experience we would not recommend.

Room Tip: If you are on a tight budget then it might be for you, but this was the poorest of all the places we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cancope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

With this hotel, we got exactly what we expected - a very low budget hotel, but a good one. My pros and cons follow...

Cons:
- It's somewhat small and basic, especially the private bathroom. There could have been a few extras like a bath mat to avoid slipping in the shower.
- Since this is a hotel, there is no kitchen or laundry for guests to use.
- The TV remote didn't work, making the TV more or less useless.

Pros with cons:
- The breakfast is very basic, just toast and spreads, some cereal and bananas. But there is breakfast included (apparently not a usual in many hotels I've been to).
- There is air conditioning in the room, however it's quite noisy and I think it gave me a stiff neck one night.
- Very friendly and helpful staff - though one of the ladies helping with the breakfast was a bit too caring, she kept trying to give us extra stuff we weren't really interested in.

Pros:
- A mini fridge in the room! This was excellent! However, it would have been even more perfect if there had been a microwave as well.
- Great location, just a short walk from the Metro, the Greyhound terminal, the Quartier Latin and Le Village.
- Safe and clean. Luggage storage is possible and the staff member who was there when we picked it up (who hadn't seen us before) even demanded proof that it's our luggage.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adastra918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#124 of 165 in Montreal
190 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#110 of 165 in Montreal
317 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Visitel
Hotel Visitel
#95 of 165 in Montreal
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Viger
Hotel Viger
#112 of 165 in Montreal
187 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#122 of 165 in Montreal
137 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Dorion
Hotel Dorion
#146 of 165 in Montreal
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bon Accueil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bon Accueil

Address: 1601 rue St-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Z1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £33 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bon Accueil 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Montreal, the Latin quarter, Hotel Bon Accueil offers good quality rooms at a great price. Because of its central location, Hotel Bon Accueil is the best place to stay while in Montreal. Hotel Bon Accueil will meet your expectations whether you come to Montreal for business or for pleasure. Hotel Bon Accueil brings you close to our beautiful city's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bon Accueil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing