We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent family restaurant”
Review of Buffet Fu-Lam

Buffet Fu-Lam
Ranked #3,686 of 5,723 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decent family restaurant”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We went there as an extended family on Wednesday the 19th of June; I was expecting it to be slow but the place was bustling with about three busloads of tourists and an assortment of locals either heading into or out of the nearby movie theater.

We tend to go monthly, almost always on a Friday but this was for a special occasion. I've gotta say that the food was hot, fresh and plentiful and replaced quickly by the staff. I noticed a couple of items were missing from the weekend menu: Crab legs and half-shell New Zealand mussels, but all things considered, the selection was excellent.

By excellent, I mean that this place is kid friendly, accessible to both able-bodied and physically challenged customers (no stairs), and offers a huge variety of decent food at a fair price. Foodies beware, this is not going to be a gastronomical experience...people come here to eat; they don't come here to dine.

We have also gone to the same-named restaurants in Laval and in DDO but for some reason we don't find them to be as big or as generous in the number of selections available at the Cote-Vertu location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    15
    9
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Bad Food”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The food was terrible, I had been there before was descent. But on Father's Day the food seemed like left overs. We were 10 people at the table, and we all felt the same way. I Do Not recommend it at all. If anyone could recommend a good chinese buffet restaurent worth going to I will definitely try it out. As for Foo Lam on Cote Vertu I put an XXXXX . Never again will they see my money there. I hope the owner will realize that he has the secret to loosing clients.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angeleyesgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You got to be kidding me!!!' You call this a Chinese restaurant????”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

First of all I have not seen one Chinese or Asian restaurant that is worth a penny in Montreal. But when it comes to Fu Lam buffet, now I know what crooks these people are. I am sure montrealer can't be that stupid to dish out $19.99 ( includes tax) for a buffet dinner. The worst worst Chinese ( greasy) food restaurant I have ever visited. I was not aware that it costed that much and I thought it would be around $10 so i could not compliant but i was wrong when i got the bill snd realized if was close to $20.

Then Waiter asked me why did not leave any tip, and I looked at him and said why could I if I did not see any reason for leaving a tip for bad food. He told me "I don't care if food is good or bad" I want a tip. Give me a break!!!!!

You either have to be truly stupid to go over to this place even after all these reviews that people are helping you to save your money.

It's up to you but believe me, this place is horrible.

Take care

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mr_ozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fulam Cote vertu verry verry bad service- Tips obliged!!!!”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Actualy we use to go fulam in des-sources. food and service was good. but last thursday night I took my family in there Fulam (Cote vertu). the food was not realy like before specialy the Wok we had to wait the guy to come more than 5 min, then the service was realy very poor, at the end the server chiness lady treid to oblige me to pay tip in the visa machine.. when I told her I will give tips cash, she said ok, I gave to her around 3$ coins then she puted in the table and looked at me like I did Crime, I reported this to manager then he told yes you have to pay the tips.. so tips when customer is realy satisfied... this is not 1st time in the same restaurant we are not satisfied by service...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Mohammed_MMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food was terrible and price was expensive”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We used to go to the Fulam on Sources for many years and enjoyed it very much. When it closed we decided to give this one a try. I cannot say that there was anything that was really good. The chicken balls that my grandchildren put on their plate which they usually love were so hard with very little meat in each of them. They all left them and hardly ate anything there. I was shocked that an eleven year old was $16.95 for Wednesday evening. I will never go back and would not recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanbouchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffet Fu-Lam also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Buffet Fu-Lam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing